We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Emix”
Review of emix Ishigakijima

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
emix Ishigakijima
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Hello everyone, I come from Taiwan. This summer, I had an independent travel in Ishigaki by myself. I was so lucky to stay at Emix. It's a friendly, safe and happy guesthouse. Thank you, Nao san and Gaku san. You made me have an unforgettable experience in Ishigaki. THANK YOU SO MUCH.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flying1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 94 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

Coming all the way from New York and planning to stay in Ishigaki for one year, I was worried that I'd have trouble making friends here, but I came across emix by a stroke of luck while looking for a new guesthouse and have been having a great time since. Even for long-time accommodation, this place has not failed to provide a comfortable living situation.

The owners are extremely accommodating, personable, and most of all, fun. Their main goal is to make emix a great experience for everyone who stays and that really comes across. For the most part, the people who stay here are also really sociable and friendly, so every night is loads of fun and you really feel like you're part of a community. Because all the rooms surround the living room, it's like living in a college dormitory, perfect for socializing.

The location is also really convenient. It's right inside Euglena Mall, which is a nice place to buy souvenirs, and also close to the boat and bus terminals, very convenient for traveling to other parts of Ishigaki and/or the surrounding islands. It's also pretty much around the center of lots of restaurants and bars.

Emix is also the cleanest guesthouse I've lived in. It's not cluttered at all and everything is cleaned every day. Amenities are great too--pretty much all you need. There's a kitchen on both the second and third floors, free shampoo, conditioner, and soap, and a laundry machine on the second floor and on the roof. You can also borrow their bikes and go to nearby Maezato Beach (maybe about a 10-15 minute ride) or to the nearby Max Value supermarket (~10 minutes) which is 24 hours or the even closer Kanehide (~5 minutes) which is open until midnight.

A note for English speakers: most of the guests are from mainland Japan and most will not be able to speak English so of course, you'll have more fun if you can speak at least some Japanese. Even if you don't know that much, the guests are really friendly and will love to try to talk to you! Also, one of the owners studied abroad in Australia and Canada so his English is fluent and he'll gladly help you out. Two of my friends here don't speak much Japanese but they've had plenty of fun every time they come visit. So don't hesitate to come even if you can't speak Japanese!

All in all, this place has a very cheap price, a great location, a wonderful staff, a very social environment, and is super clean. I recommend it fully!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have AC, which is nice in the summer though not necessary in any other sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yukio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gyakt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
Thank alpsdash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KikiChow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelvin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ishigaki hotels
1.6 mi away
Resort In Rasso Ishigaki
Resort In Rasso Ishigaki
#20 of 37 in Ishigaki
120 reviews
2 mi away
ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort
0.6 mi away
ART HOTEL Ishigakijima
ART HOTEL Ishigakijima
#6 of 37 in Ishigaki
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vessel Hotel Ishigaki Island
5.6 mi away
Shiraho Friends House
Shiraho Friends House
#1 of 76 in Ishigaki
186 reviews
0 mi away
Chura Cucule Ishigakijima
Chura Cucule Ishigakijima
#14 of 76 in Ishigaki
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to emix Ishigakijima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about emix Ishigakijima

Address: 214-1 Okawa, Ishigaki 907-0022, Okinawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Ishigaki
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 76 Specialty lodging in Ishigaki
Price Range: $26 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most cozy.The most fun.The most chilled. Is there any other choice?why not? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Rakuten so you can book your emix Ishigakijima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emix Ishigakijima Ishigaki, Japan - Okinawa Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing