We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad...for a Toyoko-Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Toyoko Inn Matsuyama Ichibancho
Ranked #44 of 88 Hotels / Ryokan in Matsuyama
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not bad...for a Toyoko-Inn”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Booked this hotel in Matsuyama as it was one of the cheaper options in town, plus the Toyoko Inn website was in English (not many hotel websites in Matsuyama are!). Had stayed at a Toyoko Inn previously, so I knew about all the usual quirks that come with this chain.
All in all though, this particular Toyoko Inn exceeded my rather average expectations. The receptionists were delightful and most helpful. The usual Japanese breakfast also included some toast and jam (for those of us not keen on rice balls & pickles for breakfast!). There was free coffee available in the lobby during the day. There was also free wi-fi in the lobby and in the rooms. The rooms are the normal size for a hotel of this sort in Japan, done up with the usual Toyoko Inn décor flair! The location was good, less than a 10 min walk to the main undercover shopping street and the ropeway. There is a streetcar stop just outside the hotel from which you can get to Dogo.
Previously, my biggest complaint about the Toyoko Inns was their policy that you couldn’t go to your room during the day when they are cleaning - very annoying! But they now have a “Green” booking option that circumvents this policy – just make sure you select this option when booking on-line. This option means that they will only clean your room on the 3rd day of your stay (they still give you fresh towels every day) and they even charge you less for your room on the days when they don’t clean. Ultimately this means you can return to your room during the non-cleaning days!
Normally I would give a Toyoko Inn 3 out of 5 but they deserve an extra star for the small, but apperciated, improvements!

Room Tip: Make sure you specify if you want a Non-smoking/smoking room when you book on-line!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    59
    21
    2
    3
See reviews for
19
16
29
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This Toyoko-Inn hotel is located in the city center, about 1 mile from the JR station.
It is also close to the Matsuyama castel (worth a visit!)

When we checked in the receptionist claimed that we had cancelled our booking, which we didn't. After this initial hick-up they gave us 2 rooms anyway.

The twin rooms are small but convenient.
They offer free wifi internet and free breakfast. The breakfast is japanese, except for the toast and marmalade.

Taking price/value into account, this hotel is a good option.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Well, all the Toyoko Inns are the same - up to the details of the rooms. Then again, why change a winning formula? The Toyoko Inn at Matsuyama offers absolutely no surprises and the room look absolutely the same as they do in other cities in Japan. But then again, all Japanese cities, too, look the same.
The upside is that the hotel has no let downs, either. The rooms are tidy, business sized and pleasantly enough decorated. It might not feel like much, but after having run into bedbugs in my previous hostel in Matsuyama, the safety of the Toyoko Inn felt very reassuring.
All in all, it's comfort in business form & size at reasonable prices. Anyone looking for any experiences should steer clear, but if it's basic commodities and tidiness at reasonable prices the Toyok Inn Matsuyama is a good bet. The shower is a bit cramped, though.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rjpalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

This hotel was reasonably priced, with a simple and standard room. We received a welcome pack containing a variety of items, including a hairband and a face mask, also a free pair of socks. The room was equipped with all the regular features, shampoo, shower gel, hairdryer and kettle. There was free internet access in the lobby. The staff were friendly and helpful proving us with a map in English. Breakfast was included, it consisted of Miso Soup, a variety of different rices and a small dish of sweet vegetables. A funny bonus the assistant managers are wearing Sgt. Pepper outfits. We chose this hotel due to it being within easy reach to the oldest bath house in Japan, Dogo Onsen. Which is a short streetcar journey away, provided you get on the right streetcar (which we didn't). There is a streetcar stop right outside the hotel. The difficulty being that not much is written or displayed in English on the Island of Shikoku, when we arrived at the ferry terminal all the bus routes were in Japanese so we resorted to getting a taxi, which was quite expensive but we would never have found it otherwise. It was a short streetcar ride to the train station, in order to return to Honshu island.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Rambaldi_Macguffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matsuyama hotels
Premier Inn Matsuyama
#38 of 88 in Matsuyama
90 reviews
Matsuyama New Grand Hotel
#10 of 88 in Matsuyama
149 reviews
Matsuyama Station
Hotel Check In Matsuyama
Hotel Check In Matsuyama
#18 of 88 in Matsuyama
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
APA Hotel Matsuyamajyo-Nishi
#36 of 88 in Matsuyama
103 reviews
Matsuyama Tokyu REI Hotel
#9 of 88 in Matsuyama
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toyoko Inn Matsuyama Ichibancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toyoko Inn Matsuyama Ichibancho

Property: Toyoko Inn Matsuyama Ichibancho
Address: 1-10-8 Ichibancho, Matsuyama 790-0001, Ehime Prefecture
Location: Japan > Shikoku > Ehime Prefecture > Matsuyama
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 88 Hotels / Ryokan in Matsuyama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Toyoko Inn Matsuyama Ichibancho 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Rakuten, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Toyoko Inn Matsuyama Ichibancho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toyoko Inn Matsuyama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing