We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best Japanese gardens”
Review of Ritsurin Garden

Ritsurin Garden
Ranked #1 of 139 things to do in Takamatsu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Ritsurin Garden is a superb cultural asset that conveys the characteristics of the daimyo strolling gardens that were typically seen in the 17th and 18th century. A daimyo strolling garden is a type of traditional Japanese garden in which ponds and hills are expertly constructed over a vast tract of land, and you can enjoy the garden's space as you leisurely walk around inside.
Nantes, France
Level Contributor
607 reviews
308 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“One of the best Japanese gardens”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

It takes between two or three hours to discover the wonders of this park -following the easy to use maps given at the ticket booths. Tea in the main tea house (including a free visit of this magnificent building) should be part of the experience. A couple of interesting museums close to the East entrance. One could easily spend a day in this park.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JFLR187198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    599
    333
    59
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“worth the trip”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Takamatsu is a little off the tourist route. However Ritsurin Garden is worth the visit if you have the time. Japan has the 'best three' in everything and Ritsurin Garden is not in the best three gardens. However we visited two of the best three and it is in my best three.
It fitted my perception of a Japanese Garden; lakes, complex trees, fine leaf maples, moss cover slopes and 'peace and serenity' notwithstanding there were people there.
Gardens are difficult to describe and review. They change with the season and so when you visit you see only 'one moment'. We visited in 'cherry blossom' time. As a cherry blossom garden they were OK, not as good as many others we saw. However the non cherry blossom aspects impressed me the most.
No doubt there will be times in the calendar when aspects such as azaleas and other flowers are in bloom. My suggestion is check out the seasonal attraction but even if nothing is in bloom it is still worth the visit.
See a few photos
It was intriguing to see 5 men spend probably a day meticulously pruning and shaping a small section of trees (probably one tree each for the day)
We filled in a day In Takamatsu by visiting Kinashi, which is a suburb 10 minutes from the central train station where they grow pine trees for bonsai. There are a number of nurseries; we spent two hours wandering the streets looking at nurseries and the plants they were growing and selling.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank bill2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I visited this garden, having never before seen a real Japanese garden and I have to say I was very satisfied with the scenery. Getting to this garden requires multiple trains from Okayama taking aprox 30-40 minutes but the journey there is beautiful none the less, especially when you reach the changeover in Kagawa. The garden sits only a short walk away from the station. visitors will have multiple options on how to trek the garden and it really doesn't matter, as long as you get to see the whole garden. Along your walk you can experience traditional Japanese tea drinking, feed the Carp some bread or take a small boat ride around the pond. Afterwards you cand enjoy some hot (or cold) Udon noodles at one of the small restaurants. Really enjoyed my time here and recommend it to anybody considering a visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank shzball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A park to be”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

By the moutain, a very large garden/park with a scenic approach to relationship between trees, sky, water and mountains.
A well deserved reputation, worth a visit, even in winter when nature seems to be asleep.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank louisairelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Stunning. An absolute highlight”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

One of the best gardens I have ever visited in the world let alone Japan. Give yourself a few hours and really meander to discover every corner of this gem. It is simply stunning. We finished our visit with some noodles on the lake edge from a vendor inside the garden. Five stars.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank bckpckrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ritsurin Garden also viewed

Takamatsu, Kagawa Prefecture
Takamatsu, Kagawa Prefecture
 
Takamatsu, Kagawa Prefecture
 

Been to Ritsurin Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing