We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly satisfactory for a business trip”
Review of Kazzhol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kazzhol
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Almaty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2011

I stayed here for 6 nights on a business trip. The complimentary breakfast was fine, but doesn't change so after 6 days I was glad not to have to eat there again. It includes concentrated juices, coffee, teas, yoghurt drinks, 4 cereals, a limited selection of bread, samosas, mayonaise type salads, cheese and meat platter, potatoes, scrambled eggs, crepes, porridge, a thin chicken broth, pastries, fruit and jams. Pick a room on the upper floors where it is quieter. The rooms have free wifi good for 24 hours so you have to go to the reception desk and get a new password every day. The wifi is slow. The hotel is in walking distance (10 minutes) of the tsum (central shopping center) and there are plenty of cafes, fast food, and shopping in the area. Just in front of the hotel is a private hospital just in case... There is a decent sized pool and exercise center and decent coffee in the little cafe near reception. As others have mentioned, the bed was like a cement slab which I thought was funny because there is a sign that you can choose from a list of 6 different kinds of pillows. All in all, it wasn't great, but it was fine for a business trip.

Room Tip: Top levels are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank umbaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 343 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights in a cold November. Room always nice and warm when I arrive back each evening and boiling hot water in shower. Nice room with modern LG flat screen tv, fridge with minibar, Samsung air conditioning until, immaculately clean bed. It was a lot better than what I was expecting and would defo stay here again. Decent location also, within walking distant to a lot of useful places. Very secure hotel. Good buffet breakfast also but never ate at night time in restaurant. Some staff very friendly others still stuck in Soviet non smiling mode! Overall great stay for good value in a modern hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciara32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

I stay 4 days in Almaty. The hotel was very good, I had an economic single room, small but clean and confortable, nice bathroom. The position is nice, 15min walking fron central mosque or war memorial.
Good restaurant. Small gym, just for quick exercises, pool good for children.
There is a massage center, but I did not try it.
It is ok for business trip.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredm666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I had a nightmare staying this hotel last year.
But this year, it was pleasently surprise for me, honestly.

1) The hotel have improved the internet services. it is working 24 hours at complimentary
2) Breakfast is fine and i like it.
3) Service is fine and accepatble.

The great advantage staying in this hotel is the location near outside restaurants and nearby some boutique i.e. Benneton and Adidas and also a CD/DVD shop to hang out.

For Visitors, i have to warn you that this country has a lot of corrupted Government staff such as police, Immigration officer and also airport staff. They will tried to scare you off for you to bribe them. I called them "the Real Robbers"

Please do the following to avoid problem.
1) Always declare your money once you touch down Almaty airport otherwise the officers will give you problem when you depart. I had to bribe USD100.

2) Always travel under 20kg. The check on counter will try their luck asking money from you if you have access luggage.

3) Always, always bring your passport even if you are running to a store to buy something.
The police will threatened you and wll try to extort you with money

4) When you arrive, take the taxi inside the luggage area. Make sure you ask the final price for the destination that you are going to. They will pretend to tell you a cheap rate and increase it once you are inside the taxi. e.g. They quote me Tenge 500 and but what it means its is Tenge500 for 1 KM. and the final total goes up to tenge 10000.

Kazak is generally a nice country with warm people. But i dont feel safe in this country after going through some many incidents.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DennisK72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Kazzhol Hotel is modern and nicely designed. The reception area is very pleasant, with a business center off of it for customer computer use. The breakfast room and breakfast were lovely, providing lots of variety, and plenty of food to start the day. The room itself is adequate, however, I was placed in a room over the reception area, and at the top of the stairs, which interfered with my much needed sleep after the long haul from the states. When I arrived at 1AM, they said my room was not ready. Amazing! They then said someone was cleaning it as we spoke, but upon inspection, no one was. Round and round we go--no other rooms---really? Finally the room was prepared. Hair dryer was broken and when I reported it, no service was offered, no alternate suggested. The location is ideal---very close to many sites, restaurants and shopping. This hotel is a mixed bag. I've seen much better for the same price in Central Asia. I would say that if you get a room above the 3rd or 4th floor, you'd be in much better shape than I was.

Room Tip: Choose a room at 3rd or 4th floor for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank travelbounder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The hotel is a former residential building (I believe), which is hidden behind the residential buildings and is not on a main street, so no chance to see it, unless you know where u r going.
5 floors, sizable rooms, wireless internet (not very reliable). Breakfast (more of a a la carte dinner). English speaking staff at the reception. Major credit cards accepted, airport pick up can be arranged for additional fee.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArmenGrigoryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

If you ever go to Almaty, I'd recommend to stay at Kazzhol hotel: at the reception, the ladies are friendly, rooms are confortable (but ask you a non-smoking room if you do not want to breath the smell of cigarettes of previous guests), the breakfast offers you a wide range of dishes to start a busy day with full energies. If you get back to the hotel with some energy left, you can enjoy spending some time in the fitness room or in the swimming pool. Otherwise, just relax in the sauna. Or have a stroll in the borough around, not too much downtown but nice enough.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PiemontePiemonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Almaty hotels
0 mi away
Uyut Hotel
Uyut Hotel
#19 of 75 in Almaty
113 reviews
1.4 mi away
Worldhotel Saltanat Almaty
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Almaty
Holiday Inn Almaty
#10 of 75 in Almaty
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rixos Almaty
Rixos Almaty
#2 of 75 in Almaty
701 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Almaty
0.5 mi away
Tahar
Tahar
#21 of 75 in Almaty
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kazzhol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kazzhol

Address: Gogolya 127/1, Almaty 050000, Kazakhstan
Phone Number:
Location: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Almaty
Price Range: $77 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kazzhol 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kazzhol hotels are the modern and conveniently located hotels, with good capacity and wide range of services. Having the rooms of different categories, we create the excellent conditions for both short-term and long-term accommodation with children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Kazzhol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing