We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Luxurious Onsen Resort - Perfection”
Review of Seikai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Seikai
Ranked #1 of 138 Hotels / Ryokan in Beppu
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
“Absolute Luxurious Onsen Resort – Perfection”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The 5 storey Hare building and 8 storey Umi building were connected from 1st to 4th floors. With a total of 48 rooms, each had its own in-room onsen viewing Beppu Bay.

Onsen: The warmth from stony in-room onsen and the cool breezes from Beppu Bay would sooth your mind and body in tranquility. The open-air onsen on first floor had a fantastic close touch with Beppu Bay, you could hear the gentle splash of sea waves while relaxing in a secluded but yet semi-open area with greeneries around. It was preferable than the public in-door onsen on 8th floor.

Massage: I had a 1 hour massage in Aromatherapy salon R, needed to be booked ahead of time, and was offered an extra 10 mins hand massage for a trial price of 500yen.
Sheer Pearl on 8th floor for spa treatment.

Cuisine: Had dinner in Eitaro was a real feast with seafood. 2 hours of night Live music band and free coffee and tea served was on 1st floor Sweet Basil and Bar. As a tourist, I won’t choose Banya which seemed to be serving fusion cuisine. Gen restaurant could be your next choice if Eitaro was full house.
Breakfast in next morning was most special among all onsen hotels I had been to so far.

Room: We stayed in room ‘E’ on roof top garden setting of Hare 5/F. This spacious western style room had large twin bed, living room, massage chair and in-room onsen with TV display. It was playing spa music while we check-in the room (They were selling the disc for 2600 yen).

Service: Excellent service. Staff including bell captain and receptionists, were helpful and friendly. Waitress reminding us not to rush while eating breakfast though we were the last couple in the restaurant.
Great amenities, large range of yukata for ladies, clogs provided within the hotel were also special.

Wi-fi: Available on lobby and in rooms of Umi building

Access: East exit of JR Beppu station
1. Taxi fare around 1500-2000 yen
2. Bus #26 or 50, takes 20 mins for 270 yen per person. Get off at ‘Yasuragi-mae’, where there was a KFC on side of road. Seikai was diagonally across the road.
3. Nearest local train station – 10 mins walk from Beppu daigaku-eki (university station)

Can’t wait to return to Seikai, next time would stay at least 3 nights to fully enjoy it as a resort.

Despite there is a new reservation page in English on its website, it has limited dinner choice. If you wish to treat yourself with a good dinner, try the more difficult reservation in Japanese.

Room Tip: Room E to H for romantic couples, even if you aren’t staying on 5/F of Hare building, take time to p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GGHolliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seikai, フロント at Seikai, responded to this review, May 22, 2015
Thank you for your stay with Seikai hotel.
We are so happy for your great comments and hope you enjoyed your visit.
Hope you enjoy the dinner of GEN when you come Seikai.
We are looking forward to meeting you again on near future.
Thank you very much and best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    66
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
110
97
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Our stay in Seikai is definitely the highlight of our trip to Osaka and Kyushu. We definitely enjoyed it and felt very relaxiing.

The staffs are very helpful and polite. We printed the instructions (in Japanese) they sent us to catch a taxi to hotel.

Room Tip: Dine in the hotel. You won't be disappointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EnjoyOurLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have to say that the hotel was one of the nicest hotels I have stayed at in Japan. The room was large and beautiful. A great view of the sea. The private outside bath overlooking the sea was amazing. The staff was polite. While not a cheap place to stay, you get great value for your money I think.

The food in the kaiseki restaurant and the seafood restaurant was amazing. I did 'half board' with the room. This gets you amazing dinners and a large Japanese breakfast. Not much English was spoke in the restaurant, but everyone tried hard and this did not get in the way of a nice dinner. I would recommend getting your dinner reservations set at the same time you do your hotel reservations. That gets you the restaurant and the time you want. But good luck trying to change them after they are made. I tried to do that and I got a polite, "that will be sadly impossible". I am sure they already bought the food for that evening.

The town of beppu itself is nothing to write home about. You need a cab to get around it if you are not on a tour. Very little you can just walk to, and nothing around the hotel. But if you just stay in the hotel and enjoy it and it's onsen you should be right as rain! Keep in mind they they do close the onsen during part of the afternoon, which I found a bit unfortunate if you want to hang around the hotel. There are other great onsen in the area that may be worth seeing if you enjoy them like I do.

A nice stop if you are enjoying southern Honshu, as it is a fairly short train ride to get there. Take a cab from the main train station.

Room Tip: The 'western' style rooms were just great, and still had a nice 'Japanese' feel to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Onsen: The first floor rotenburo overlooking the ocean was AMAZING. The 8th floor onsen was also very nice.

Room: We stayed in Type A room and it was better than we expected. The room was so HUGE and spotless clean with two really comfortable double size beds (I think they were Simmons mattresses), 10-jo tatami area, sitting area, and a private roten with a separate shower room.

Dinner: We had dinner at Banya, but the food was just so so and the service was a bit disappointing. We wanted to order from the menu, but their menu book was written only in Japanese. Since our Japanese skill was limited, we asked our waitress if she could kindly explain the menu to us. But she just recommended a few dishes to us (without explaining the menu) in fast talking Japanese. Hmmm...Banya needs to improve their waitstaff training.

Breakfast: Breakfast at Aetarou was really delicious. We loved the seafood miso soup, rice & yaki fish. The service at Aetarou was great.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JapanMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I have been to 潮騒の宿 晴海 last month. I have chosen a room I in Umi building, The room was stylish, clean and tidy, it had got a terrace, which I could enjoy the sea breeze, sunrise and sunset. The dinner and breakfast there were both tasty. Really worth to visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bingbingho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Open air hot spring bath (Onsen) with wonderful ocean view, absolute Japanese foods(Kaiseki) with perfect Japanese sake (Peach flavor)... although it was for my grandma's 89th birthday, it was the moment that I can be proud to be Japanese.

We only had a Kaiseki course dinner @ Japanese restaurant "Gen" and Onsen (Onsen is free if you have a meal at the restaurant), but we were absolutely delighted by their great and warm hospitality from right after we arrived to the end of our dinner.

Onsen water made our skin smooth and soft, Kaiseki foods satisfied our stomach and great hospitality we received... it was a perfect birthday present for my grandma. Definitely two thumbs up!

Next year we will be back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kyushugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Stay here for only one night with big families. The room is really spacious, luxury and super comfortable with perfect amenities. The rate included dinner & breakfast , both were superb indeed. Quality of food & service were very impressive.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PLtara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beppu hotels
Beppu Onsen
Hotel Shiragiku
Hotel Shiragiku
#7 of 138 in Beppu
196 reviews
Beppu Station
Hotel Umine
Hotel Umine
#4 of 138 in Beppu
139 reviews
Beppu Station
Nishitetsu Resort Inn Beppu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beppu Station
Umikaoru Yado Hotel New Matsumi
Beppu Onsen
Suginoi Hotel
Suginoi Hotel
#2 of 138 in Beppu
831 reviews
Beppu Onsen
Hana Beppu
Hana Beppu
#6 of 138 in Beppu
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seikai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seikai

Property: Seikai
Address: 6-24 Shoningahamacho, Beppu 874-0023, Oita Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Oita Prefecture > Beppu > Beppu Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 138 Hotels / Ryokan in Beppu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seikai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering dynamic sea views from the comfort of an open-air bath on the beach as well as luxurious guest rooms All rooms are ocean view, with open-air bath and strong individuality styles, with three places to eat. Our "hot spring resort traditional hotel" will put a smile on your face 【Tourism website, as our recommendation】 If your plan in Japan is not decided yet, we strongly recommend using the “Huber. TOMODACHI GUIDE". By this Huber. TOMODACHI GUIDE, they help you organize the best plans including the places only locals know for free. If you pay, the guides can show you around these places too, so feel free to start talking to local guides through this!! Please make most of following discount code. 「tKqmpzfP」 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Rakuten, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seikai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing