We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, Friendly, Center of Sendai”
Review of The Westin Sendai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Westin Sendai
Ranked #1 of 129 Hotels / Ryokan in Sendai
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“New, Friendly, Center of Sendai”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a few days, very nice hotel, great view of Sendai from the upper floors. Attentive staff, good breakfast, exactly what a Good Westin should be. The Center of town is a very short taxi ride away, tons of good food very near to the hotel, if you don't feel like eating in.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecameradude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ウェスティンホテル仙台TWS, 宿泊部 at The Westin Sendai, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind words for The Westin Sendai. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality and you felt "a Good Westin should be". We believe that your review will help other visitors.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    155
    19
    7
    7
See reviews for
116
121
73
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Westin is centrally located in Sendai City, close to the main railway station, many restaurants and a lovely shopping mall. The hotel has its reception on the 26th floor and the rooms are on floors above. The rooms are beautifully appointed, extremely large by any standards, and the staff friendly and efficient. The wifi is not free but reasonably priced. The speed was appalling but, on asking reception about it, they installed devices in the rooms that significantly improved the download speed. The hotel was incredibly good value given the quality. However, they make up for the exceptionally good room rate by very high room service charges and slightly steep breakfast charges. However, the breakfast is outstanding and worth the cost. The gym is small but well equipped. The views from the hotel are quite spectacular. Sendai is a lovely clean, interesting, and compact town apparently not often visited by foreigners, especially after the nuclear disaster at Fukushima only about 50km away. The Shinkansen bullet train from Tokyo stops at Fukushima on the way to Sendai. If you stay in Sendai and want an exceptional international hotel, stay at the Westin Sendai..

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front have great views over Sendai City. Rooms on the other side has less spectacu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoffinChemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ウェスティンホテル仙台TWS, 宿泊部 at The Westin Sendai, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review The Westin Sendai and for telling other reviewers in detail. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your time at The Westin Sendai and the city. As you mentioned, Sendai has a nice shopping mall, surrounded by nature, great local foods so we would like to let people know that this is SAFE city to vist even after the disaster.

Again, thank you for your accurate review with your kind words and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding. The hotel is well situated, a few minutes walk from the station. Many places to sit and relax, and the atmosphere is warm and relaxing. The rooms were bigger than I'd expect in Japan.

The wedding catering was out of this world!

Didn't have too much interaction with the staff, though we were surprised that one lady's first suggestion for a quick lunch was a pizza!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonsterCrunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ウェスティンホテル仙台TWS, 宿泊部 at The Westin Sendai, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to review The Westin Sendai and for your very kind words which are appreciated.
We wish if you could stay with us longer and may be next time then enjoy our SYMPHONY restaurant or Japanese ICHIMUAN restaurant as other recommendation.
Thank you once again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aomori, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Westin Sendai is a very nice upscale hotel with amazing views of the city. I typically try to spend less on hotels, but the 21,000円/night I spent was well worth it once I saw the view from my 34th floor room. For me, this was the best aspect of my stay here.

LOCATION: You can see the hotel as soon as you step out of Sendai Station and look west. It's an easy 10-minute walk between the station and the hotel. When I went out exploring for the day, I typically walked to the station and took a bus/train from there, so it was convenient enough for me. There are much closer hotels, but then you sacrifice other things so please decide what's important for you.

HOTEL STAFF: The staff is exactly what you would expect. They were courteous and professional. I personally never needed to ask for assistance, but the gentlemen I spoke with during check-in did have good English language ability. They greet you every time you enter or leave the hotel.

ROOMS: The room I stayed in was fantastic. I've stayed at many hotels in Japan and this was by far the best yet. It was a western-style room; spacious, great bathroom, and excellent view (34th floor, facing east, in my case). I woke up early to watch the sunrise, which was awesome and highly recommended if you're able to do so. It was very clean and comfortable.

RECOMMENDATION: If you have the budget, I absolutely recommend it. Even if you only stay one night, it's worth it for the view (see my room tip below)!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the highest floor possible. And while I'm sure other rooms are great, the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluesky95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ウェスティンホテル仙台TWS, 宿泊部 at The Westin Sendai, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review The Westin Sendai. We share your kind words among all associates.. Your comments gave us great motivation to keep our hospitality to attain high standards of service here at the hotel.
Your accurate and detailed review assists for other reviewers to enjoy The Westin Sendai
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel was last option as all the other hotels seemed booked up. Large room and very large window. Good view although somewhat obstructed from 26th floor. To go to hotel rooms requires taking two elevators with extra walk through reception. Good breakfast although not much better than in a 3* hotel where I stayed before. Very good service but ditto.

The hotel has exercise room but it closes early. It has a spa but at high cost.

Getting anywhere requires walking quite a bit. This is a good hotel to those who want a spacious room with a view, do not explore much on their own, value extra safety (not important in Japan), want to rub shoulders with similar minds, and do not mind paying much more.

Room Tip: As high as possible; 26th floor has obstructions
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank no9e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ウェスティンホテル仙台TWS, 宿泊部 at The Westin Sendai, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Westin Sendai. We share your comment and try to improve our service and breakfasts better than the guest expectation. In regards to our work out gym, we apologize and we think it is a lack of our explanation that is available 24 hours with your room key. Again, thank you for rating The Westin Sendai and we look forward to welcoming you again with better service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW, TX
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here for a few days in August and had a wonderful time! We ate at the breakfast buffet and it was amazing! Such an incredible view over the city with food that was prepared with excellence!

The room was amazing and clean -- definitely an amazing hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsM00re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ウェスティンホテル仙台TWS, 宿泊部 at The Westin Sendai, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review and rating The Westin Sendai with your kind comments. It is a pleasure that you enjoyed and satisfied our hospitality and facilities. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Heard a lot about how polite the Japanese are, but you are the living proof of it all. I fell in love with Japan, Sendai, and Westin. Loved everything about the hotel including the smell, wish I could buy a small bottle of that to remember you always. The room was amazing with that large window and the mountain view, everything is put on something, like the leaf-like soap is put on a leaf-like holder. The toiletry stuff is put on that very Japanese jewelry box... and everything you might need is there. Needless to say how friendly the staff was, all very professional and they manage to smile the whole time! housekeeping ladies didn't speak English but we managed to communicate and their work was flawless. The only bad thing was the lack of a movie channel (except the paid ones) so I had to watch CNN for 10 days and the never changing lunch menu. However, will never forget my days there and took lots of photos of the hotel to make sure of that. Arigato gozaimas for everything.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeeroBigBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ウェスティンホテル仙台TWS, 宿泊部 at The Westin Sendai, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We miss you too.
Thank you very much for your review The Westin Sendai with your kind words. Also thank you for your comments regarding a movie channel and lunch menu. We take your comments sincerely to improve our service for guests from foreign country. We look forward to welcoming you again and Arigato Gozaimasu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sendai hotels
Sendai Station
Hotel Metropolitan Sendai
Sendai Station
Hotel Monterey Sendai
Hotel Monterey Sendai
#10 of 129 in Sendai
494 reviews
Sendai Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Sendai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sendai Station
Richmond Hotel Premier Sendai Ekimae
Sendai Royal Park Hotel
#5 of 129 in Sendai
215 reviews
Sendai Washington Hotel
#11 of 129 in Sendai
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sendai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sendai

Property: The Westin Sendai
Address: 1-9-1 Ichibancho, Aoba-ku, Sendai 980-0811, Miyagi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Tohoku > Miyagi Prefecture > Sendai > Kotodai Koen Station , Hirose Dori Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 129 Hotels / Ryokan in Sendai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Sendai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 292
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Cancelon, Rakuten, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Sendai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing