We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, bad interior quality”
Review of Kazakhstan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kazakhstan
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Almaty
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good location, bad interior quality”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I have stayed in Kazakhstan Hotel more than 6 time for the last two years. The good thing about is the location. It is close to restaurants and some shopping. Yet, it needs a real renovation badly. My last stay, I had to change three rooms to find a decent one.

Room Tip: Stay over 14th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrHEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    69
    91
    49
    24
See reviews for
10
23
35
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

I had reservation for the standard room - that was incredible dirty, so I had an upgrade and got the room a little bit better.
So, pros for this hotel:
- location
-price ($300 for 3 nights)

Cons:
- dirt in the room
- dark rooms
- dirty and old shower room
- service

I will try to avoid this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DctrG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Almaty hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lucknow, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

it is one of the old hotels in almaty ,but rather impressive from the outside .i was told that it was built during the soviet union time and thus is very solidly built -can take earthquake shocks of high intensity .(the region is susaptable to earthquakes ).It has a very happening lounge.We can walk around to other pubs and lounges at night -dont need cabs .The really big and famous ones are a little far for which we need a car -not too far though.As there is great language problem in almaty ,the reception staff tries well to help us . The rooms in the hotel are a little small .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neelu40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I had two stays here in quick succession this month and whilst I would agree that the hotel has its flaws my personal experience was not that bad. I have not stayed at other Almaty hotels but would have no problem returning here in future. Let's start with the bad, then the good.

For those of a certain age it is clear that this place Soviet build, but in the areas I visited I found that the rework to spruce the place up was OK, it may not have been world class, but unless I was picky it was liveable.

The wifi in the rooms worked, but was slow. The breakfasts were basic, but OK. Don't stay here for good coffee, a bowl of instant coffee by the water heater to make your own! The bars do not let you charge to your room so you will need cash or credit cards to cover daily expenses.

What was good, the Guns N' Roses pub on floor 2 had live music every night and was well frequented by locals. The Fly Bar (Barfly) on the 26th floor was a place for great views over the city with drinks. The central location was good with a lot of local facilities within a 10 minute walk. I used the staff to help with some small matters and laundry, apart from the language barrier everything went well.

I might have rated the hotel 3/5, but after experiencing other more rural Kazakh accommodation this is definitely a step up for the country so I have erred on the side of generosity to make it 4/5.

Room Tip: high floors can have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YBOD98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I have stayed here on 3 separate occasions (on somebody else's account), but would never do so on my own.

I believe this is one of the last remnants of the old Soviet Intourist hotel chain. From the outside, the building is impressive -- tall and modern in design. The lobby is huge and rather luxurious, with a restaurant and dining area looking down on it from the balcony above. And, there are plenty of elevators.

But don't be fooled: while the rooms have great views of the city and surrounding mountains and the room sizes are reasonable (I stayed in three different ones), everything else is seriously sub-par. The shower curtains are too short, so water splashes on the floor. The cold water pressure is so low that you have a choice of being scalded or drizzled upon. The toilet paper and soap holders fall off their mountings.

Some of the room lights don't work. Those that do don't provide much illumination. The WIFI (free) is dodgy at the best of times. The television is small and the channel selection minimal.

At this stage, even the renovated rooms need a complete make-over. What a pity: the hotel's physical structure and very central location could make it a winner, but it's in such poor repair that it's a big loser -- one to be avoided, if possible. I wouldn't call my stays here horrible, but they come close to that.

Room Tip: Look somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike47TelAviv_Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishkek, Kırgızistan
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

The hotel used to be the tallest building in Almaty. Building is very old and even renovated rooms are horrible. The bathroom design is disaster. The room carpets are dirty. Lobby and the restaurant looks good but don't let the look fool you.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TROPOSHFERE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel back in 2005 - not much changed since then. Looks like the renovation in the rooms was done by staff themselves: random cable hanging from the wall, windows you can't close, hair of the previous guest around the whole bathroom and the heater, hanging on the wire, are absolutely normal here. As for the service, it is something the team at the hotel never heard of: if you are asking for a cup of tea to be brought to your room at 5:00 because you leave at 5:30 and want to have a cuppa before departure, be prepared for it to come at 5:25 and a sincere amazement when you reject it: "But I was just printing you the bill!"

Sad, sad place to avoid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoya_Zu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Almaty hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Almaty
Hotel Almaty
#18 of 73 in Almaty
77 reviews
1.2 mi away
Otrar
Otrar
#37 of 73 in Almaty
94 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ambassador
Ambassador
#19 of 73 in Almaty
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Almaty
Holiday Inn Almaty
#10 of 73 in Almaty
434 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kazzhol
Kazzhol
#7 of 73 in Almaty
320 reviews
0.4 mi away
Worldhotel Saltanat Almaty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kazakhstan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kazakhstan

Property: Kazakhstan
Address: Dostyk Ave., 52/2, Almaty 050010, Kazakhstan
Location: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Almaty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kazakhstan 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star 26-storey hotel "Kazakhstan" is located in a picturesque location of Almaty. From the windows of the hotel magnificent view of snow-capped peaks of Trans-Ili Alatau is opening. Ecologically clean area, where the hotel is located, the heart of business and administrative center of Almaty is connected by transportation routes to any point of the city. In five-minute walk from the hotel are office buildings, schools, banks, restaurants, museums, parks, theaters and monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Kazakhstan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kazakhstan Hotel Almaty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing