We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ishigakijima Hotel cucule
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels / Ryokan in Ishigaki
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We got tatami room and it was very nice and clean. The staff is very helpful and frendly. Very good location close to restaurants and bars. At night a bit noisy but ok to sleep well. Bike rental for free. Wifi did not work well on the second floor. A very good hotel

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    151
    28
    6
    0
See reviews for
65
80
64
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We spent two nights in this small 2 star hotel recently. Hotel staff was pleasant and helpful with our check-in. Their spoken English was quite limited but we were able to convey most of our messages to them when we need their help during our stay.

Upon checking in to our standard double room, we found it to be slightly bigger when compared to hotel rooms of equal category in large metropolitan Japanese cities such as Osaka and Kyoto. The bathroom was, however, very small and 2 persons could barely fit in there at the same time.

We could smell a musty smell in the room due to lack of proper fresh air ventilation and smell also eminated from the shower curtain. The air-conditioning unit in the room was also dirty and in need of a good wash.

The major advantage of this hotel is its' central location in Ishigaki town centre. It is located opposite the central bus station from which the airport buses arrive and depart. It is also within easy walking distance to the port where you can take the ferries to Taketomi, Iriomote and a few surrounding islands. There is a convenience store located next door to the hotel and restaurants and shops selling various items are easily accessible.

Breakfast was included when we booked our rooms. Variety and quantity was limited but ample to keep you full till lunch time later in the day. Bread, croissants, porridge (congee), salad, rice and an accompanying Japanese condiment and cereal is served buffet style. A small platter of ham, scrambled eggs and hash potatoes is served to you once you are seated at the table. There's free flow of tea, coffee and fruit juices.

The hotel also provides 2 bottles of filtered water in our room daily as well as 2 small packets of biscuits for a snack. There's a also a tiny television set.

Wifi was available both in the hotel lobby and in the room but signal strength in the room was fairly weak and connection was intermittent at times. Connection in the hotel lobby was stronger but our portable devices kept getting dropped connections and had to reconnect time and time again.

As a conclusion we rate this an average quality hotel. It can be a potentially much better hotel if management address the issues mentioned above.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlobeTrekker6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
121 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I spent four nights in the Cucule and can't fault it. The reception staff were very welcoming, the room was very spacious with a comfortable armchair and everywhere was spotlessly clean. Although the bathroom was very small, it looked new and was functional. Mineral water was provided in the room every day along with tea and free biscuits. The hotel breakfast was also good, although to a large extent not what western people consider breakfast foods (salad and soup for example). However, there was always yoghurt, fruit and toast and a different cooked dish served to the table every morning. The hotel also has a great location in Ishigaki town, directly across from the bus station and 5 minutes walk from the ferry terminal. There are lots of shops, restaurants and bars in the area but the hotel is still quiet. My only two criticisms (and they are minor) are that the air conditioning in the room was not very effective and that the hotel website stated that a taxi from the airport would be around 1000 yen but as I discovered this would be from the old Ishigaki Airport and a taxi from the new Ishigaki Airport is over 3000yen! As the airport bus stops right in front of the hotel, the taxi was a waste of money.

Room Tip: Not a room tip as such but be sure to try the goya biscuits they leave in the room - although they d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JIOkinawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel was more or less across or just down the road from the bus station. it was clean. they had breakfast that was japanese. I had a room with two single beds. The room was small but I did not spend much time in it. It was cleaned daily. The washroom was quite small and required a bit of gymnastics to use the toilet. lol. The hotel was quiet. the hotel had a restaurant in it that was actually pretty good.

The hotel was quite inexpensive as well. I believe it was under $100.00 Canadian. So a very good value. Very no frills.

Wifi was quite strong. There was a little television to watch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

A nice hotel in a good location of ishigaki island. The staff was very helpfull and friendly! Eventough we arrived early they ordered the room to be made up earlier for us to let us in. Breakfast was good as well. Room was ok for us. Good value and place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skyliteee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

This renewal hotel is better for young generation than middle or old age. The interior design and furnitures are so simple for young. But stuffs are friendly and good service.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myoshi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
249 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is the perfect hotel for those that value location; only a 2-3 block walk to many "downtown" restaurant choices, market/shopping, and the ferry. There is free car parking in an empty lot across the street. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, but speaks limited English. The rooms were clean and comfortable, but lack a closet; hooks are provided on the wall to hang a few clothes up, but expect to store most of your belongings in your suitcase. There was some noise from the street in our third floor room. A hot Japanese and Western style breakfast is offered each morning along with cold fruit/bread/etc. There is free computer access in the lobby. When a typhoon was approaching, the helpful staff allowed us to check out one day early without penalty; this was very much appreciated.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 50StateVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ishigaki hotels
0.3 mi away
Vessel Hotel Ishigaki Island
2.1 mi away
ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patina Ishigakijima
Hotel Patina Ishigakijima
#7 of 32 in Ishigaki
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel East China Sea
Hotel East China Sea
#10 of 32 in Ishigaki
340 reviews
0.7 mi away
ART HOTEL Ishigakijima
ART HOTEL Ishigakijima
#6 of 32 in Ishigaki
749 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Emerald Isle Ishigakijima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ishigakijima Hotel cucule? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ishigakijima Hotel cucule

Property: Ishigakijima Hotel cucule
Address: 8-1 Misakicho, Ishigaki 907-0012, Okinawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Ishigaki
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ishigaki
#10 Family Hotel in Ishigaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ishigakijima Hotel cucule 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ishigakijima Hotel cucule reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ishigakijima Hotel Cucule Ishigaki, Japan - Okinawa Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing