We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn ANA Sendai
Ranked #12 of 129 Hotels / Ryokan in Sendai
Reviewed January 27, 2008

This hotel was close to the station and was a short walk to the shops and restaurants. Staff were great, rooms spotless and quite large (especially the bathroom) for Japanese standard.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank aussieprincess76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn ANA Sendai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 356 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2007

The hotel was clean and well located within a 10 min walk of the train station which provides good access to the metro and the bus system, as well as to the major shopping areas in downtown Sendai.

The rooms are small based on US standards, but large compared to most in Japan/Europe. The beds were overly firm for our taste (certainly firmer than the pillow top mattresses now common in many US hotels). Our room was quiet. The bathroom included a tub with shower (with a clothes line which we used), good sized vanity with single sink, heated toilet seat with bidet, and was stocked with standard toiletries.

The front desk staff was pleasant, but often no one present spoke English, which surprised us for an American chain. The breakfast is largely Japanese, although a couple of Western items are present, but these vary from acceptable to marginal. We had dinner at the restaurant on the night we arrived; it was acceptable but not impressive.

The hotel staff made a great recommendation regarding a restaurant for a tempura dinner, but gave us incorrect information about forwarding our luggage to Tokyo (takes three days, not two days as we were told).

The price was reasonable for the level of service, so we might stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovtravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2004

Stayed 2 nights during my visit to Sendai. Booked on the internet. It's nicer than the typical Holiday Inn in the States. Rooms are not huge but I spent my day sightseeing and just needed a place to sleep mostly. The room was very clean, typical for Japanese standards. I was given a coupon for breakfast and it was good. The hotel is located on the east side of the JR station but most of the sightseeing spots are to the west. It is within walking distance from the hotel to the JR station and from there you can get around. I lived in Japan for 4 years so I was used to walking everywhere and using the public transportation. Sendai offers a deal on a special bus that stops on certain sightseeing spots. Search the web for more deals. On a side note, I think 1 full day is enough for seeing Sendai unless there are certain places that you must visit. Two days if you want a leisurely pace. The Tanabata festival in Sendai is one of the bigger ones and is a good time to visit if you like the crowded festive atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank emdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank 俊男 西
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 653yujis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fukufuku850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 角部屋が静かでいいと思います。
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bluerain16150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sendai hotels
Sendai Station
Hotel Monte Hermana Sendai
Sendai Station
Hotel Metropolitan Sendai
Sendai Station
Hotel Monterey Sendai
Hotel Monterey Sendai
#11 of 129 in Sendai
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sendai Station
Hotel JAL City Sendai
Hotel JAL City Sendai
#8 of 129 in Sendai
646 reviews
Kotodai Koen Station
The Westin Sendai
The Westin Sendai
#1 of 129 in Sendai
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn ANA Sendai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn ANA Sendai

Address: 1-4-1 Shintera Wakabayashi Ku, Sendai 984-0051, Miyagi Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Tohoku > Miyagi Prefecture > Sendai > Sendai Station
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Sendai
Price Range: $64 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn ANA Sendai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Sendai opened on 20th, July 2001 with the hotel is located just 6 minutes walk from Sendai Station. Sendai is 1 hour 40 minutes on the Tohoku Shinkansen from Tokyo Station and 70 minutes by air from Osaka. The hotel is ideally situated for business and pleasure stays. There are many of Sendai's major cultural and historical venues in close proximity to the hotel; such as Aoba Castle, Miyagi Museum, Sendai Stadium and Rinnoji Temple.Sendai is also famous for its seasonal events; such as the Aoba-Matsuri Festival showcasing impressive warriors and priests marching in the springtime. In the summer the 'Tanabata Festival' will give guests the opportunity to feast their eyes on the colorful streamers waving under the summer skies. Autumn brings the annual Jazz Festival with Winter displaying fascinating illuminated trees at the 'Pageant of Starlight'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn ANA Sendai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ana Sendai Hotel Sendai
Holiday Inn Sendai
Sendai Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing