We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standard of hotel”
Review of Holiday Inn Almaty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Almaty
Ranked #9 of 75 Hotels in Almaty
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed one night in mid-Nov for business purposes, didn't have too much time to explore the facilities. It was about 30 mins drive from the airport.

Very comfortable room with respect to furnishing + bed, etc - but woke in in the middle of night from being far too warm. I had left the conditioning on for several hours before retiring for the night, then switched it off, but from the temperature when I woke up, I'm not sure if even leaving it on "low" whilst I slept would have made a difference. Incidentally, one colleague had a very cold room & another colleague was also too warm. Outside, it was about 2C overnight.

I laughed when I read the previous reviewer's mention of the bathroom basin being too far away from the front edge of the "furniture'" Yep, it was true! If you are "vertically challenged" you will have some difficulty leaning forwards against the towel rail! ;-)

Breakfast was of good quality, with a nice range of different options.

One note - they take a pre-authorisation payment against your credit card when you check-in. I tried to beat the morning check-out rush (there was a wedding party staying the night I was there) & pay my bill before I went to bed. Ah, I think I was trying to be clever & it took some extra time on check-out to have the pre-auth payment refunded.

As long as you can control the room temperature, a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeJenvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 446 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2011

First i would like to mention that front office staff and reservations is very helpfull.
The hotel facilities are reasonible, but not too special. For the huge amount they charge I would expected more.

Breakfast was quite poor comapring to other hotels.
the rooms are quite small, but you have all you need.

The shower flow was excellent, usually they have problem with that.

Room Tip: Great coffee place across the street and down the so called "shopping center", ask at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ash-eli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Almaty, Manager at Holiday Inn Almaty, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very sorry to hear that you found our hotel too expensive

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include the Holiday Inn Almaty.

Kind Regards

The Holiday Inn team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Very good room, seating area, two toilets, comfortable bed, wonderful views of the mountains from the windows.
Breakfast excellent we have been living in Kazakhstan for three months and where we live we cannot get bacon, so the smoked and unsmoked bacon was an unexpected bonus.
Easy walk into town and the number 32 bus stops outside.
Reception staff are very helpful and are a good source of information on things to do in Almaty.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richev7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Almaty, Manager at Holiday Inn Almaty, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments and experience at our hotel and we are glad to hear that you would recommend us to other travelers.

We will share your positive comments to our Front office and Food & Beverage staff in order to thank them and motivate them for the future.
We strongly believe that customer service is making a difference to exceed guests’ expectations and we will keep training our staff to always continue to improve our guest experience.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at Holiday Inn Almaty

Kind Regards

The Holiday Inn team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

My first stay in Almaty was here and it was great. After a couple of trips into Russia with poor hotels I was not expecting much, I was most surprised. Great room, plenty of space, large comfortable bed with an excellent view. The price is as expected, however the internet and minibar are expensive. Food is good and varied. The service is OK but does not live up to the high standards of the remainder of the hotel.

Room Tip: I was on the north side so missed what I imagine would have been an excellent view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Almaty, Manager at Holiday Inn Almaty, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive words about your experience at our hotel and we are glad to hear that you consider our hotel as “Great”.

We took good note of your comments concerning the service and our prices and we will consider these points in the future to always continue to improve our guests’ expectations.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at Holiday Inn Almaty

Kind Regards

The Holiday Inn team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Stayed here for my last night in Kazakhstan. Previously stayed in the Astra, 40% of the Holiday Inn's price and pretty good but with a number of flaws. Basically the Holiday Inn got all those problem areas right. Few complaints with service (except they were disorganised when communixating with me re the airport pickup). Room was great - big bed, lots of space, chairs and tables, views. Had two toilets but the one in the main bathroom shouldn't have been there as it cramped up the space. Food was good but exy. Mini bar prices ridiculous - 8-10 times supermarket prices. Unfortunately there's no supermarket nearby but I found a mini mart near Republic Square (also a Ramstor on the other side of the palace which has a big supermarket with a selection of English books). So you can walk easily to the heart of the city but the hotel is clearly set up for driving everywhere.

Not sure it's better value than the Astra but if you're looking at this price point, it's certainly a good hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Almaty, Manager at Holiday Inn Almaty, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we are glad to hear that you would recommend us to other travelers.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

We would like to take this opportunity to inform you that there is a supermarket a few steps from the hotel where you can find a wide choice of items.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include the Holiday Inn Almaty.

Kind Regards

The Holiday Inn team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Spent three nights on business. Hotel is new. Room is good and clean. The bathroom is a little bit weird - the sink is quite far and towels rails in front of sink basement. Overall it makes very inconvinient to use and especially to shave. Breakfast has a good variety. Service at breakfast might be better (Irina may be more friendly with both guests and own staff). Staff doesn't manage who has breakfast included and who is not. So they might give you two times to sign. The location is very convinient for business because the hotel is not in the center. So during the rush hours the taxi may select the way to get to the place faster. WiFi is for charge which should not be. The hotel is a bit overpriced but that's the way in Almaty generally.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Almaty, Manager at Holiday Inn Almaty, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Thank you very much for sharing your comment and experience and that you consider the Holiday Inn Almaty as a good hotel for business.

We took good note of your various comments, especially concerning Internet and the breakfast. We highly appreciate your comments that will help us to improve our guest experience.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at Holiday Inn Almaty

Kind Regards

The Holiday Inn team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I stayed my first night in the Holiday Inn. After a couple of small incidents, a slight mess up with the airport transfer and staff stating no adaptor without searching (next morning staff called to housekeeping and had one sent up to the room), the stay at the Holiday Inn was memorable. The staff did the correct thing to resolve the airport transfer issue. Room was nice. Overall service was really good. Breakfast buffet was really good and I also had their lunch buffet for a business meeting. Again, real value for money. The one thing that could be approved is the guest transport. It is outside individuals that are on call to the hotel. The cars I got were old and not reflective of the level of hotel. The driver needed deodarant, and I had to ride with the window open to survive.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASEAN_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Almaty, Manager at Holiday Inn Almaty, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Thank you very much for sharing your comment and experience, we are very glad to hear that you consider your stay with us memorable.

We strongly believe that customer service is making a difference to exceed guests’ expectations and we will keep training our staff to always continue to improve our guest experience.

We took good note of your comments concerning the car transfer and have already taken some measures to ensure that such situation does not happen again in the future.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at Holiday Inn Almaty

Kind Regards

The Holiday Inn team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Almaty hotels
1.1 mi away
Rixos Almaty
Rixos Almaty
#2 of 75 in Almaty
668 reviews
0.9 mi away
Worldhotel Saltanat Almaty
6.3 mi away
Saraichik
Saraichik
#12 of 75 in Almaty
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Almaty Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Almaty
1.9 mi away
Uyut Hotel
Uyut Hotel
#22 of 75 in Almaty
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Almaty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Almaty

Address: Timiryazeva 2D, Almaty 050013, Kazakhstan
Phone Number:
Location: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Almaty
#8 Luxury Hotel in Almaty
Price Range: $85 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Almaty 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel Almaty! The first international hotel of the middle class in the city and the first Holiday Inn in Kazakhstan. Holiday Inn Hotel will be able to offer you excellent service and facilities at an affordable price for both local and foreign guests. It is located in the heart of the business and financial district of Almaty, near shopping centers and in 25 minutes drive from the airport. From terraces, as well as from most rooms stunning views of the mountains of Tien Shan are opening. You can unlatch the window to let fresh air in to your contemporary Guest room. Satellite TV channels on the flat-screen TV and wireless Internet will help keep you up-to-date. Open the blackout curtains to mountain views after a sound night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Almaty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Almaty Hotel Almaty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing