We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Yashima
from $89.48
More Info
from $111.85
More Info
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveler rating
81
186
40
8
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
81
186
40
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day trip pilgrimage temple station mura kagawa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 317 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2018 via mobile

Went there many times. You can go there by car or hike to the top. It's stunning on the top of the mountain. Amazing view and things to see. I recommend you to have a cup of coffee or have an ice cream in one of the restaurants there while enjoying the beautiful scenery.

Date of experience: June 2018
2  Thank DJtherock
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2018 via mobile

We were there for about two hours in the afternoon. There are a few viewpoints so make sure you walk one round. The view from there is absolutely beautiful but make sure you go on a clear day otherwise you won't be able see islands afar. There is also the Yashima temple which is worth taking a look. The visit is free of charge but you have to pay for parking though which is flat rate of ¥300.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank World_explorer_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

I did this in the afternoon (after visiting Megijima in the morning). Took the Kotoden and then the bus to Yashima mountain top. Considered walking up but seems a little difficult to find the way. Didn’t regret taking the bus actually, because even the paved road up the mountain was a little steep at times and I was a bit tired from cycling in the morning. For those who want to hike up, google map “Takamatsu Shiritsu Yashima Elementary School, 1205-1 Yashima Nishimachi, Takamatsu-shi, Kagawa-ken 761-0113, Japan” and once you are there you should see signs everywhere pointing towards the start of the hiking route. It’s a residential area with some people roaming around occasionally so you should be able to ask for directions if you need.

At the mountain top, there isn’t actually too much to do apart from taking a few photos at the various viewpoints and a few cherry blossom trees (I went in early April). There is an abandoned hotel-like building that looks like it will collapse anytime, with broken glass doors and you can peek inside and see abandoned old school arcade games - I can just picture it turning itself on at nighttime like in a ghost movie! Kinda interesting to look at.

So one of the main things I wanted to check out based on the reviews below was the abandoned upper cable car station. Took me a while to find and I finally found the location on google map - search for “Japan, 〒761-0111 Kagawa-ken, Takamatsu-shi, Yashima Higashimachi, 屋島城跡展望台” and then continue along the road south (you will see some unnamed buildings on google map). It was indeed the most interesting thing out of Yashima apart from the view, for me at least.

I then walked down Yashima (there are some steps down from one of the temple entrances - just google map for the route down to the elementary school mentioned above and the route should show). The walk down was just under an hour. When I got down, I wanted to check out the obsolete lower ropeway station as well - this is actually on google map known as “Japan, 〒761-0112 Kagawa-ken, Takamatsu-shi, Yashima Nakamachi, 168−5, 屋島登山口駅跡”. Wasn’t as creepy as I thought though maybe because it was still bright! I find the upper ropeway station a little creepier though maybe it was because I kept hearing weird noises in that area (fairly isolated, didn’t bump into any other tourists) and kept thinking a wild boar was about to attack me anytime. There were also a couple of cats staring at me at the creepy upper ropeway station...

All in all, the views were great at Yashima, the abandoned ropeway stations were interesting, and I would’ve loved to stay for sunset if I weren’t alone and had known the way down. Will try to come back for the sunset next time!

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank KC930
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2018

Since it is a bit too far from the centre of Takamatsu city, we took "Udon bus" which took us for two udon shops and in between to Yashima. It was a good and reasonable half-day tour and highly recommended.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank GKen64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2016

We took the bus up. Even though we could read Kanji, the bus schedule was unclear because it wrote something like "buses not operating in December". Maybe our misinterpretation. Up top the view is great, although more information (especially guides in English) about the surrounding areas would enhance the tourist experience. For example, if I had a guide about the Yakuri mines and the history at the eastern viewing point, it would be great.

More signage for some border attractions would also help. For example there is a small hiking path to the southern peak, yet there was a lack of signage, so we had doubts about whether we were on the right path.

There are a lot of rundown and abandoned hotels and buildings on the mountain. Would like to know more about them, if there could be some signs. Otherwise there would be an eerie feel to the place.

The views are superb at sunset, however there is no public transportation after the sunset.

Overall, nice views but not so much tourist support, so maybe it is not a great "tourist" attraction.

Date of experience: December 2016
2  Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews