We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located hotel in Beppu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Sea Wave Beppu
Ranked #22 of 138 Hotels / Ryokan in Beppu
Reviewed May 17, 2009

Hotel Seawave Beppu is conveniently located directly opposite the JR Beppu Station and the bus station. It makes it very convenient for taking the bus to various tourist spots in Beppu eg. Jigoku, Beppu Ropeway etc. The rooms are small, like any typical Japanese business hotel. The staff do not speak much English, but are very helpful and polite and I can sense that they are trying their best to communicate and understand non-Japanese guests. There is free internet access in the lobby till 10 pm. There is no spa at this hotel, but with so many spas in Beppu, this is not really a problem.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aukahkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 73 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2009

This is definitely a typical no-frills budget hotel. The rooms are small and dated, and the room had a slight odor. There was a knob in the bathroom, linked to a hose, for the water to go to either the sink or the shower. But the staff were friendly, even though we didn't speak Japanese. It is directly across the street from the JR station, where all the buses also depart from, so it is very convenient. You can also pay an additional 500-600 yen for breakfast -- Western style or Japanese style. We had the Japanese breakfast, which was quite good -- including salmon, rice and miso soup. People noted the limited availability of non-smoking rooms -- be sure when you book it that it is for non-smoking if that is your preference because there are a limited number of non-smoking rooms.

We visited the much written about jigoku/hells. We went to the Northern 6 -- of which, only the top 2 (Oniishibozu-Jigoku and Umi-Jigoku) are worth seeing. The other 4 (Yama, Kamado, Oniyama, and Shiraike) are very commercialized and tacky. They are easy to access by the city bus, which departs from the Station.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 213LAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights in December 2008. The price was fine at 7500 Y per nite for a twin room (I preboooked using Rakuten).

Unfortunately for me, all I could get was a smoking room. I had really hoped to change it to non smoking when I got there, but I could not. Realized once I was there only 2 floors out of 12 are non smoking...so...that was that.

For an additional 600Y you can get breakfast, either Japanese or Western Style. They ask you on checkin if you want it..we initally declined, then changed out mind. I think they make as many meals as people have booked for and it certainly throws them off if you try and order the breakfast by paying cash etc. My advice-just pay for and get the coupons for breaksfast when you check in. You get a decent and quick meal for the price.

Advantages-right across from the train station.
Disadavantages-no ice machine in the hotel (although you do get a fridge and ice cube plastic tray if you want to make your own) and of course the smoky rooms.

No onsen in the hotel, but one is within 2 blocks for 300Y and there are plenty of others in town.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MapleG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2007

Hotel has a great location for those who want to travel around Beppu, its across the street from the JR Beppu station.
The disadvantage is that the hotel doesn't have its own hot spring, but there are at least 2 hot springs nearby so one can always go there.
The hotel is built in a maritime style. The staff is nice. The breakfast we didn't try but saw the price, 500 yen per person.
We had a room with sea view which was nice.
The room was very small, twin bed room. The bathroom was big enough, with the modern bidet toilet. The room was a bit dated, would need a paint job, especially the ceiling, but otherwise it was nice and very cheap (only about 9000 yen per night for 2 people).
The beds were comfortable.
The lobby is on the 2nd floor, the restaurant on the 1. floor and in front of the restaurant is also the vending machine.
Close to the hotel are enough restaurants and inside the station is a small mall.
We stayed here 2 nights, did an excursion to Mt Aso, the volcano (definitelly recommended excursion) and around Beppu, to the Hells (Jigoku's).
If you visit the Hells, some of them have special foot hot springs. Deeping your feet into the water is an absolute must! The feet feel great afterwards. You can even buy a towel in the machine by the hot spring for 200 yen or inside the shop for 400 yen.
Also try the eggs cooked in the Hells. :)

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lumikello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank grand355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazrody7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ヤッシー
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beppu hotels
Beppu Onsen
Beppu Station Hotel
Beppu Station Hotel
#32 of 138 in Beppu
55 reviews
Beppu Onsen
Hotel Sun Valley
Hotel Sun Valley
#63 of 138 in Beppu
78 reviews
Beppu Onsen
Hotel Aile
Hotel Aile
#9 of 138 in Beppu
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beppu Daiiti Hotel
#14 of 138 in Beppu
73 reviews
Beppu Station
Nishitetsu Resort Inn Beppu
Beppu Ekimae Hotel Hayashi
#107 of 138 in Beppu
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sea Wave Beppu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sea Wave Beppu

Address: 12-8 Ekimaecho, Beppu 874-0935, Oita Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Oita Prefecture > Beppu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 138 Hotels / Ryokan in Beppu
Price Range: $59 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sea Wave Beppu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sea Wave Beppu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing