We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Larger than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Richmond Hotel Aomori
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels / Ryokan in Aomori
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Larger than expected”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My family of 4 stayed in the family room which was much bigger than we expected! There were 4 single beds but room didn't look a bit packed at all. There was even a small walkway before the beds. All amenities like shampoo, body foam and towels were provided. The reception also gave us some hair/skin care items and a 10% discount for restaurants next to the hotel (we used it on Tony Roma). Lawson nearby as well. Mountain view. Only bad thing is it's far away (20min) from the Aomori JR Station

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chemislove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rnt_aomori, 支配人 at Richmond Hotel Aomori, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your time writing us a feedback!
We are happy to hear that you and your family liked your room and amenities.
As you mentioned, it does take about 15-20min from the Aomori JR Station, and we are sorry for the inconvenience.
If you wish, you may send your laggages before arrival and we would keep it untill check in (so that you do not need to carry heavy laggage all the way to the hotel...!).
We hope you enjoy variety of shops on the sides of street from Aomori Station.
We are looking forward to seeing you again here in Aomori !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    154
    34
    11
    1
See reviews for
107
78
106
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Monaco
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I think it has already been said, almost new hotel in pristine condition, with reasonable size compact rooms but well well set up. Took a taxi, about 5 minutes from Aomori JR station and was welcomed warmly by the staff. Was delighted that coin laundry was available on the 6th floor which enabled us to take care of laundry, easily and reasonably priced. Lan and wifi throughout the hotel was free and speedy what a bonus compared with other countries. Breakfast was mainly Japanese orientated but buffet was quite acceptable in both variety and quantity. Would definitely stay there again and no hesitation to recommend. Also Lawson and fresh bakery in the same hotel building on the street with internal entrance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rnt_aomori, 支配人 at Richmond Hotel Aomori, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback!
We are so happy to hear that you liked our hotel.
We provide Aomori's specialty goods such as Japanese scallop and apple juice as breakfast.
So we wish all guests could enjoy the "taste"of Aomori city at breakfast.
Around our hotel too, There are various type of restaurant ( American food, Chinese food, and of course, Japanese food too.), so if you look for some eating place around Richmond Hotel, please feel free to contact us.
We hope you enjoyed Aomori city, so we want to help to your comfortable staying!
Hope we will see you soon in Aomori.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We spent two nights here and it was by far the most comfortable room and bedding I have experienced in Japan to date.
The location is a little far from the JR station to walk to with luggage but close enough to the main shopping street and restaurant area.
Despite a misunderstanding with the English version of the hotel's online booking engine and the non-ability to request non-smoking rooms, the duty manager (who spoke excellent English) agreed to charge us the original price we were quoted. The Wi-Fi service is also excellent and seems to be an increasing trend in hotels in Japan.
I would very much recommend this as a comfortable hotel to stay at in Aomori.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaschmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rnt_aomori, 支配人 at Richmond Hotel Aomori, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your time writing us a feedback!
We are sorry that we could not prepare a non-smoking double room which you originally intended to book for.
However, we feel relieved to hear that you enjoyed staying at Hollywood Twin room we offered for a replacement. We have also added a word ‘Non-Smoking’ to all non-smoking rooms’ room type name on our website to avoid confusion.
Thank you so much for your advice.
We are looking forward to seeing you again at Richmond Hotel Aomori !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel one night with a large group of friends from Australia and we've had a great time. The rooms are big, clean and they offer you everything you could possibly want. Rich breakfast, with international and Japanese food. Close proximity to train station and commercial area. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudietta_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rnt_aomori, 支配人 at Richmond Hotel Aomori, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
We are so happy to hear that you had good time in our hotel with your friends.
Our hotel is located about 15minute away from train station, and 5minute from restaurants which serve good local foods.
We also have several souvenir shops within walking distance.
Hope we will see you again here in Aomori !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu County, Taiwan
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We spent two nights there and the whole family enjoyed the stay a lot. Excellent service, spacious room (and bath room), rich breakfast! They provided kids' amenity when we arrived to make our kids happy (each of them got a small bag of gifts!) and kids can check out books to read in the room from the lobby. The hotel personals are very helpful too!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Y_F_Tsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rnt_aomori, 支配人 at Richmond Hotel Aomori, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your time writing us a feedback!
We are so happy to hear that you and your family liked our guest room and breakfast.
Apart from free kids’ gifts and book rental service, you can also get theater card for JPY 1000 to enjoy varieties of movies including several kids’ programs in your own guest room, if you are interested.
We hope to see you and your family soon here in Aomori!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misawa, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This was the second time staying at the Richmond in Aomori. Both times were absolutely fantastic. Extremely clean and the staff was professional and very courteous. The parking garage is really nice and convenient. The hotel is within walking distance of good shopping, restaurants/coffee shops, and tourist attractions. The room had high speed wireless internet that was way faster than what I get at home (around 1.1 mb per sec). The hotel has a Tony Roma's restaurant, and a Lawson's convenience store which was great for getting late night snacks/drinks. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KYFHO69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rnt_aomori, 支配人 at Richmond Hotel Aomori, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your second stay at Richmond Hotel Aomori.
Tony Roma’s restaurant on second floor is quite popular through out the year. (even there are gests who come and stay at our hotel only for the meal at Tony Roma’s )
If you are interested, please try other restaurants as well ! (Japanese restaurant and a café)
Hope we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The Richmond Aomori is exactly what you expect if you have stayed at other Richmond hotels which is a good thing. Clean, tidy and a modern look about it, simple check and and check out procedure and a nice breakfast buffet which is more Japanese style. Free Wifi at decent speeds is available throughout the hotel and rooms. The standard moderate double rooms are on the small side but you still have a queen size bed to make things comfortable.

The staff have basic or limited English(can't assume all Japanese speak English after all) but we had no issues checking in and the payment machines all have English menu options. If you have stayed at a Richmond before, the check-in/out procedure is exactly the same which should make the process smoother.

The only negatives is that it is a good 10-15minute walk from Aomori train station, but the walk to the hotel takes you straight down the main "amenity" street and is mostly undercover so not as bad as it seems and a short taxi ride could assist those who have heavier luggage.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rnt_aomori, 支配人 at Richmond Hotel Aomori, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
We are so happy that you seem to have stayed at Richmond Hotels before, and that you enjoyed your stay this time in Aomori too.

Other than Moderate double room, we also have Comfort double room with Queen-size bed in slightly bigger room, or the Twin beds room if you would like to try bigger rooms.

As you mentioned, our hotel is located about 15min far from Aomori Station (5min by taxi). If you have time to walk, Nebuta Museum and Aomori’s land mark “Aspam” is worth visiting.
We hope you will come back to Richmond hotel Aomori, and enjoy more of Aomori city !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aomori hotels
Aomori Station
Hotel JAL City Aomori
Hotel JAL City Aomori
#2 of 50 in Aomori
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Aomori Station
Hotel Sunroute Aomori
Hotel Sunroute Aomori
#9 of 50 in Aomori
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aomori Station
Hyper Hotels Passage
Hyper Hotels Passage
#5 of 50 in Aomori
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Art Hotel Color Aomori
#6 of 50 in Aomori
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Aomori Washington Hotel
#19 of 50 in Aomori
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel Aomori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel Aomori

Property: Richmond Hotel Aomori
Address: 1-6-6 Nagashima, Aomori 030-0861 , Aomori Prefecture
Location: Japan > Tohoku > Aomori Prefecture > Aomori > Aomori Station
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels / Ryokan in Aomori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Hotel Aomori 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Rakuten, Fastbooking, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Richmond Hotel Aomori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing