We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveler rating
111
137
28
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
111
137
28
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mixed bath japanese style sulphur male spa mountains
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 287 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2018

This spa is fairly well-known for having a large mixed (male, female) spa. It was the busiest onsen I have been to. Many people coming and going most of the day. They have a new wing and old wing. New wing has a toilet and sink in the rooms, the old wing has a shared restroom. Either wing requires use of the spa for bath/shower. In addition to the big mixed spa, they also have separated facilities one for male and one for female, both using the same hot spring water (as the mixed bath). The hot spring water leaves your skin soft & silky. Now the inn seems to be under some construction but not sure if that is temporary or permanent. Breakfast was pretty meager mostly Japanese style (sausage, and toast but no eggs).

Room tip: Choose new wing for rooms with sink and toilet.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TNJP_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017

Sukayu was a big ryokan with an equally big onsen. My small tatami room was nice. There was a gas heater in the room.Common bathroom was clean. Wifi was only functional in the reception area. Japanese style diner and breakfast were delicious. There was a large skiroom outside the ryokan. Skitouring on nearby Hakkoda mountains was amazing.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ISMETCENGIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017

$80USD a day covered single room, great Japanese breakfast and dinner, plus rides to tram/ski mountain. Unlimited hot spring access. A true historical mountain retreat. Best to ski with someone, no formal runs, lots of trees. Utilized Sukayu Onsen Backcountry tour - reasonable & excellent. Skied for miles after about 1-2 hr hikes. Rental equipment was OK. Advance skiers only, one of my favorite all time winter alpine experiences. The snow dumped for days in February. Wifi ok in lobby.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Taoze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2016

Traditional tired, but clean building. Limited shuttle buses and last JR bus is early afternoon, so don't arrive in Aomori late! Mixed or separate sulphorus bathing. Day tickets available. Very helpful, friendly staff although little English. Rental yukatas for the shy. Cute English translation about bathing etiquette. Traditional meals. Gorgeous mountains; Ropeway nearby and established trekking routes to and from the hotel or rope way which can be accessed by JR buses. Bring your own lunch/snacks and gear if trekking. Japanese only maps match signposts but paths easy to follow. No wifi. Lovely short walks around hotel and small roofed outdoor hot spring water heated benches to warm your "bottom" as described by signboard. Had a very relaxing 2 night stay in quiet surrounds of beautiful mountainous region.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amandelbrotje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2016

Sukayu Onsen is a classic ryokan with a large mixed gender public bath, which is known as the "1,000-person bath". It is also renowned as the first registered national health resort. There are also two smaller hot springs, one for men and one for women. However, I love the public bath most.

There is not a toilet in my room (I suspect that it is the case in most of the other rooms), we have to use the public one. The one for male is acceptable. On the other hand, my wife did tell me that the one for female is quite big and good.

It is a nice stay actually, the only thing we have to complain is about the sleep quality. Footstep sounds in the corridor were transmitted to my room through the wooden floor. It might be a problem for some people, especially in the morning when other people are going to the toilet. For me, the problem is not a big one.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ymmsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews