We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wintery weekend in Aomori”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Richmond Hotel Aomori
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels / Ryokan in Aomori
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Arriving on a cold,coming up from the south of Japan,Friday we walked down to our hotel for the weekend.Presently surprised to find most of the journey under a covered walkway.
The Richmond hotel is above offices and shops ,restaurants and starts on the fifth floor.
The reception awaiting us was professional and warm.The reception area had a hearth for an effect fire and was bright and open.We asked for a quiet room on a higher floor and was given just that only with a corner view of the bay.beautiful views of the snow storms sweeping in.The room is large,well appointed and covers all the basic needs of travellers sheltering from the cold up here.
Even though it's a bit further than some other hotels don't hesitate to book here ,it looks the best option in Aomori and probably is.By the way ,this trip was in early April -14 with wind chill,that day.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rnt_aomori, 支配人 at Richmond Hotel Aomori, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for your kind feedback.
We are always happy to hear positive reviews at Richmond hotel.
We hope you will come back to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 482 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stopped in Aomori on our way to Hokkaido for the snow festival and stayed for one night at the Richmond Hotel. The service here was excellent and we got free wifi in our room.
Our room was quite simple but it was clean and spacious as far as hotels we had stayed in so far had gone. The price of the hotel was extremely reasonable at only 10,000 yen (about $100 AUD) for the both of us.
Unfortunately we didn't get the opportunity to experience all of the hotels services but I would definitely stay here again if by chance we come to Aomori again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndiaDwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rnt_aomori, 支配人 at Richmond Hotel Aomori, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you for your feedback.
And thank you for your good evaluation on us.
We are so happy to hear that you liked our hotel!

How was your trip around Aomori and Hokkaido?
I hope you could be spend great and wonderful time on the trip.
We want to assist you to make your time in Aomori very nice.
In this season, Aomori has so heavy snow and very cold, so almost guests are hard to go outside to have dinner in evening.
So we have the original dinner ticket that could be used only our hotel’s guests at the restaurant on the 2nd floor in the same building.
Of course, we could suggest the recommendation restaurant around our hotel too.
And we have the information about the famous sight-seeing areas, the special event and other thing around here, so if you have chance to come to Aomori and stay with us, please feel free to contact us!
We are looking forward to seeing you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on valentines day, a one night stopover on our way to hokkaido. We were very tired so didn't see any of Aomori other than the Richmond hotel. Taxi from train station was approx 950 yen.
Standard Room was very small but served its purpose. Had everything needed. Comfortable bed and very comfortable (buckwheat?) pillows.
Bathroom was spotlessly clean.
Staff were very courteous, I wanted to practice my Japanese on them but the gentleman at checkin was keen to practice his English with me, he did well.
We at at Tony Roma's that night which was great (see my restaurant review) and had the hotels buffet breakfast in the morning. breakfast was quite japanese with lots of seafood but I enjoyed it.
If you get a chance try the bread shop downstairs, it looked delicious.
I'd like to make the time to get back to Aomori.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rnt_aomori, 支配人 at Richmond Hotel Aomori, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you for your stay and I really appreciate such a wonderful comment. I’m so glad that you had enjoyed your stay in Aomori. I’m sorry that I had explained your stay with my poor English. Aomori has many Wonderful points(foods,events,etc). So I will study and brush my English skill more and guide you Aomori! I will be waiting for your next coming. Spring will come soon and the season of hay fever is coming. Please take good care of yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in Feb 2014. Rooms were comfortable, clean and staff were helpful and friendly. It was a 15min walk from the JR station and we walked through the "Amenity Street" to arrive at the hotel. There is a bread shop and Lawson convenience store just below the hotel which was great. Food outlets aplenty all within walking distance. Overall, a great stay at this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geneveive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rnt_aomori, 支配人 at Richmond Hotel Aomori, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you for your feedback.
As you mentioned.
We have Lawson convenience store open 24 hours down stairs,massage salon,
and restaurants in the hotel building.
If you liked the bakery, you can also have their breads for breakfast as one of hotel's
buffet menu.
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay here.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

It takes about 15 min. from Aomori sta. on foot but you just take a taxi if you have a heavy suitcase. Hotel room is very nice and hospitality is also excellent. Convenicen store and restaurants are in the same bulding.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taviTaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rnt_aomori, 支配人 at Richmond Hotel Aomori, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear guest

Thank you very much for writing a review about our hotel. We are pleased you had a nice time with us.
We recommend taking a taxi to get the hotel if you have heavy luggage. We know it can be difficult walking in snow carrying cases.

We are looking forward to seeing you again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Jan 2014 - happy overnight stay at Richmond Hotel, Aomori. Check-in was very friendly and efficient; room (cleanliness, furnishings, outlets, size) was more than sufficient and very comfortable for solo traveler. Breakfast was well worth the price (approx. USD $9) for its bounty and variety.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rnt_aomori, 支配人 at Richmond Hotel Aomori, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear guest

Thank you very much for writing a review about our hotel. We are pleased you had a lovely time with us.
We wish all guests enjoy the taste of Aomori at breakfast. The breakfast pass was revised as of 1st February(\980→\1100).
However, there are more variety of foods after the revision.
We hope you enjoyed your time in Aomori.
We are looking forward to seeing you again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This hotel was a just in time booking directly with the Hotel as we could not find another hotel that met our family requirements in Aomori at this time of year. We found it to be beyond our expectations ( not that high as we had just come from a first class ryokan hotel in kyoto...) Allow at least three days in Aomori to see the sights more if you want to explore the surrounds.

Room Tip: The maid service is very good so use the clean up time door note to make sure the room is cleaned r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rnt_aomori, 支配人 at Richmond Hotel Aomori, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thank you for your feedback!
And thank you for your good evaluation on us.
We are so happy to hear that you liked our hotel.

There are many sights just around our hotel in aomori city, so if you can go to other cities in aomori prefecture by train or car, you will be able to visit more beautiful and traditional spot.
We can propose famous location and how to get there anytime.
So when you stay with us again, please feel free to contact us!
We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aomori hotels
Aomori Station
Hotel JAL City Aomori
Hotel JAL City Aomori
#2 of 51 in Aomori
490 reviews
Aomori Washington Hotel
#18 of 51 in Aomori
94 reviews
Art Hotel Color Aomori
#11 of 51 in Aomori
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aomori Station
Hotel Sunroute Aomori
Hotel Sunroute Aomori
#7 of 51 in Aomori
158 reviews
Aomori Station
Hotel Route Inn Aomori Ekimae
Aomori Station
Hyper Hotels Passage
Hyper Hotels Passage
#4 of 51 in Aomori
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel Aomori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel Aomori

Address: 1-6-6 Nagashima, Aomori 030-0861, Aomori Prefecture
Location: Japan > Tohoku > Aomori Prefecture > Aomori > Aomori Station
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels / Ryokan in Aomori
Price Range: $57 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Hotel Aomori 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, Priceline, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Richmond Hotel Aomori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing