We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveler rating
76
139
34
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
76
139
34
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free ramen free onsen vending machine great onsen smoking room ice cream sendai station laundry bath floor lobby
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 256 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2018

Busy hotel near Sendai Station, with restaurants all within doorsteps. Check in is on the 3rd floor, was smooth and fast, room was clean. Apart from Onsen and evening free ramen, there is a also a lounge providing complimentary drinks, snacks and ice-cream from 5 -9pm, all on the 3rd foor. Breakfast is a little different from other Dormy Inns. A breakfast set was given with free flow of bread with ham, sausages, eggs etc. Soup is also replenishable. Parking is first come first serve basis. Overall good value and recommended

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank madbirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2018

very helpful service, good room, very private place/entry etc, great onsen / spa, free laundry services - great when travelling a lot, solid restaurant and bar, complimentary late night soup was great idea. super convenient location to transport etc.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank skandle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aobanoyu, フロント at Dormy Inn Sendai Annex, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Thank you for staying with us this time. We looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

As all Dormy inns, good value for money. Small room with small double bed. Hotel is dated but clean, next to a shopping arcade. There is a row of beef tongue restaurant close by so it's quite unique to be in the out doors onsen with the smell of grilled beef tongue. Breakfast is simple but adequate. A short 5-8 minute walk from the Sendai station.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank susanfS5266OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aobanoyu, フロント at Dormy Inn Sendai Annex, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Thank you for staying with us this time. We looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2018

I have stayed at quite a few Dormy Inns, but this is my favourite so far. My room was quite big by solo traveller standards - it had 2 double beds and a couple would have been happy in this room - I think there are a few of these on each floor. The Inn had a classy feel and the staff were all very nice. After 5pm you can get free drinks in the restaurant area. And free icecream. A had a nice Japanese whiskey and the an icecream - why - because I could! There is free ramen after 9.30 too. The onsen was particularly nice. Allow 15 minutes walk from the station and 5 minutes to get your bearings. There are lots of good places to eat in easy walking distance and there are so many shops nearby. Definitely recommended.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AndyandCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aobanoyu, フロント at Dormy Inn Sendai Annex, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Thank you for staying with us this time. We looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2017

1) Hotel staff broke my luggage handle, and refused to apologise.

We left our luggage with the hotel briefly after check out. We returned to luggage with a broken handle. When we questioned what happened and how the handle broke, the staff insisted it was not their fault, claiming that they only handled the luggage by carrying it on the sides - which is impossible without any grip). The English speaking staff said that we could claim our loss via insurance. It was appalling that their first resort was not an apology, but rudely dismissing us with saying we should look to insurance.

It was only when I said I did not want compensation and all I wanted was an apology, did they admit they broke it and apologised for "their poor attitude".

2) Onsen is too hot even for Japanese standards.

First, the temperature of their outdoor onsen is way too high. After staying in ryokans in Tohoku for a week, we could tell this onsen was distinctly different. In a bad way. Even the locals did not submerge their bodies in and stay in the onsen for longer than 5 minutes.

The outdoor onsen is fenced up so don't expect to get any scenic views. Very small onsen. 3 people can barely fit in comfortably.

The robes (not yukata) they gave us were itchy and uncomfortable. Would recommend wearing your own clothes to the onsen.

Would never stay here again. There are comparable hotels at lower prices. Do better. Keep your luggage intact.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Doralyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews