We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Matsuyama Tokyu REI Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Disclaimer: the only reason I give it 3 stars is a horrific Wi-Fi reception in rooms even though they advertise it. Otherwise it's a 5-star hotel in the moderately priced category. The funny thing they had 5-6 networks, all starting with the same prefix and ending with different numbers. We called the front desk three times. They gave us a password but it did not connect. Then they tried to explain something, but since English is a dead language in Shikoku they just sent a man to our room to connect us. After half an hour of sweating over my laptop he sincerely apologized and explained somehow that the connection is much better in the lobby. We went downstairs and found another dozen of different networks, all with the hotel's prefix. But the signal was good. So if you don't care too much about the internet it's a great place for you. The location, service, room - everything is fine. Only Wi-Fi is bad

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 276 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed at this hotel second trip to Japan (had to come back to Shikoku after spending a day on the island last time). The hotel is on the doorstep of the local tram system (tram number 5, you can catch it near the JR train station, just go under the underpass and take the right hand side exit inside it). The castle and cable car system going to it (you can walk) is about 10 minutes walk away (the road between the hotel and starbucks will take you to it).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eddiehig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in November. I must agree with the previous English reviewer that the beds are comfortable. We arrived by car and parked outside in a small cut in ahead of the hotel whilst I went inside to find out where the car park was. The receptionist came out, assessed the size of the car and then ran up the road to give direction into the under story car park. It's the first left and then left again under the hotel, where two attentive parking attendances assist you in getting as close as possible to the wall or other cars etc. Some vehicles were stacked and went up inside the hotel. There is a parking charge which was reasonable and the receptionist was back up in reception to check us in after walking round the building in front of the car, fixing the parking up with the attendants. I have always found the Tokyu Inn chain some of the best reception staff in Japan for sorting things out for you.

Breakfast was good with mixed western and Japanese fair. Seats by the windows were tight and hard to come by.

The hotel is well positioned for the castle and we got a nice view of it at night illuminated. You can catch the rope way up, walk down and do the gardens, makes a nice day out. For the rest of the day catch the tram to Dogo. At half light the public baths made a good photo of the hussle and bussle of the bathers coming and going in their outfits. There is a temple up the road which is worth visiting although if you do the castle, the walk, the gardens and baths, time will be getting on so you might reach the temple in the dark.

You can use Matsuyama for days out if you have a car.... the mountain rope way for one and walk up to the temple and the town with the Kibbutz theatre - details in Rough guide. Both make good trips and walk abouts.

Matsuyama has two good Indian restaurants run by the same person. It turns out that the Japanese love their curries and love them hot as well. There is the coco chain, but this one is real thing. Ladki's is it's name. We also found a good Italian straight up in the shopping mall opposite the hotel about 100 metres on a side road to the left. This was very good. Raw fish can get tiring after a time as one longs for cooked meat that you don't have to do yourself.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back with a view to the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonTell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights during a recent holiday in Shikoku. The beds are large, especially for Japanese standards, and have extremely comfortable mattresses. You will definitely sleep well here. The staff were very friendly and helpful, too. It's conveniently situated in the centre of town with easy access to about everywhere you might want to go. Just around the corner is a street with a number of nice restaurants and even the tram stops right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jxd888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2008

Matsuyama was the 4th city we visited during our journey through Japan. It is a charming little city that was a refreshing change from the hustle-bustle of Tokyo, Kyoto and Osaka.

We arrived at Matsuyama station. There's a little underpass if you follow the path from the exit to the station past the bus terminals. Go down the pass and take the first exit on your right to the street car station. The street car costs 150yen/person/trip. Make sure you take the one that stops at Okkaido station and the hotel is just across the street from Okkaido station.

This was a great location to stay because it was very convienently located. The ropeway to Matsuyama castle (a must-see) is just a street corner away and that street to the ropeway is lined with great cafes, restaurants and shops. Opposite is the Laforet shopping plaza where you'll be able to find anything you could need during your stay. And it's only a 10min streetcar ride to the famous Dogo Onsen and its surrounding shopping area.

The staff did not speak a word of English but they tried extremely hard to answer all our queries. There was a restaurant in the hotel lobby. I didn't eat there but from what I could see, it looked like a decent restaurant. The room itself were very clean but small but that's normal for a standard room in Japan. It has everything you need for your stay and we even got an air purifier in our room. You can pick smoking and non-smoking floors. So that was a great plus for non-smokers like myself. My only qualm was the decor was a little dated and uninviting but that's only a tiny complaint when considerd in the context of the convenience that staying here offerred.

All in all, Matsuyama was definitely a highlight in my Japanese journey and staying here certainly made it much easier to do and see all the things I did there. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank lonelypiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ながぬま
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank Yuu I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matsuyama hotels
ANA Hotel Matsuyama
#1 of 91 in Matsuyama
443 reviews
Matsuyama Station
HOTEL MYSTAYS Matsuyama
HOTEL MYSTAYS Matsuyama
#3 of 91 in Matsuyama
580 reviews
Matsuyama New Grand Hotel
#11 of 91 in Matsuyama
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
APA Hotel Matsuyamajyo-Nishi
#40 of 91 in Matsuyama
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matsuyama Tokyu REI Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matsuyama Tokyu REI Hotel

Address: 3-3-1 Ichibancho, Matsuyama 790-0001, Ehime Prefecture (Formerly Matsuyama Tokyu Inn)
Location: Japan > Shikoku > Ehime Prefecture > Matsuyama
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Matsuyama
#5 Business Hotel in Matsuyama
#9 Best Value Hotel in Matsuyama
Price Range: $58 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Matsuyama Tokyu REI Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matsuyama business and tourism hub of ! Tram , airport bus hotel before stopping Center of Matsuyama , tram " Okaido " Station . Matsuyama Castle is also within walking distance . The entire public wireless LAN (Wi-Fi) support , was also installed coin-operated laundry ! 2013 "Premium Room " (by bus toilet ) birth ♪ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Matsuyama Tokyu REI Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matsuyama Tokyu Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing