We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place”
Review of Holiday Inn Almaty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Almaty
Ranked #9 of 75 Hotels in Almaty
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I spend there few days because I was very surprised
the service is good, the staff very helpful with good english
the room are nice, clean and large
bathroom are a little bite small
the breakfast buffet is amazing big with big variety of food, I was amazed and wanted to eat everything
the bar is nice very cozy and the restaurant is good with the offer buffet for the evening
prices is ok

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Almaty, General Manager at Holiday Inn Almaty, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Greg,

Thank you very much for your feedback. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed staying at our hotel and appreciated the amenities, service, and breakfast/dinner buffet selection.

Hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Jan Huepers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 446 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed here for four days in February on the occasion of an international conference that took place at the Rixos. Arrived in the wee hours in the morning and had booked a pick-up service from the airport. Got an early check-in without additional charge. Rooms are qhite spacious and come with a desk that is really helpful if you need to work. Stable and fast WiFi for free was a great plus. Furniture and bathroom are 4* standard, maintenance was good. located close to the banking district and only 10 mins by Taxi from most other locations of interest. Wide selection of breakfast items, service sometimes not up to the task. Staff in general very helpful and friendly. Reasonably priced bar (for a hotel at least) that is open 24/7. It's not the kind of hotel experience that will take you aback, but it's a good and functional hotel for a business trip. It's not cheap (150$/night incl breakfast on a discounted government rate), but choices are limited if you don't wanna spend 220$+ for a 5* like the close by Intercontinental...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelMUC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Almaty, General Manager at Holiday Inn Almaty, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Almaty and finding time to write your feedback. I am happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and liked the location, amenities and breakfast experience. It is great to hear that you feel our hotel met the needs for your business trip. Can you please give me more details about the service by sending an e-mail to alakz.gm@ihg.com and I will be happy to learn what could have been done better.

We will be happy to welcome you again, should you travel back to Almaty.

Sincerely,
Jan Huepers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times on business but never written a review until now. It was the great service of Mr Dauren Abdykadyrov that made me do so...He went above and beyond his responsibility to make my stay worry free.

Overall, the hotel is efficient and clean. The rooms are nice and the breakfast is great as well. The front desk staff are always willing to go the extra mile.

I strongly recommend this hotel for business as well as pleasure.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riccardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Almaty, General Manager at Holiday Inn Almaty, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Riccardo,

Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel and for leaving your valuable feedback. I am extremely happy to read that exceptional service of our Front Desk team encouraged you to share a review of our hotel. Thanks again! We will be glad to welcome you again.

Sincerely,
Jan Huepers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed for two nights at Holiday Inn Almaty. The location of the hotel makes it a convenient place to stay during a business trip. The room was quite spacious with a big, comfortable bed. The hotel staff are friendly and try to be helpful. However they failed to give me a wake-up call which I had requested. The breakfast included a wide choice of meals and was very good.
My most pleasant experience at Holiday Inn Almaty was the restaurant at the ground floor. Although it was a bit overpriced, meals were absolutely delicious and the service was immaculate. So it was worth it.
The gym was a bit of a disappointment. Normally you expect a proper fitness center from a 4-star hotel but but a mini gym with several stations.
The soundproofing of the rooms is not acceptable. With the door closed you can hear a conversation in the corridor or in the next room.
The overall impression of the stay was quite positive. I think I will chose this hotel for my next stay in Almaty.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikhail84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Almaty, General Manager at Holiday Inn Almaty, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Mikhail,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Almaty and taking the time to share your detailed comments. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel amenities. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your experience at the restaurant and you felt you received great service. It is sad that you were disturbed with noise from outside of your room. It is regretful that you were not given a wake-up call. I will pass this information to our team to make sure it does not happen again.

Hope you give us another chance to welcome you again should you come back to Almaty.

Sincerely,
Jan Huepers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Holiday Inn or locally known as 'Holiday' is great for business travellers. It is located centrally to businesses. Free internet for everyone is a bonus. Breakfast is good. Rooms are the same as in any Holiday Inn anywhere in the world, so don’t expect anything ‘Kazakh’. They have one restaurant that serves for breakfast and other meals, but since Almaty has lots of nice places to lounge about and have dinner, I would not eat in at the hotel in the evenings. They can also organize ski trips for the day to the nearby ski station (1h drive).

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JefKlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Almaty, General Manager at Holiday Inn Almaty, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated free w-fi. Hope we will have an honor of welcoming you again.

Sincerely,
Jan Huepers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Generally as a first visit to Almaty khazikhstan , I haven t a benchmark to compare
Hotel rate is good
Room space good
Room equipment s is fair such as minibar coffee maker
The room is somehow clean
Breakfast is fair
Good meal , i tried hamburger
Free Internet
Needs to improve room services such as clean and hygiene of the room
Lack of refill of coffee maker
Lack of free of charge water
No extra options in mini bar such as snakes
Very week gym and health club
Should improve breakfast options

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maenaddassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Almaty, General Manager at Holiday Inn Almaty, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Almaty during your first visit to Almaty. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your room and free wi-fi. I am sorry to hear that your breakfast experience did not meet your expectations and that you were not satisfied with the mini gym and mini bar. Please send me more details at alakz.gm@ihg.com . Your opinion is very important to us and I will be happy to consider your valuable suggestions.

We will be happy to welcome you again.

Sincerely,
Jan Huepers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just back from Almaty. Spent couple of nights in one room and 1 night in the other in the same Holiday Inn. Building itself, design and finishing, furnishings are of mid-to-low quality. Windows are not sound-proof, so the trucks and trailers can be heard. Liquid soap dispencers were out of order in both rooms I stayed in. Hotel's location is not much suitable for walks.

Those were cons.

Now about the pros.

Fantastic pastry for the breakfast. Other breakfast stuff was good too. Hotel staff was polite and competent enough. Special thanks to Rishat of reception. We had good coctails at the hotel bar. Mojito was really good.

For short business stay this hotel is OK.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexTrav7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Almaty, General Manager at Holiday Inn Almaty, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Alex,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Almaty and sharing your comments. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed breakfast selection and drinks. We always try to offer the best options for our guests. Thank you for your compliments of our staff attitude and service. It is a great pleasure to hear that you feel you received great service.

It is sad that you were not satisfied with the hotel location, building, furnishings and noise from outside. Our engineering team is already working on noise isolation. Thank you for sharing your comments about soap dispensers. We provide a full set of bath amenities to our guests in our tray. Kindly let us know next time if there is something you may need and we will be happy to help you right away.

Hope you give us another chance to show you what has been done.

Sincerely,
Jan Huepers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Almaty hotels
1.1 mi away
Rixos Almaty
Rixos Almaty
#2 of 75 in Almaty
668 reviews
0.9 mi away
Worldhotel Saltanat Almaty
6.3 mi away
Saraichik
Saraichik
#12 of 75 in Almaty
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Almaty Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Almaty
1.9 mi away
Uyut Hotel
Uyut Hotel
#22 of 75 in Almaty
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Almaty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Almaty

Address: Timiryazeva 2D, Almaty 050013, Kazakhstan
Phone Number:
Location: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Almaty
#8 Luxury Hotel in Almaty
Price Range: $85 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Almaty 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel Almaty! The first international hotel of the middle class in the city and the first Holiday Inn in Kazakhstan. Holiday Inn Hotel will be able to offer you excellent service and facilities at an affordable price for both local and foreign guests. It is located in the heart of the business and financial district of Almaty, near shopping centers and in 25 minutes drive from the airport. From terraces, as well as from most rooms stunning views of the mountains of Tien Shan are opening. You can unlatch the window to let fresh air in to your contemporary Guest room. Satellite TV channels on the flat-screen TV and wireless Internet will help keep you up-to-date. Open the blackout curtains to mountain views after a sound night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Almaty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Almaty Hotel Almaty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing