We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Richmond Hotel Premier Sendai Ekimae
Ranked #3 of 129 Hotels / Ryokan in Sendai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Location is fantastic. Eateries, shopping and public transportation are just 10 minutes walk away.
Room is clean and spacious. For a single room, I was allocated a very comfortable Queen sized bed.
Price is affordable, in fact cheap for the quality of the room I was given.
Maybe they were having a promo, but I reserved my room via Internet.
I have no complaints or whatsoever with my choice. I will most definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for affordable and quality accommodation in Sendai downtown.

Room Tip: Look at the reviews.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bakatori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
There are newer reviews for Richmond Hotel Premier Sendai Ekimae
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 540 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed here for one night, if like me you have a lot of luggage, this might be a tad far from the station. The rooms are very nice but my room faced the street and the incessant noise from the traffic light (talking robot) soon drove me to absolute distraction, so ask for a room away from the traffic lights. The bed was extremely comfortable,I slept very well and the bathroom was very nice. I think the service at the front desk was superb, there is an automated machine for payment at reception, you pay when you arrive but this saves a checkout at the end, if you have an early train. I cannot comment on the breakfast as I gave it a miss.The Hotel reception is situated on the 5th floor over a bank but just look towards the rooftops to find it from the station - take the exit to the right of the building with Loft in it.
I recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Standard business hotel. Comfortable, stylish room. They were able to accommodate me when I arrived one night early. However, the rate for this extra night was double the price and I had to stay in a smoking room for the night--which was very, very saturated in smoke. I opened the window, but found it hard to stay in the room, as I am sensitive to smoke. Was able to move to a non-smoking room the next morning. Staff are a tad too formal and, while smiling, seem insincere. The complimentary breakfast is simple and western--with fresh pastry, cereal and yogurt. Disappointed there weren't any Japanese choices! English newspapers in the lobby for sale (Daily Yomiyuri Japan Times). It is in a great location--steps from the main station. Lots to see and do in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank punkscholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in February. As many say, the location is handy. This is a clean and convenient metro hotel a block from front entrance to the station. Entry takes you directly to elevator, where the 5th floor is the first (and only) choice. To go higher, you need to feed a card key into a reader. This keeps anyone from street from reaching your floor, a good idea.

Nice place. Richmond must have made a study of what the traveling business customer wants, and the offerings were a degree nicer than what you can expect in more standard business quarters. Roughly equivalent in class to a nice, new Hampton Inn in the U.S. Free breakfast. Lobby is not what I'd call spacious, but comfortable and friendly. Lots of newspapers, with copies of Japan Times for English speakers.

Room was cozy. If you're a foreigner, you might prefer the word 'small.' But new and convenient for one person. Two people might find themselves bumping into each other a lot in the room -- but I saw many Japanese couples there, so people seem to handle the tight quarters. (I was only foreigner.) Saw one family with a child. Just one. I'd seek out a more spacious place for a family.

Bed was fine. I only heard some soft sounds from a neighbor room for a brief period as a happy couple apparently celebrated an intimate holiday. And I heard that only because it was late and otherwise so quiet. Not a problem.

Breakfast was OK. Best part were the warm breads and small pastries. They heat them up on the spot, so keep an eye on when the tray comes out of the oven. There were three or four workers handling the service, so no waiting. Place was spotless.

People at front desk were positively friendly and spoke enough English to help foreign guests. They sent me off for dinner in direction of a bunch of izakaya. The housekeepers were unusually friendly, too.

On a weekend, the place was well occupied but not crowded. Lots of young couples. I met one cello player who apparently was performing with a quartet or symphony.

This is a warm and friendly place for people traveling or staying alone. It's a step down from the Metropolitan Hotel and the Westin and a few other large, full-service hotels near the station. But for my needs, I rather enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeekingGoodService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

The location is wonderful, placed almost in front of Aoba Dori station (JR Senseki Line). When you travel to Matsushima (the three best view in Japan), you can ride a train from Aoba Dori Station, and directly can go to Matsushima Kaigan Dori station (30mnts, 400yen one way), then can get on sightseeing boat (need reservation).
Also it has an easy access to dine out in the city center or to Sendai station.
Richmond premiere is not an elegant city hotel such as intercontinental or Westin, Hyatt, but among business hotels, but deserve much more than the price, and I can understand why it ranks highest in customer satisfaction in the ¥9,000 to Less than ¥15,000 per night segment at Japan Hotel Guest Satisfaction Index Study.
It offers wonderful Western style breakfast (fresh and healthy), high quality bed and pillows, efficiency (free internet connection both wired and Wi-Fi, many electrical outlets/ power source) , and hotel staffs very professional and helping.
If I add one thing to be mentioned, they should write about that the hotel is on the WEST exit of Sendai station. Sendai station has two exits: east and west.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deartravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

At the end of 2 weeks in Japan staying at modest, well-appointed 3 star hotels we decided to splurge for our last night and stay at the Richmond in Sendai. According to Rakuten (which I am aware is rated by customers) this is a 5 star hotel, but it was in no way superior to the other places we stayed on our trip and in many ways it lacked by comparison. It cost as much as where we stayed in the centre of Ginza! The service was next to non-existant, and the room was tiny!!! On checkin we had to talk to the receptionists, confirm our booking and then walk over to an automated checkin machine adjacent to the desk. This was simply bizarre, and seemed to serve the purpose only of trying out a new gadget, unless the staff here were particularly offended by handling cash?
Although the hotel offers baby cots, there was no way we could fit the cot in to our room without causing a fire exit hazard. The room was by far the smallest I have ever stayed in, and I have stayed in many hotels in Japan. The bed was pushed against the wall and this left less than 1 metre between the other wall and the other side of the bed. The foot of the bed was cluttered with furniture, and in general the effect was claustrophobic. Noise from the street below, including the incessant beeping of the traffic lights, was high, especially considering we were on the 10th floor.
On the plus side, the complimentary breakfast was very pleasant, although again it was not staffed. It seemed as if this hotel was doing all it could to not offer service to guests.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank charlyandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 高層階の方が外の騒音が聞こえにくくなる気がする。
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazmi777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
プレミア仙台駅前 リ, 支配人 at Richmond Hotel Premier Sendai Ekimae, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sendai hotels
Sendai Station
Hotel Metropolitan Sendai
Sendai Station
Richmond Hotel Sendai
Richmond Hotel Sendai
#7 of 129 in Sendai
638 reviews
Kotodai Koen Station
The Westin Sendai
The Westin Sendai
#1 of 129 in Sendai
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sendai Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Sendai
Sendai Station
Hotel Monterey Sendai
Hotel Monterey Sendai
#11 of 129 in Sendai
497 reviews
Sendai Washington Hotel
#8 of 129 in Sendai
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel Premier Sendai Ekimae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel Premier Sendai Ekimae

Address: 2-1-1 Chuo, Aoba-ku | 5F, Sendai Toho Building, Sendai 980-0021, Miyagi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Tohoku > Miyagi Prefecture > Sendai > Sendai Station , Hirose Dori Station
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 129 Hotels / Ryokan in Sendai
Price Range: $83 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Hotel Premier Sendai Ekimae 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Rakuten and Booking.com so you can book your Richmond Hotel Premier Sendai Ekimae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing