We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good functional Business hotel”
Review of Holiday Inn Almaty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Almaty
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Almaty
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good functional Business hotel”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Holiday Inn or locally known as 'Holiday' is great for business travellers. It is located centrally to businesses. Free internet for everyone is a bonus. Breakfast is good. Rooms are the same as in any Holiday Inn anywhere in the world, so don’t expect anything ‘Kazakh’. They have one restaurant that serves for breakfast and other meals, but since Almaty has lots of nice places to lounge about and have dinner, I would not eat in at the hotel in the evenings. They can also organize ski trips for the day to the nearby ski station (1h drive).

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JefKlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Almaty, General Manager at Holiday Inn Almaty, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated free w-fi. Hope we will have an honor of welcoming you again.

Sincerely,
Jan Huepers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    213
    102
    22
    13
See reviews for
10
14
29
363
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Generally as a first visit to Almaty khazikhstan , I haven t a benchmark to compare
Hotel rate is good
Room space good
Room equipment s is fair such as minibar coffee maker
The room is somehow clean
Breakfast is fair
Good meal , i tried hamburger
Free Internet
Needs to improve room services such as clean and hygiene of the room
Lack of refill of coffee maker
Lack of free of charge water
No extra options in mini bar such as snakes
Very week gym and health club
Should improve breakfast options

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maenaddassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Almaty, General Manager at Holiday Inn Almaty, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Almaty during your first visit to Almaty. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your room and free wi-fi. I am sorry to hear that your breakfast experience did not meet your expectations and that you were not satisfied with the mini gym and mini bar. Please send me more details at alakz.gm@ihg.com . Your opinion is very important to us and I will be happy to consider your valuable suggestions.

We will be happy to welcome you again.

Sincerely,
Jan Huepers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just back from Almaty. Spent couple of nights in one room and 1 night in the other in the same Holiday Inn. Building itself, design and finishing, furnishings are of mid-to-low quality. Windows are not sound-proof, so the trucks and trailers can be heard. Liquid soap dispencers were out of order in both rooms I stayed in. Hotel's location is not much suitable for walks.

Those were cons.

Now about the pros.

Fantastic pastry for the breakfast. Other breakfast stuff was good too. Hotel staff was polite and competent enough. Special thanks to Rishat of reception. We had good coctails at the hotel bar. Mojito was really good.

For short business stay this hotel is OK.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexTrav7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Almaty, General Manager at Holiday Inn Almaty, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Alex,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Almaty and sharing your comments. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed breakfast selection and drinks. We always try to offer the best options for our guests. Thank you for your compliments of our staff attitude and service. It is a great pleasure to hear that you feel you received great service.

It is sad that you were not satisfied with the hotel location, building, furnishings and noise from outside. Our engineering team is already working on noise isolation. Thank you for sharing your comments about soap dispensers. We provide a full set of bath amenities to our guests in our tray. Kindly let us know next time if there is something you may need and we will be happy to help you right away.

Hope you give us another chance to show you what has been done.

Sincerely,
Jan Huepers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2013

It is third time I am staying in Holiday in Almaty and perhaps more than hundred times in Holiday Inn globally.
It so pleasant to see a nice smile, friendly reception, respectful welcome and helpful attitude after having a long flight when arriving this hotel. I must say I have been lucky to have all these three times out of four stay at Holiday Inn Almaty. And of course thanks three times to Rishat at the Reception Desk for all these.
Rishat was always smiley, friendly respectful and helpful every time I checked in to the Holiday Inn Almaty, no matter was early morning or very late evening. Thanks to him and congratulate Holiday Inn Almaty for having Rihsat on board.
Hamid from Surrey, UK

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HamidS471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Almaty, General Manager at Holiday Inn Almaty, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Hamid,

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Almaty and for sharing your feedback. I am very impressed by your loyalty to our brand and I am happy to read that you choose Holiday Inn when you travel. It is a great pleasure to hear that you felt you received great service and that you appreciated the work done by our team. This is very encouraging!

Hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
Jan Huepers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Ankara, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2013

it is not only located near to business district of the Almaty, but also in walking distant to downtown of the city. In spite of spaciousness not ranked as top, it is very well designed and you will never fell tiny and get bored. Fitness center is open as 24/7 and variety of equipment is very satisfying. The best part of the hotel is the employees. They are always smiling and eager to help you in any circumstances. You have to meet with Sergei who is the duty manager. He is always striving to fell you comfortable and help you whenever you need. The internet connection is free and not slow. Th only part that i did not like the breakfast. It might be diligent and varieties might be enriched.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BulentKonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Almaty, General Manager at Holiday Inn Almaty, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Bulent,

Thank you for sharing your comments. It is amazing to hear your positive feedback about our people. We always strive to offer the best services to our guests and your appreciation is very encouraging. I am really glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and the amenities that we offer. Thank you for your comments about breakfast. I am pleased to share that the new Executive Chef has just joined our team. Looking forward for your next visit.

Sincerely,
Jan Huepers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I first stayed at the Holiday Inn about two years ago and this was my second stay here. The hotel is fine the service is fairly decent and what you would expect. The rooms at the back of the hotel have the best views over the mountains. The hotel is not in the best location and a little out of the way but if a short trip then fine.
The rooms are ok, comfortable and you get free internet.
Breakfast was really bizarre, busy, tables weren't cleared and we had to ask for coffee a few times. The drinks are expensive so bear that in mind.
The gym is a standard gym and reasonably well equipped.
The main thing I didn't like was if you asked reception to order a city taxi (cheaper) they didn't do it and what you would get is a driver who tried to overcharge. Ours wanted 2000 tenge for a short trip which would have cost no more than 600 tenge with a city cab. So beware and also sometimes they pretend that they are phoning while you are there and only when you challenge do they actually phone the company. So insist on a city cab not one of their mates.

Room Tip: Ask for room at back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Almaty, General Manager at Holiday Inn Almaty, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Donna,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Almaty and sharing your comments. We value your feedback. I am glad to read you appreciated the comfort of our rooms, fitness room and free wi-fi. It is regretful to hear about your experience at the restaurant and reception.

It is true that we do not offer the services of other taxi companies. Safety of our guests is very important to us, that is why we use the services of our reliable partner company for taxi services. This is a professional service which has a premium to the rate compared to city cabs.

I do hope you give us another chance to serve you and show you what has been done, should you travel to Almaty again.

Sincerely,
Jan Huepers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Holiday Inn is located in a newly constructed building in the new area of the city not far from the so-called historic centre.

There is absolutely nothing interesting in the nearby surroundings, moreover they are very badly lightened at night. At the same time the rooms not facing the road have very nice mountain view (when the latest are not hidden with fog or smog).

The front desk and room service staff are very friendly and helpful.

Rooms are spacious enough, very clean, have comfortable working place and very big bed with a number of different pillows available.

Bathrooms are also absolutely ok.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with mountain view, they are much quiter then those facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank from_moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Almaty, General Manager at Holiday Inn Almaty, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Almaty and sharing your comments. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and found our rooms comfortable for work. It is my pleasure to read your appreciation of our service, this is what our team takes great pride in.

Looking forward to welcoming you next time when you are traveling back to Almaty.

Sincerely,

Jan Huepers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Almaty hotels
1.1 mi away
Rixos Almaty
Rixos Almaty
#2 of 73 in Almaty
647 reviews
0.9 mi away
Worldhotel Saltanat Almaty
6.3 mi away
Saraichik
Saraichik
#12 of 73 in Almaty
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Uyut Hotel
Uyut Hotel
#33 of 73 in Almaty
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Almaty Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Almaty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Almaty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Almaty

Property: Holiday Inn Almaty
Address: Timiryazeva 2D, Almaty 050013, Kazakhstan
Phone Number:
Location: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Almaty
#9 Luxury Hotel in Almaty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Almaty 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel Almaty! The first international hotel of the middle class in the city and the first Holiday Inn in Kazakhstan. Holiday Inn Hotel will be able to offer you excellent service and facilities at an affordable price for both local and foreign guests. It is located in the heart of the business and financial district of Almaty, near shopping centers and in 25 minutes drive from the airport. From terraces, as well as from most rooms stunning views of the mountains of Tien Shan are opening. You can unlatch the window to let fresh air in to your contemporary Guest room. Satellite TV channels on the flat-screen TV and wireless Internet will help keep you up-to-date. Open the blackout curtains to mountain views after a sound night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Almaty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Almaty Hotel Almaty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing