We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super amazing, authentic experience”
Review of Umami Tasuke

Umami Tasuke
Ranked #5 of 7,342 Restaurants in Sendai
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed February 27, 2019 via mobile

This place is the real deal. Thanks to another reviewer’s picture, I found the front door. I sat at the counter right in front of the grill and watched the action. I was definitely the only non-Japanese, but I was made to feel completely welcome. A vendor/regular was seated next to me and we chatted it up. Good food, great energy. They do have an English menu and one waiter who speaks some English. Loved it and won’t forget the experience.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank tslmgmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 155 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2018

We visited here for dinner around 7:00pm and expected to have to queue because of its Trip Advisor rating but got straight in to the back room. The restaurant wasn't too hard to find but it helped to have a picture on my phone to identify the correct place. It is a typical Japanese restaurant with a warm welcome, an English menu hauled out of a back cupboard and a young waiter that spoke good English. There were three beef tongue sets at ¥1,500, ¥2,100, ¥2,700 and we decided to be safe and go the middle option but the basic set would have been enough. The top set must be a huge serving, the locals all seemed to be ordering the basic set. The four of us enjoyed the meal which more resembled ordinary well done beef on a barbecue rather than the tongue we were used to. It was great washed down with cold beer and the atmosphere was relaxing. There were no other tourists and the restaurant is clearly popular with the locals which is always a good sign. This was a great place to experience one of Sendai's specialties.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GraftonRiverguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2017

Famous place, usually busy, so better have an early lunch or dinner. Basically the menu is the Gyutan Teishoku (around ¥1500 -- depends on the number of gyutans you want), which includes grilled gyutan, rice, pickled cabbage and a soup. Have tried a few gyutan restaurants in town and this one was probably the best! The only "but" is the service, which, due to the crowds, kind of rushes you to eat fast and leave fast.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank leandroinaweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2017

I went for lunch on a weekday. Was seated immediately as there were only two other customers. Ordered the Gyutan A Set (the only difference between the sets is the amount of beef tongues you get.)

-Barley rice: Was fine.

-Pickled napa cabbage: Had a strong soy sauce flavor, but was fine eaten along with the beef tongue.

-Beef tongue: What you'd expect: meaty beef flavor with a texture unique to the tongue and grilled well.

-Oxtail Soup: Simple and elegant flavor. Warms the soul.

Overall, food was fine.

Would I go back? No. This place didn't particuarly impress me, got what I expected. Need more experience tasting various beef tongues from other restaurants.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eat-Ate-Type
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2015

A little hard to find, as there is no English signage. The map here on Tripadvisor is accurate so when you find the right street/alley just ask anyone, it is well known.

Date of visit: July 2015
1  Thank travelling2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umami Tasuke also viewed

Sendai, Miyagi Prefecture
Sendai, Miyagi Prefecture
 
Sendai, Miyagi Prefecture
 
Sendai, Miyagi Prefecture
Sendai, Miyagi Prefecture
 

Been to Umami Tasuke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing