We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$63
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveler rating
50
82
43
1
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
50
82
43
1
7
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 183 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We came here after finding this ryokan on the Rakuten Travel site. Because we mentioned the Rakuten site, we got a 1500 yen discount per person on our room. That was a savings of 4500 yen for the three of us. We were pleasantly surprised and happy with the rooms and friendly staff. Enjoyed the semi open air wood and stone onsen (Hinoki) and appreciated the free Wifi in the rooms. We had stayed at a different hotel (dump) the night before for more money and thought that these accommodations were ten times better. Near the sea, Takegawara Onsen (definitely try the sand bath), the station, lots of shops and restaurants and You Me department store that has everything you could ever want.

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Camille R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This is a really good place to stay in when visiting Beppu.
It’s just 1 minute walk to the famous Takegawara Onsen where you can try sand bath, and it’s not far from Beppu Station. If you walk out of the ryokan entrance, turn right and walk for less than 1 minute, you come to the main street filled with restaurants. There is a conv.store (Daily Yamazaki) and a post office (where you can use foreign country credit card to take out cash) close by.

Our room was very large and spacy. There was a Japanese table and two chairs, a western table and two chairs, a fridge, a water boiler for tea/cup nudles, and a TV. The wi-fi was very good; we could upload video clips on FaceBook in no time and web cam was working great on Skype. Yukata was provided. The futon was good, we slept well. There was a separate WC room and a separate shower room.
The only complaint we had was that - I can’t really put this in English but - there was almost no pressure in the shower, the water came out slow, and it took long before the temperature changed from cold to warm.

When visiting Beppu you of course try the Japanese onsen. But when traveling with your partner you can never bath together. We therefore recommend you to book a Japanese style bath at Nogami Honkan when staying there – it’s totally free of charge! We tried the “HINOKI”, it was very nice.

We also want to recommend a little restaurant close by – Biriken. It’s next to Daily Yamazaki conv.store (you can’t miss it when you come out to the main street from the ryokan). It has display dishes out front, and a little monster sitting by the door. They offer a lot of different dishes, have good prices, menu in English, they gave us more to drink in our glasses than we ever got elsewhere in Japan and it has a nice atmosphere (even cute music ^^). Go there for dinner when staying at Nogami Honkan!

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A-K_Erno
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed for two nights here and enjoyed it a lot much due to the nice onsens. The three private paths are free and at least one of them is available most of the time. There are also public baths for men and women. A very positive side of this ryokan. That said it is a bit worn down - a bit smelly and not clean. The location is good about 5 minutes walk from the station and close to the ocean where you can stroll by the water. We thought it was good value!

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank froderik
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Upon arrival dismayed to discover that the hotel/ryokan is quite a bit older than expected, with more than a few uneven floors and 'old smokey' smell.

We were initially put into a smoking room, despite requesting otherwise, which was rectified soonafter, however the floors are not separated into smoking/non-smoking, so there was the occasional bad smoking odour even in our room.

The private bathroom attached to our room had no hot water for the shower, we had to get help from the staff to even get the bath running hot water, which it did only after 5 minutes running cold.

The onsen/family bath was fantastic, worth visiting even if not staying at the hotel.

The western breakfast was quite good, and quite large.

We had dinner one of the nights, but were put in the less-attractive breakfast area, which was largely dissappointing. This was a bit of a mystery to us, as the nicer dining areas were not full, and we were sitting at a basic table setting on vinyl floor as opposed to sitting on tatami would have been far more enjoyable.

The room was spacious, with some decent views of the nearby mountains. The service was great, with hot water for tea with a locally made sweet to accompany on a daily basis. All of the little old maids are very nice and always willing to help where they can.

The hotel was close to full during our stay, and the noise from the other guests sometimes caused disturbances.

If you can deal with a few rough edges, and except this place for what it is, you will have a nice time. If you are looking for a prestine ryokan experience, you will have to spend a few more dollars.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hayley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

My son and I stayed here and it was great! The staff was friendly, helpful and the front desk was always manned. We liked it so much; we spent a second night here. With three private baths available (06:00 – 24:00), there was no problem in reserving one

Although it is located within a short walking from the JR Beppu Station, we took a taxi (700 JPY) when we first arrived. I plan on staying here again on my next trip to Beppu. Starbucks and 7/11 is just around the corner.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hansode_Ojisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews