We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveler rating
42
100
35
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
42
100
35
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel lobby short stay new wing breakfast buffet names english station
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 186 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2018

Best thing is the location but the room is so tiny. I travelled with a small roller bag and it was a challenge in terms of where to put it in the room! The rates were high in terms of what was provided.

There’s an excellent yakitori place worth visiting. Good food, very pleasant staff and ambiance (pleasant jazz music in the background). It’s a small place run by the male chef and 3-4 young staff - all helpful and obliging. They have an English menu so you can be assured you don’t eat something you don’t like. I’ve stayed away from yakitori places for years because it’s like Russian roulette not being able to read the Japanese menu. Also at this place you don’t walk out smelling of your dinner. Good sake selection available.
How to find this gem: from the hotel lobby, turn left and walk towards Daiso. Across from Daiso you’ll see a huge Korean restaurant. This lovely yakitori place is next to the Korean place. Has white lanterns on the outside.
A good alternative to all the seafood.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank birdcagewalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2018

I stayed at the Metropolitan Morioka Hotel recently as part of a ski trip. We arrived at Morioka station and there were several signs directing us to the hotel so it was easy to find. We entered the main lobby to check-in but our rooms were in the "New Wing" which was about 150 meters further up the road. Check-in was very straightforward as our names were already in the system and it was just a matter of being given the keys. the Wifi was good, the room was clean and comfortable and had everything I needed for a short stay. If you wanted to explore the city of Morioka I think this would be a good base to venture from. There appeared to be restaurants around and if I had not been moving on the following morning I would have been happy to spend several days at the hotel and explore the area. Based on my, albeit limited, experience, any traveler is unlikely to be badly disappointed

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rl_1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2017

This hotel has the perfect location as it can be reached by walking directly from the JR Morioka station without going outside, which was most appreciated on a rainy day! Another great feature is that the hotel is signposted from inside the JR station, so you cannot get lost.

Stayed for 2 nights and the room was very satisfactory. Larger than a typical Tokyo room. Bathroom facilities were very good and clean. Beds were firm but comfortable and there is free wifi. There is a convenience store next to the hotel lobby.

You can catch the local loop bus (denden mushi) from outside the hotel for 100 yen, which is a great way to see the sights of Morioka. There is a short 10 min walk to an odori shopping street which has many restaurants and places to try one of the local noodle specialties - jajamen.

Overall, a great base to explore the city from.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2016

Directly connected to JR Morioka Station (via a department store), Metropolitan is in a perfect location transport-wise. Single room is on the small side but normal in Japanese business hotels. Service is efficient and friendly, lots of restaurants in and around the station. There's also a convenience store next to the front desk area. Slightly more expensive than a few hotels nearby, eg Toyoko Inn, but well worth it IMHO.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A8889VSjessicah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2016 via mobile

Good location connected to main train station.
At least one English speaking staff.
Motorcycle parking.
Convenience store attached.
Lots of restaurants nearby.

Bit bigger and slightly better appointed than typical business hotel (i.e. 2 pillows, few more washroom amenities).

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Greg893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews