We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spectacular breakfast and massage”
Review of Kazakhstan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kazakhstan
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Almaty
Gdynia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“spectacular breakfast and massage”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The place really tells you the recent history of Kazakstan well! Massive building, grandeur lobby, but already lifts and corridors remeber the soviet times. I had to change the room (apartment paid by my hosts) because the first one had the safe which deprogramed itself and started making loud noises:). The second one (12th florr) was much better. It missed the propaganda book entitled "Dynamic Kazachstan' :) Obviously meant for more sceptical tourists...It does function like a regular brothel as it is part of its history. "Commandirovka" in Soviet era had a double meaning: "being delegated to do business" and delegated to another women. Disgusting but if you are not interested the staff will not bother you. Most of service (reception, security, waiters, waitresses seem to be under twenty and only few speak some English. Breakfasts are like massive dinners with 2 kinds of soups, salads, meats but even as a fruitarian I was very happy for 10 days which I cannot say about dinners there (meat, meat, sometimes fish no fresh vegetables).
The best thing there is in this wierd place is Thai Spa on the 7th floor. I had to make sure it is not part of the erotic relaxation business. I called them first and talked in Russian. I got the most professional massage in this part of the world. About 50 euro for an hour of really healthy action on your whole body! I guess the reception will help you if you only speak English.

Room Tip: 12th floor 1213 apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arusil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    69
    91
    49
    24
See reviews for
10
23
35
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Astana, Kazakhstan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

For what you pay a night you would expect at the very least for the TV to work and a functional bathroom. The hose on the shower head leaked so bad 50% of the water was lost before it left the shower head. Our TV didn't work and when we called for service a maid showed up to tell us the service was down in the block. Later that evening the TV repair man showed up and "tuned" the TV and fixed it in 30 mins. The room service was ok. No matter what the sides are on the menu, we always got mashed potatoes. Our mini bar was incomplete and they were trying to hit us up for the fees of the missing items that were never there to begin with. If you are staying in Almaty for an extended period, I highly recommend looking for apartments that you can rent by the day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Almaty hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bishkek, Kırgızistan
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Although Kazakhstan is growing and developing, Hotel Kazakhstan's poor room standard is the same. They renovated most of the rooms but its really hard to get the comfort out of it. The bathrooms have really small sink. You can't even wash your face or shave without splashing water on the ground.The shower cabins are 15cm higher than the floor level. The carpets are dirty, lighting in the room is disturbing.
The breakfast is the old so called 'Improved' Soviet style.
BUT, unfortunately as it is one of the cheapest hotels in Almaty (120-250$), it is usually 70% full.

Room Tip: There is NO good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TROPOSHFERE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Pathetic hotel
Horrendous rooms
Absolutely no sense of hospitality (but then that is synonymous with all establishments in Kazakhstan)
Rude reception staff.. English is like a language of the aliens.

..and I did not even spend the night after checking in. It felt like a brothel inspite of its grandeur exterior and lobby.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NishantSinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forbes, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Past it's glory days, Stayed here many times, the last in October 2012 for about $330 per night. That time was my worst experience, grubby rooms, poor service, very overpriced for what you got. On my floor, there was broken furniture and rolled up carpet at the end of the hallway. I asked for safe in my room but there was none, got another room which had plenty of space but filthy with broken furniture. Breakfast was unimpressive with most items stale

Very deceiving, lobby is really good so I think they keep up the façade and wonder why you don't love the place.

Shaslick next door in Guns 'n roses was good as was the music with somebody called Johnny
I moved out to the Dostyk Hotel which was light years better for about the same price. Could easily access Guns 'n Roses from the Dostyk, about a two minute walk.. Good location and good views of the mountains if you are lucky. Staff at reception think the rooms are of the same standard as the foyer......the last time I stayed there is the last time I will ever stay there

Room Tip: Chose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a review for a room for $200 per day. September 2013.
1. Dirty carpets.
2. Dirt behind night stands: small hills of dust, some papers left by the previous clients.
3. Broken locks in the bathroom. We told to the manager to fix it; no reaction for 5 days.
4. THEY REQUIRE YOU TO PAY IN ADVANCE.
5. They have thrown away containers for my lenses. They did not provided any substitute.
6. They do not provide what they state in the contract, e.g., coffee maker.
7. Poor knowledge of English.
8. Rude personnel.
9. Very old torn bath robes.
10. Takes a while to have the water from the hot tap to become actually hot.
11. Bad food for breakfast: sausage that has dry edges, not fresh cucumbers, instant coffee (ONLY INSTANT).

To sum up, avoid this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great location, two good close restaurants on the property and a good view from upper level rooms. Small cramped rooms, deteriorating infrastructure and a generally shabby appearance once you're out of the lobby. The state of the hotel provides a powerful incentive to get out and explore the surroundings. There appears to be some renovation going on so request a recently updated room if possible. Guns N Roses pub on site was fantastic for food, drinks and outdoor seating. Noodles is close and has good selections and atmosphere. Centrally located for walking tours and restaurants close by.
Don't expect many amenities in the rooms. Small TV, limited power ports, small soap bar, lack of a hair dryer and a constantly running toilet. They did provide two gas masks in our room though...

Room Tip: Higher rooms appear to be under renovation. Request one if possible. Stay away from rooms located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Almaty hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Almaty
Hotel Almaty
#18 of 73 in Almaty
77 reviews
1.2 mi away
Otrar
Otrar
#37 of 73 in Almaty
94 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ambassador
Ambassador
#19 of 73 in Almaty
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Almaty
Holiday Inn Almaty
#10 of 73 in Almaty
434 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kazzhol
Kazzhol
#7 of 73 in Almaty
320 reviews
0.4 mi away
Worldhotel Saltanat Almaty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kazakhstan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kazakhstan

Property: Kazakhstan
Address: Dostyk Ave., 52/2, Almaty 050010, Kazakhstan
Location: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Almaty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kazakhstan 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star 26-storey hotel "Kazakhstan" is located in a picturesque location of Almaty. From the windows of the hotel magnificent view of snow-capped peaks of Trans-Ili Alatau is opening. Ecologically clean area, where the hotel is located, the heart of business and administrative center of Almaty is connected by transportation routes to any point of the city. In five-minute walk from the hotel are office buildings, schools, banks, restaurants, museums, parks, theaters and monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Kazakhstan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kazakhstan Hotel Almaty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing