We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finest sushi in Aomori”
Review of Ippachizushi

Ippachizushi
Ranked #2 of 1,769 Restaurants in Aomori
Cuisines: Sushi
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed June 8, 2015

Ippachizushi (Ippachi Sushi) has a long standing reputation of serving the finest sushi in all of Aomori. Hidden in an quiet alley not from the main street in Aomori City, the stylish restaurant beckons curious travelers. The interior is beautiful, clean, and the smell of local hiba (cypress) fills the air with some of the tastiest sushi made from the freshest ingredients found in the northern seas surrounding Aomori. Local specialities include the hirame (left-eye flounder) and of course hotate (scallop). The sushi counter is done in the luxurious Tsugaru-nuri, a traditional lacquerware craft of the region known for its intricate patterns. The tasty sushi makes one crave more, so dinners could run expensive, however lunch is modestly priced and well worth the visit. If you are in Aomori and plan to eat sushi, do not miss out on Ippachizushi.

Date of visit: December 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sudachiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 37 of 156 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2015

Tucked away down a back lane a minutes walk from JAL Aomori this restaurant is a gem. With no Japanese myself and the staff having extremely limited English, ordering was an adventure, however the starter of vinegared mackrel was superb. The mixed sushi that followed was excellent. Mid-week and we had the place to ourselves so the staff had plenty of time to google translate what each dish was. The best meal that I have had in a month in Japan.

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ocassi0nal_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 27, 2014

I've been living in Japan for over 20 years but this was my first time to visit Aomori. Being a sushi lover I researched the best place to eat sushi and Ippachizushi topped many lists - I wasn't disappointed.

I know I should talk about the food first but I have to talk about the people who work there. They couldn't have been more polite or welcoming. It was like I was a regular customer rather than a first-timer.

I asked the master for 'Moriawase sashimi' and he produced a delicious selection of fresh, raw fish which more than rivalled that of Hokkaido. The nigirizushi was a delight to eat and the sea urchin melted in my mouth.

In addition to the treat to my tastebuds was both the atmosphere and the customers. Everyone was so friendly and open. The people next me had come from Gifu and Tokyo - they didn't know each other and of course they didn't know me but within 10 mins we were recommending sushi restaurants to each other.

The bottom line…

The bottom line is you MUST visit this sushi restaurant. I'd recommend making a reservation to avoid disappointment.

I'll definitely be returning.

Date of visit: November 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
7  Thank Tonyinjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 2, 2022
Google Translation

Date of visit: May 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 22, 2022
Google Translation

Date of visit: January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Ippachizushi also viewed

Aomori, Aomori Prefecture
 

Been to Ippachizushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.