We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harimayabashi Shopping Street
Save
Review Highlights
Bakumatsu Pilgrimage to Tosa (Today's Kochi)

The bus got off from the high-way. The first stop was named Kochi-Inter-South Bus terminal, but it... read more

Reviewed January 12, 2018
Kwakaku
,
Sakai, Japan
Imo Ken!

We came here on a Thursday morning during our cruise stop in Kochi. We came through here twice... read more

Reviewed May 25, 2017
AKAshon
,
Oakville, Canada
via mobile
Read all 28 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Kochi
from $560.00
More Info
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveler rating
2
8
16
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
8
16
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 28 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2018

The bus got off from the high-way. The first stop was named Kochi-Inter-South Bus terminal, but it was no more than a bus stop with its roofed shelter and bench. We got worried about how remote Kochi might be.
Stepping out of the long distance bus, we found ourselves at Harimaya-bashi, the busiest area in Kochi City, and the street was actually busier than we had expected.
In many rural cities, streets are not busy with pedestrians, and most shopping malls are so called "shuttered malls", malls with some stores closed with their shutters. Kochi's shopping malls are busy and energetic against the trend, and there you can even find old-style street markets. Such market used to be open on a certain date of the month. For example, if a market was held on every 4th of the month, the market was called, most probably, Yokka-ichi, the market on the 4th. That is why we have so many place names such as xx-ichi.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Kwakaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2017 via mobile

We came here on a Thursday morning during our cruise stop in Kochi. We came through here twice. First on the way to Kochi Castle & second on the way back to Harimayabashi Station to take a shuttle to the cruise ship. I've tried to find imo ken, sweet potato fries at Hirome Market food stalls, but wasn't able to find any. But I was able to find Imo ken at a stores in this shopping street! The store had a lot of free samples of their various snacks & I tired a lot! But none of them stood out like imo ken, which was delicious and sweet! We ate a lot of their imo ken sample, so we decided to buy a bag to compensate for that. 4 stars for Imo Ken!

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank AKAshon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2016

Just across the street from the Kochi Yosakoi Information Exchange Center is the entrance to the Harimayabashi Shopping Street which connects to the Obiyamachi Ichibangai Shopping Street. These streets are covered and make for a very pleasant walk to the Castle (even in the heat of July). There are plenty of shops, cafes and banks/atms along the street and downtown area to occupy your time.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank donavan94563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Date of experience: November 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Date of experience: January 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews