We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need a car”
Review of Hotel Azat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Azat
Ranked #35 of 111 Hotels / Ryokan in Naha
Reviewed August 16, 2013

RIght beside the monorail which was good but you really need a car to see much
Excellent supermarket across the road.
We booked two rooms but they upgraded up to the penthouse for 500yen per night!
Breakfast was good but not excellent
Would stay here again if we had a car
Excellent wifi

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ucanchoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 308 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

The BW Naha is in a great spot - the proximity to the monorail makes for a dream trip from the airport - about 100 metres each end to get to the hotel. The monorail also goes to Naha Castle at the other end of the line - get a tourist day card for Y600 as you get a discount on entry to random places too.

The price of the hotel was also great, so that was quite alluring. On the first night though, the steel like nature of the bed and the pillow combined with an air conditioner that sounded like a tornado did make me wonder if I could stay for the 3 nights as planned.

I did ask about other pillow options, but was advised only one standard pillow available - more wheat beads than padding though, so if you're not used to Japanese pillows be aware. The staff, like most Okinawans were friendly and able to help when asked questions about tourist type things. Overall, it wasn't too bad, but I can't highly recommend it to someone. If you get a great price, go for it - there are a lot of places that look like either the top end of town or flea pits in Naha.

Oh, and the breakfast was not too bad. And there's a convenience store downstairs for wine, snacks and other necessities (and a beer vending machine on the 8th floor).

Room Tip: If you're not a smoker make sure you book a room on the non smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjisaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hotel location is excellent as it is less than 2 minutes away from the monorail which connects to most of the tourist spots in Naha, also right beside the hotel, there is a convenience store if you want to get anything.

Like most hotel rooms in Japan, the space is small but perfect for solo traveller like myself. They also have breakfast buffet but I would recommend that you head out for local breakfast, go try the local stuff!

The staffs can speak minimum to almost zero English but they are very friendly, some sign language maybe required but that's part of the fun when travelling abroad :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SweePing_Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Easy to find, boring. Pleasant reception staff, but stuyffy room with windows that you can't open - in case you want to jump, I suppose :)) - so air conditioning.
Absolutely no distinguishing features in this hotel. An anonymous place to get some rest.
The breakfast bar was humdrum, and didn't even sport any (local) fruit or REAL juice.

Room Tip: Reasonable rates, but don't expect too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradstow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great location with easy access to the airport via the monorail and 2 min walking distance to the famous international street where you will find great shopping and dinning options.
Only negative remark is the small size of the rooms (Normal in Japan) and the lack of English Tv channels.

Room Tip: Great location with easy access to the airport via the monorail and 2 min walking distance to the fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Asiaunknown_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Best Western Naha Inn (Naha, Okinawa) was selected for what I thought would be a good location to begin explorations of the island. Good choice. We were located right next to a station of the city's elevated monorail...great convenience and absolutely no noise. This neighborhood gave us the opportunity to check out how the locals lived...big super market across the street and a good choice of restaurants...and nary a tourist in sight...except us. Despite a number of our U.S. military bases on the island, English is not well spoken almost everywhere. But not a problem. When it came to food, the menus revealed pictures of the food to make ordering a lot easier.
Politeness of the people ? On a scale of one to ten...at least eleven. Some of the taxi drivers even wore white gloves. Yes, I would gladly return here again...and to the same hotel.

Room Tip: We found the hotel to be very quiet in every location. No preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Twinrivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I could not fault the location at all - 5 minute walk to the top end of Kokusai Dori and a monorail station (Asato) literally right outside the front door.

The hotel, however, was 'average'. The room we had (standard double) was extremely small and had no drawers and no cupboard to hang anything up. Friends who had a 'superior' room had both of these (and much more room to swing a cat!!)

The staff were friendly and helpful, to a point, but did not speak very good English. There was an easy to operate washing machine in the basement of the hotel and this proved useful for our karate suits.

Room Tip: Go for a 'superior' room if at all possible - there is a marked difference in the size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harrysdad2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naha hotels
0.5 mi away
Daiwa Roynet hotel Naha Omoromachi
0.6 mi away
Hotel Hokke Club Naha Shintoshin
1.3 mi away
Mercure Okinawa Naha
Mercure Okinawa Naha
#14 of 111 in Naha
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Libre Garden Hotel
Libre Garden Hotel
#31 of 111 in Naha
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palm Royal Naha Kokusai Street
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ocean
Hotel Ocean
#2 of 111 in Naha
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azat

Address: 2-8-8 Asato, Naha 902-0067, Okinawa Prefecture (Formerly Naha Inn)
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Naha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 111 Hotels / Ryokan in Naha
Price Range: $64 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Azat 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is 30 seconds from Asato station, only one station to Kokusai Street and DFS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Azat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamaki Hotel Naha
Hotel Azat Naha, Okinawa Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing