We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice & new hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Richmond Hotel Aomori
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels / Ryokan in Aomori
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very nice & new hotel”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Booked during Hirosaki Cherry Blossom Festival so the rate was a bit expensive. Although the hotel is not far but as most tourist spots are around or nearby the train station, so we had to use taxi from/to the hotel to every place.
We stayed in the Hollywood Room which was very nice and spacious. Breakfast was adequate and simple. All the staffs were friendly, very helpful and could communicate well in English. We were unlucky to have the Chinese Tourist groups stay during the same period, so no need to mention the public restrooms near the breakfast room!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittyjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rnt_aomori, 支配人 at Richmond Hotel Aomori, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
This time, thank you for staying with Richmond Hotel Aomori.
The location of our hotel is a little far from Aomori Station as you say.
When you came to our hotel, we were sorry for troubling you.

However, we have words of praise about room, staff and feel it to be very thankful.

Except for Cherry Blossom Festival, there are the festival and the event every four seasons in Aomori.

If you come to our hotel again, we recommend the bus which can go round the sightseeing spots.

We are looking forward to your next visit.
Thank you very much for contribution, while you’re busy.


With best regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    155
    34
    11
    1
See reviews for
107
79
106
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a 15-min walk from the Aomori train station. However, the walk is very pleasant as you will pass by a lot of shops and restaurants.

The size of the room is spacious compared to the average double Japanese hotel rooms.

On arrival, we were offered some samples of facial masks, cleansing lotion and facial essence at the check-in counter. The wifi in the room was fast which helped us to plan the day excursion on the next day.

In short, this is hotel of great value.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady-capricorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rnt_aomori, 支配人 at Richmond Hotel Aomori, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you for your stay and I really appreciate such a wonderful comment.
We are so glad that you had enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Our hotel has the plan for lady. In the plan, there is facial sauna and a bathrobe.
And, you can select a bath salt with some flavors when you check in.
If you like, would you like to select this plan?
We will wait for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We booked this hotel for a five night stay in Aomori because there was an offer on for room rates. The website was very easy to navigate. Being used to hotels in the UK, I was surprised that we did not have to pay a deposit, but everything worked out fine. Communication from the hotel staff in the lead up to our arrival was very clear and helpful. On arrival we were greeted by very professional and friendly staff who explained the machine check in system, prepared our room key cards and presented me with a gift of hair and skincare products, which were lovely. The room was large and comfortable, with a good view across the East of the city towards to waterfront. The room facilities (kettle, hairdryer, TV, internet, etc) were excellent. Although not located immediately close to the station, Aomori is a walkable city and it did not take long to walk between the hotel and shopping areas or visitor attractions. There are lots of bars and restaurants close to the hotel, as well as a restaurant in the hotel and a branch of Tony Roma's in the same building. We chose to eat at restaurants in town, so can't comment on those at the hotel. The bakery and Lawson convenience store on the ground floor are also very useful. I would definitely stay at the Richmond Hotel Aomori again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rnt_aomori, 支配人 at Richmond Hotel Aomori, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
This time, thank you for staying with Richmond Hotel Aomori.

I have words of praise about room, staff, facilities, and feel it to be very thankful.
I read the contents which had you contribute it, and all the staff is relieved in the state that was able to relax in a room.

I will try to be able to spend it comfortably every day, when it will be available in future.
When you stay at our hotel on the next time, we introduce wonderful bars and restaurants.

We look forward to your next visit.
This time, I have you contribute it while you’re busy and really appreciate you.


With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I don't usually post reviews (no interest) but thought this one deserved a review since it could use a few more.
Using mobile device, pardon typos & briefness.
Abt me: > 35 yo Female, usually stay @ Hilton hotels

For the price & experience, I would definitely stay here again

Cons: Not many (& minor)
A 15 to 20 min walk from the Aomori station (Not to be confused w/ the Shin-Aomori station if arriving via Shinkansen) - go out East Exit, on other side of the buses is Shinmachi Street (also called Amenity street, covered sidewalk on both sides), walk to end of Amenity Street, turn Rt onto Yanagimachi Road, walk 2 blocks, on Rt
No safe in the room
Laundry on 6th Floor - wash & dry in same machine, no need to add detergent (automatically added) - I chose to wash & dry separately, could not figure out how to pick warmer drier heat setting, Low heat took 4 sessions to dry my clothes (small load, 30 min each time)

Did not take the taxi
Check-in is on the 5th floor - need keycard to access other floors
My room faced the main street (Yanagimachi) & had a good view of the mountain range & bay
Free wi-fi in-room, ok for basic web-browsing
Amenities: slippers, nightgown, mini fridge, hot waterpot, shampoo, conditioner, bodywash, hand/face soap, toothbrush, combs, razors, Q-tips.
Japanese business hotel - predominantly male, saw very few tourists or foreigners, wld not recommed for families w/ small children (even though they had some options for kids)
All staff members spoke (broken) English. All friendly, helpful & courteous.
Convenience store next door
Room was a very good size (2 beds) - New or very well maintained hotel, bathroom was not large but a good size
If you want good Japanese curry, try CoCo Curryhouse - by the station, where Amenity St starts, on the left
The area around Aomori station & the hotel is 'quiet' compared to other larger cities, easily walkable, flat terrain, look out for bicyclists on the sidewalk
Bakery downstairs, a few restaurants on-sight/in the building, 5 to 10 min walk to other restaurants
Instructions for things in English in the room
Bkfst was 1100¥ - Japanese bkfst, Not Western, many different dishes, good flavors

General Japan tips:
CASH, CASH, CASH (only some places take credit card, or it may not work, be sure to notify CC company of travel) - best bet for ATMs are at 7elevens (others are hard to find & prob won't take your card)
You will accummulate many coins, most machines take 1000¥ bills.
Restrooms are generally clean, most public ones have 'Western' seats but also squat ones - however, many do NOT provide soap or papertowels/hand-driers (can carry a small towel or buy a souvenir handkerchief during your trip, I carry soap sheets).
Luggage forwarding service (via Yamato/Kuro Neko ('Black Cat') if you are travelling between cities, biggest delivery company in Japan, like FedEx/UPS), abt $14 to $20 per piece

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kinoandhermes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rnt_aomori, 支配人 at Richmond Hotel Aomori, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you kindly for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Unfortunately, we do not have a safe in the room.
However, we do take pride providing a safe and secure room.
If there is anything which requires further security them, we would be happy to hold it at the front desk.

We do hope you choose Richmond hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I stayed for just 1 night in Aomori, this hotel was a great place to stay. The property is very new, the staff very helpful and took time to explain the check in process (self service kiosk).

I had a single room, I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room and the bed. The room also included multiple pillow options and the bed was very comfortable.

Highly recommend this place if you stay in Aomori

Just one tip, if you arrive to Aomori by train, I suggest getting a taxi to the hotel, it is a little far to walk with luggage.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rnt_aomori, 支配人 at Richmond Hotel Aomori, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
This time, thank you for staying with Richmond Hotel Aomori.
The location of our hotel is a little far from Aomori Station as you say.
When you came to our hotel from Aomori Station, I was sorry for troubling you.

However, I have words of praise about room, staff and feel it to be very thankful.
I read the contents which had you contribute it, and all the staff is relieved in the state that was able to relax in a room.

I will try to be able to spend it comfortably every day, if it will be available in future.
If you have any questions, please order it willingly to the front desk what it is.

We look forward to your next visit.
This time, I have you contribute it while you’re busy and really appreciate you.


With best regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Conveniently located about a 15 minute walk from Aomori station, the Richmond Hotel is a great place to stay offering excellent value for money.
Room was spotlessly clean, very comfortable, quiet and had good free wi-fi. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was excellent with good selection of western and Japanese foods - just what I needed before taking a day return trip to Hakodate with lots of walking around the sights there. My early morning departure after second night to catch the first Hayabusa Shinkansen to Tokyo unfortunately meant I missed out on breakfast :-(
There are plenty of good places to eat at the hotel or nearby: the Lawson convenience store downstairs is handy for snacks and drinks, while the bakery offers a great selection at good prices, especially as remaining stock is cleared before closing time at 7 pm.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rnt_aomori, 支配人 at Richmond Hotel Aomori, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
And thank you for your good evaluation on us.
We are so happy to hear that you liked our hotel!

How was your trip around Aomori and Hokkaido?
I hope you could be spend great and wonderful time on the trip.
We want to assist you to make your time in Aomori very nice.
In this season, Aomori has so heavy snow and very cold, so almost guests are hard to go outside to have dinner in evening.
So we have the original dinner ticket that could be used only our hotel’s guests at the restaurant on the 2nd floor in the same building.
Of course, we could suggest the recommendation restaurant around our hotel too.
And we have the information about the famous sight-seeing areas, the special event and other thing around here, so if you have chance to come to Aomori and stay with us, please feel free to contact us!
We are looking forward to seeing you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanfair Dyffryn Clwyd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Arriving on a cold,coming up from the south of Japan,Friday we walked down to our hotel for the weekend.Presently surprised to find most of the journey under a covered walkway.
The Richmond hotel is above offices and shops ,restaurants and starts on the fifth floor.
The reception awaiting us was professional and warm.The reception area had a hearth for an effect fire and was bright and open.We asked for a quiet room on a higher floor and was given just that only with a corner view of the bay.beautiful views of the snow storms sweeping in.The room is large,well appointed and covers all the basic needs of travellers sheltering from the cold up here.
Even though it's a bit further than some other hotels don't hesitate to book here ,it looks the best option in Aomori and probably is.By the way ,this trip was in early April -14 with wind chill,that day.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rnt_aomori, 支配人 at Richmond Hotel Aomori, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback.
We are always happy to hear positive reviews at Richmond hotel.
We hope you will come back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aomori hotels
Aomori Station
Hotel JAL City Aomori
Hotel JAL City Aomori
#2 of 50 in Aomori
441 reviews
Aomori Station
Hotel Sunroute Aomori
Hotel Sunroute Aomori
#8 of 50 in Aomori
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Hotel Color Aomori
#6 of 50 in Aomori
112 reviews
Aomori Washington Hotel
#16 of 50 in Aomori
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel Aomori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel Aomori

Property: Richmond Hotel Aomori
Address: 1-6-6 Nagashima, Aomori 030-0861, Aomori Prefecture
Location: Japan > Tohoku > Aomori Prefecture > Aomori > Aomori Station
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels / Ryokan in Aomori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Hotel Aomori 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Fastbooking and Priceline so you can book your Richmond Hotel Aomori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing