We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good alternative to the pricier international chains”
Review of Kazzhol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kazzhol
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Almaty
Certificate of Excellence
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good alternative to the pricier international chains”
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Hotel prices in Almaty are ridiculous and this hotel offers a really good alternative to the international chains, at around half the price. While still needing to iron our the kinks in some of the customer service elements and small touches, the standard of decoration is as a good three star hotel in Europe (with difference between room rates being mainly size rather than decor), the cleanliness is outstanding, a new fitness centre and swimming pool are now open, and the restaurant is excellent offering a wide choice of local and international dishes - believe me after a week as a vegetarian in the Kazakh hinterland that omlette and fries was just wanted I wanted. Don't be fleeced, stay here when you are in Almaty.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madmedea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    144
    66
    15
    6
See reviews for
16
27
44
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2009

If this hotel was located in Western Europe, it would be an pretty good standard hotel. In the Kazakhstan context it is a very good hotel, by far the best I have visited. I stayed there for two nights and another two a week later, and had a very pleasent stay!
Since hotelprices are steep in Almaty, this is a really good bargain at 12.000 tenge for a double room. Rooms are clean, beds are nice, the shower is fine and the TV works as it should. And the breakfast buffet is excellent. Most of the staff speak English and are helpful in their own way. They can appear to be somewhat unkind, but hey: this used to be Sovjet Union! Location is pretty good, in a quiet courtyard off the main streets. The pedestrian shopping area is just five minutes away, walking. And there are plenty of "taxi's" waiting for you. They bring you to the mayor locations in Almaty for 500-700 tenge.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgunsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

We stayed at the Kazzhol for two nights whilst in Almaty for the England game. We had been in Uzbekistan where the hotel was really good. The Kazzhol was ok, and admittedly it was full of England fans at the time we were there, however our room was literally next to the bar and therefore we did not get one wink of sleep. There was one towel in our room, a large one and no hand towels at all. The bed was like a concrete slab. It was all pretty clean though, which is a bonus in a place like that. The front desk staff, in contrast to those in Tashkent, were miserable and rude, like other Soviet-type hotels we've stayed in. All in all, it was passable if you have to be in Almaty, but not great.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whugirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2009

I visited Kazakhstan as an explorer so my needs when it came to hotels were very different from that of a business traveller. Kazzhol was the only decent place that was available at the budget I was looking for in Almaty.

I spent three nights there, two in a regular double room and one night in a suite due to non availability of a double room on the third night. The staff at the reception were not very friendly but they completed the check-in formalities without much trouble. None of the staff knew English, so knowledge of Russian is a must. The facilities at the hotel were well maintained but don't expect too much for the $100 you will be shelling out for your double room. The rooms are pretty small and the bathroom even smaller. The house keeping staff do a marvellous job so you wont feel robbed in terms of comfort and décor. The suite was definitely worth the money I paid for at about at about fifty percent more cost than the double room. The bathroom was big, the room had a balcony and the rooms were also spacious. The tariff included breakfast but the spread was very basic. I never ordered room service except for some coffee. I preferred eating out and there was a good restaurant adjacent to the hotel if it was too late to go into the town centre.

Kazzhol is located not very far from the town centre or the main attractions in Almaty like the Zenkov Cathedral and the Panfilov Park. Public buses were easily available at a two minute walk from the hotel, privately owned cars plying as taxis were available for a fixed price but remember to fix the price before you get in.

Overall I had no bad experience. Hotels are generally expensive in Almaty so taking that factor into consideration Kazzhol is definitely a good bargain

  • Liked — Located within easy access
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HeliosAdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Almaty hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Almaty
Holiday Inn Almaty
#10 of 73 in Almaty
434 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rixos Almaty
Rixos Almaty
#2 of 73 in Almaty
646 reviews
1.4 mi away
Worldhotel Saltanat Almaty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
D'Rami
D'Rami
#6 of 73 in Almaty
96 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Tien-Shan
Grand Hotel Tien-Shan
#13 of 73 in Almaty
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Uyut Hotel
Uyut Hotel
#32 of 73 in Almaty
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kazzhol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kazzhol

Property: Kazzhol
Address: Gogolya 127/1, Almaty 050000, Kazakhstan
Phone Number:
Location: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Almaty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kazzhol 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kazzhol hotels are the modern and conveniently located hotels, with good capacity and wide range of services. Having the rooms of different categories, we create the excellent conditions for both short-term and long-term accommodation with children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kazzhol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing