We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refined Simple Sophistication”
Review of The Westin Sendai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Sendai
Ranked #1 of 133 Hotels / Ryokan in Sendai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2014

The Westin Sendai was one of my first experiences in Japan. I've stayed in Westin before, so it definitely held up the Westin standard - service, cleanliness, peaceful atmosphere, even the smell, but since it's Japan, it's another notch above. I really loved the bathroom amenities with special attention to details, including bath salt, a hair clip, etc. I definitely took advantage of a nice bath! The only thing that I didn't like was the location. Sure, it's close enough to the Sendai station, it's walkable, but it's not as close as you may think. It took me a while to find the street that lead to the hotel. But once you know where you're going, it's doable, just not preferable. And yes, it was pricey (especially staying during Golden Week), but considering how relaxing it was, it was a nice treat and well worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmcfung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ウェスティンホテル仙台TWS, 宿泊部 at The Westin Sendai, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review about your recent visit to The Westin Sendai and for telling other reviewers in detail.
We are sorry hear that the location from Sendai station is not really close. However, we are relieved to hear that you enjoyed for the first time in Japan. And it is pleasure that you satisfied our service and facilities.

Again, thank you for your accurate review with your kind words and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 583 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

From the moment of arrival the staff were quick to meet and greet and take luggage of you and bring directly to your room. From the moment you arrive at the hotel reception you are drawn to the breathtaking views. This is followed by the amazing views from the bedrooms, a drink from the mini bar is a must to savour the moment in front of the large bay windows overlooking the city. Food is excellent including the large buffet breakfast. Once you have experienced this hotel you will never accept 2nd best again.if you are lucky enough to have the chance to stay here, savour it!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuxidoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ウェスティンホテル仙台TWS, Front Office at The Westin Sendai, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Westin Sendai and for telling other reviewers in detail.

We are glad to hear about good comments for our staff and we are pleased that you enjoyed your time at our hotel. We share your comments among all staff and we work hard to train our teams to ensure they offer the highest levels of service.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The hotel is great. For lunch there is a healthful 3 course lunch that was very good. Under 700 calories and the flavors filled you up. Room was comfortable with a great bed.

The reason I say not for business traveler is the internet service. Cannot establish vpn connections and just regular website loading is slow. Management says they are looking into it but until they have high speed full service internet our team will not stay here again. You can't get your work done.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thptrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ウェスティンホテル仙台TWS, 宿泊部 at The Westin Sendai, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review and rating The Westin Sendai with your kind comments. We are glad to hear that you stayed comfortable with us and enjoyed our lunch menu.

However, we apologize for any inconvenience of the internet service. We understand that is serious problem for business travelers and try to improve our internet connection now.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you with better internet environment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

After staying at numerous excellent hotels in Japan I am astonished by the incredibly poor internet service at this location. To access their wi-fi is not easy; it takes 3 completely non-intuitive steps. Once connected you'll find that even basic HTML Gmail takes over 15 minutes to load. The manager acknowledged this problem and tried to resolve it for another 30 minutes. The problem still wasn't resolved.
Unbelievable that this level of connectivity in a executive room exists in supposedly one of Sendai's best business/luxury hotels.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
5  Thank ITravelABunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ウェスティンホテル仙台TWS, 宿泊部 at The Westin Sendai, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review about your recent visit to The Westin Sendai.

We apologize for the inconvenience of internet connection. We are looking into the cause of the internet connection at the guest floor right now as its very important issue. We try to improve our internet service.

We appreciate your bringing this issue to our attention.
Thank you and we look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

If you arrive at the Sendai train station just step out the west exit and look at the skyline. The Westin sign is visible on the tall building. It is an easy 10 minute walk even with a large bag in tow. The staff were excellent and very helpful with English explanations. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the room was spacious. Wifi was extra and slow. There was no smoky smell that you sometimes get in Japanese hotels

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Sheldon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ウェスティンホテル仙台TWS, 宿泊部 at The Westin Sendai, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review in detail with your kind comments. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
In regards to Wi-Fi, we apologize and try to improve our internet service.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The Westin Sendai is one of the top business hotels in Sendai. The room is very good and clean, and the bathroom is exceptional. It offers a great view of the city at night; maybe depending on the room you are staying. Well anyway, the staffs are very friendly and would gladly assist you although you must know Japanese language to truly understand them. There are complimentary tea and coffee but they don't provide you with bottled water since water is potable all throughout Japan. One drawback of the hotel is the lack of free wifi inside the rooms. The hotel's restaurant is also a bit pricey. So if you are on a tight budget, you can roam around outside since there are many cheaper but delicious restaurants, izakaya (pub), and coffee shops nearby. There's actually a 7-11 store just right next to the building.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a nice night view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daiflu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ウェスティンホテル仙台TWS, 宿泊部 at The Westin Sendai, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Westin Sendai and for telling other reviewers in detail.

We are glad to hear about good comments for our staff and we are pleased that you enjoyed your time at our hotel. We share your comments among all staff and we work hard to train our teams to ensure they offer the highest levels of service.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The Westin Sendai is situated on the top floors of the tallest building in Sendai, giving awesome views from every room. The lobby and guest room was clean and well designed. The staff were very polite and attentive. It's about an 8 minute walk from the station.

Business travelers need to take note of the wireless internet connection as it's absolutely useless. I was barely able to check mail, but could not get a single website to load. Had I been here on business I'd be in big trouble. It's best you stay elsewhere if you need to work with an online connection.

Another big disappointment for me was the breakfast buffet at Symphony restaurant. I called to confirm there were vegetarian options, and was told there were vegetables and salad available. Unfortunately, almost all dishes contained meat or fish, and the salad even contained bacon! I'd totally recommend it for meat eaters, but NOT vegetarians. The staff here really needs to understand the meaning of vegetarian!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cometdebris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ウェスティンホテル仙台TWS, 宿泊部 at The Westin Sendai, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review about your recent visit to The Westin Sendai.

Thank you very much for your good comments for our staff and the guest room however we must apologize for the inconvenience of internet connection and lack of attention for Vegetarians.
We are looking into the cause of the internet connection at the guest floor right now as its very important issue.
Also we take your comment for sincerely and seriously how it is important to understand about Vegetarian. We share your comments among managements, kitchens and restaurant staffs. We understand that we need to make an immediate action for that and if you could give us another chance to welcoming you, it will be our great pleasure.

We appreciate your bringing this issue to our attention.
Thank you and we look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sendai hotels
Sendai Station
Hotel Metropolitan Sendai
Sendai Station
Hotel Monterey Sendai
Hotel Monterey Sendai
#12 of 133 in Sendai
514 reviews
Sendai Station
Richmond Hotel Premier Sendai Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sendai Royal Park Hotel
#7 of 133 in Sendai
238 reviews
Sendai Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Sendai
Sendai Station
Hotel Monte Hermana Sendai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sendai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sendai

Address: 1-9-1 Ichibancho, Aoba-ku, Sendai 980-0811, Miyagi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Tohoku > Miyagi Prefecture > Sendai > Kotodai Koen Station , Hirose Dori Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 133 Hotels / Ryokan in Sendai
Price Range: $147 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Sendai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 292
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Rakuten, Starwood, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Sendai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing