We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could live up to a 5 stars, but too many dissapointments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Laguna Garden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This was our third time to Okinawa, so I guess I know what to expect for what I pay. The hotel is located conveniently close to the airport and next to the convention center. If you are there for business, you may not have too many other options combining that with a resort hotel. It is mostly clean (except some walls on the basement) and the architecture/design is nice. Now, we were staying in one of their nine superior suits (60 square meters) of the main building which appeared to have been renewed quite recently and was adequate in terms of space, but not well furnished to meet the 400+ USD/night rate we had paid. The working desk was too tiny, even smaller than what you may see in many ordinary hotel rooms. The TV had no major English channels, which was extremely odd, as channels such as CNN or BBC are standard for a hotel of this level in this country. An odd thing about the room was that there was no iron/press in the huge room, and you had to call the front and ask to borrow one. Another big disappointment happened with the room service on one of these expensive days; our room was not serviced until afternoon. We were a couple with a child in the room, but they left only two large bath towels every day. It is not hard to imagine that a family of 3 may need more towels in 24 hrs, so I called them at around 11am and asked for fresh towels. They said OK, but the room service staff came with the towels after more than 3 hours. I already had to take shower and dry up using wet/used towels. Be ware that the front staff and most others were unable to efficiently communicate in English, and that is another disadvantage for a 5 star facility. There was no guard in the parking lot to guide drivers for parking, another substandard point for a big hotel. There was no pool-side bar/restaurant open in late June. The beach in the photos is a public beach quite distant from the hotel, and so the hotel is not a beach resort. In addition, the backdoor way towards the beach is partially unpaved, and therefore it is not suitable for a baby car. The cheering and drum noise from the baseball stadium virtually ruined our relaxation time for a few hours for two days. Some of the spa/pool staff were not as friendly they should have been. The mini bar has no snacks, and even the smallest mineral water bottle is charged at the rate of 315 JPY per bottle. The restaurants are not bad, but the dinner is ridiculously expensive. If you have to stay there try the Italian restaurant as the others have little to impress for breakfast. There is no wireless internet in the room, and the reception of the cellular network is rather poor and unstable. Overall, the hotel needs improvement of service and staff training to meet 5 star standards of the day.

Room Tip: Main building suits are renewed and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 742 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2012

Went to Okinawa for a 5 day getaway and stayted a the Laguna Garden hotel. Using the pool is free but using the Onsen bath costs a one time 500 yen fee. The outdoor pools are closed during the winter months. Majority of the rooms are semi doubles and pretty small. The rooms are clean but for a ANA Hotel not so great.

The breakfast buffet was very good. We could choose from three restaurants. Continental, Chinese, or Japanese breakfast. We ate once at the Chinese restaurant which is located on the top floor but chose the continental for the rest of the days as the variety was good.

The hotel is just far enough away from Naha which is nice. Defenitely need to rent a car. I would consider staying here again but was not impressed enough to give a defenite yes. Would like to see how other hotels stack up to this one.

Overall a nice hotel with friendly staff.

Room Tip: The semi double rooms are small. If you can, choose a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank genble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

I stay in this resort for a week in September 2011 for business.

Location & Transport

This hotel is close to Nara Airport - which takes about 30 minutes for a taxi or 60 minutes for an airport shuttle. Kindly note that, however, the frequency of the airport shuttle is very bad - which has about 3 round trips per day!

This hotel is very close to the Okinawa Convention Center - which takes you about 10 minutes walk. It is also close to a beach and a place where you can have an excellent view on the Japanese Ocean.

Service

The service provided in this hotel is good, e.g., nice swimming pool & traditional public bath. However, the gym (fitness center) is too small - there is only one running machine and a limited number of fitness equipments.

The variety of the food provided is good as well, though it's a bit expensive. There are a number of restaurants nearby but there is only one that can accept credit cards!

The only complaint that I have is the hotel strictly follows a 11am-check-out policy.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward-A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Just returned from a 4 day stay at the Laguna Garden with my wife and 20 month old toddler.
As expected of an ANA hotel the public areas of the hotel are clean and spacious - with glass lifts, and a central Atrium looking out onto the gardens and pool area. Waterfalls and pools also add to the ambiance of the inside of the hotel.
Breakfast and lunch are buffet style and served in the main restaurant - the quality of the food is extremely good and staff are freindly and helpful. 3 other restaurants are available - Japanese, Chinese and a Korean Barbecue all of which are top quality and despite being quite smart - have no problem with holidaying parents in shorts and sandals and boisterous kids. there is also a cocktail bar situated on the top floor.

The indoor pool is a real benefit if trying to keep out of the hot sun ( or torrential rain) and is open well into the evening, a warm jacuzzi is also located next to the pool. The spa area consists of a japanese Onsen style bath - although the water is not volcanic and a very hot and spacious Sauna.

The hotel is situated a short distance from the sea front so our room had a good view of the sea - there is a beach area with nice facilities a short walk away. The hotel stand next to a Baseball ground and a sports centre aswell.

The hotel is in the process of refurbishing rooms - we started in one of the new rooms which are very well appointed - flat screen TV, wet room, balcony etc. Unfortunately we had to ask to be moved as the noise from the refurb of rooms above us made napping in the afternoon difficult. (I undertand that the building work is only carried out between 11 & 3) We were relocated into a different area of the hotel - into one of the older rooms which, although obviously a little more dated, was perfectly acceptable.

There is a small parade of clothes and gift shops in the hotel, and snack foods and drinks can also be bought here.

In summary this is a lovely resort hotel - with pretty much everything you need to hand. which makes it ideal for a relaxing break. The nearby beach is about the only walkable local attraction - for anything more you will need a taxi or hire car.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davemorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

I spent 6 nights here on business. I travel 100+ nights a year. Having staff that are willing and try to help is of high importance, regardless of the language/location.

Knowing basic Japanese words (thank you, please, yes, no) go a LONG way . Staff are very friendly.

Pro:
Staff works very hard to help and seem to be ever present. Even at 1:30am when I checked in, someone was able to help me (basic English).
I was recognized as an Intercontinental (Holiday Inn) Platinum member. The hotel provided complimentary breakfast, room upgrade and numerous coupons.
Rooms are well maintained
Temperature/AC works well.
There is a central control between the beds which controls the AC, lights and alarm.
Toilet's wer nice...just wait and see.
Large tub and shower next to tub. Area is glassed in. Nice soap, bath softeners, hair brush, tooth brush, razors and even a scruncy for hair.
Choice of 5 restaurants
Far enough away from military bases not to be bothered by jets.
Nice balcony, simple chairs and there is a plastic chain with clothing clips to hang wet cloths.
Good location and access to walking and running paths or trails.
Fitness center is well maintained with locker rooms having swim suit dryer (helpful so you don’t have wear wet suit to room and then have it hanging around.
Outside pool may or may not be heated; it warms up with the day. Pool is basically 3’ deep with one end being about 4’ deep. Great lap swimming pool due to it’s length.
Inside pool is heated, great for laps. The whirlpool is a bit shallow but was good and warm and worked.
Inside pool slide. There is a medium size slide, children may enjoy.

Food: Recommend dinner at the Chinese restraint. Restaurant has good menu, food was very good both times I ate there. Price is a bit high but the view from the 13th floor is wonderful and sunset is particularly nice. Paseo Garden (“Garden”) restaurant is very good for meal prices. This is where the continental breakfast is located. There is traditional western (scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, waffles, cereal .. etc.) as well as fresh fruit, omelet chef (only cheese in omelet) but other toppings. There is a full selection of Japanese items, Danish and breads. Coffee/cappuccino machine, juice, good selection of teas is also available. Particularly liked the “child themed” plates and saw numerous children’s eyes light up when they saw them. Grill Restaurant is a bit pricy again but the food is very good. I did not go to the an-non, don’t care for pure Japanese food but know others who said it is very good. Paddle lounge is basic food and drinks, is located on the 13th floor. The Atrium Lounge has a basic menu and deserts/coffee/cappuccino. Desserts are “factory made” and were not terribly good. This made running frustrating to burn off the calories. Japanese chocolate may be a bit dry if you are used to European or American milk chocolate.
There are five “gift/clothing” stores and a flower shop in the hotel. There is other shopping within walking distance. No diet soda in the building.

Con:
Beach is about a 10 minute walk and is a public beach. The hotel is not on the beach!
Room smelled a bit musty (it’s the AC system) and souther pacific/tropical issue. This said, I have fairly bad allergies and it was easily tolerable. Best way to deal with it was to open the sliding door on the balcony.
Beds are "hard" by western standards. (Use extra duve for cussion).

Noteworthy:
To/From the Airport: Taxi from the airport will be about $40-$60, depends upon the time of day, night (10pm-5am) adds about 20%.
The hotel is between “down town” and the “beach areas”. Easy access to military bases.
I saw less than 20 American/non asians. Mostly military family/members.
Hotel has east wing and west wing. Recommend the east wing.
All rooms have view of the ocean.
Only English television is US Armed Forces Television
Internet is complementary but is cable, not wireless.
A rental car company is located in the lobby (9:00am-4:00pm). YOU MUST HAVE JAPANESE OR INTERNATIONAL DRIVERS LISCENCE TO RENT.
Bicycle rental is available ($15/day, $5/hour)
The Japanese, with exquisite ability, take every opportunity to sell things. You will have numerous coupons, free offers and stands in the main atrium. It is not pushy, I am very sensitive to this, but be aware this is their culture.
If your bags are lost or not on your flight, JAL uses a delivery company and they are slow. If asked, tell the airline you need your bags ASAP, otherwise it will be 2-3 days.
Tipping is not customary. Food bills have 10% tip added.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 150NightsPerYear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

The Laguna hotel is geared almost entirely for Japanese guests although check in staff did speak English.
The hotel itself does look slightly dated we were offered an upgrade for 10000yen but refused
In room TV is old. No English channels but room spacious overall the hotel is clean
Beneath the hotel is a spa where you can have an Onsen type experience. There is a poor gym and a sauna 88deg c phew!!!!! With a plunge bath and Jacuzzi
An inside and outside pool completes the leisure facilities
When you check in your given a book full of coupons for everything it really is confusing what to use and when, they really should streamline this process
Around the hotel is nothing . You defiantly need a car! Driving is safe and slow on the island.
Hardly noticed any military personnel from the bases
English doesn’t seem o be widely spoken despite the American forces presence

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masspecguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Great place to stay. Very clean and roomy. Short walk to beach. Great restaurants and breakfast buffet. Wonderful staff, very helpful.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
2  Thank daisy1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ginowan
2.8 mi away
Hilton Okinawa Chatan Resort
2.6 mi away
Vessel Hotel Campana Okinawa
2.6 mi away
The Beach Tower Okinawa
The Beach Tower Okinawa
#3 of 8 in Chatan-cho
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Okinawa Marriott Resort & Spa
9.4 mi away
Hotel Nikko Alivila Yomitan Resort Okinawa
0.8 mi away
Moon Ocean Ginowan Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Garden Hotel

Address: 4-1-1 Mashiki, Ginowan 901-2224, Okinawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Ginowan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels / Ryokan in Ginowan
Price Range: $113 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Laguna Garden Hotel is a deluxe class resort that sits amongst lush, beautiful greenery on the coast of the East China Sea. With a multitude of facilities and quick access to the Okinawa Convention Center, the hotel is a perfect holiday destination or refuge from a day of business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Booking.com, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Laguna Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana Laguna Garden Ginowan
Hotel Ana Laguna Garden
Laguna Garden Hotel Okinawa Prefecture/Ginowan, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing