We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so so”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Europe Nagasaki
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels / Ryokan in Sasebo
Certificate of Excellence
JPN
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“so so”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

it is good, but expensive.
If it is more cheap cost, it is great.
but this quality and service are not satisfy

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dooona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    103
    28
    14
    4
See reviews for
129
69
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The outlook of the hotel is great and there are a lot of beautiful flowers inside the lobby. The hotel is located in the free zone of Huis Ten Bosch, park south gate is right outside the door. However, the property is quite old, quite smelly once you get into the room. I cannot believe a self-rated 5 stars hotel have no pool, no gym and no in-room internet access (no WIFI nor wired). The only place you can access to internet is on the left hand corner of the coffe shop in the lobby, be sure to ask for a password.

There are about 300 rooms total in 6 storeys, only 2 elevators could be find and their static movement can definately give you a good rest while waiting for and travelling on them. Hotel uses refillable shampoo, shower gel and conditioner but they are not refilled frequently, the shower gel almost ran out when I arrive at my room. Their washlet does not have tempearture control, beware when you use it in winter.

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious, make sure you request for a room close to the elevator lobby if you do not want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Frederick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We've stayed at this hotel in April for just 1 night. As a part of our package of room+park access, we found it not too expensive to stay right inside the park. The overall atmosphere was very good if you think you are in Kyushu since they have done a terrific job transforming japan into Europe. Staffs were very helpful and polite. Rooms was good. We had a good night sleep.

However, a little hick up would be the outdate decoration. I know they tried to make it looks like the ancient european hotel, but the elevator was a bit too old. The noise and the buttons made us feel a bit strange.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

It is not well-known to tourists visiting Japan that the Netherlands had been the only European country with which Japan maintains trade and commerce relationship during 17th ~ 19th centuries. And Nagasaki was the only trading port.
Such history will be the reason why Dutch style Hues Ten Bosch, meaning ‘house in forest’ , theme park was build in this Nagasaki area.

This time, we stayed in the Hotel Europe, flagship hotel of the park, located in the centre of a huge site built alongshore of the beautiful Omura bay.

To its details, most of the architecture in this theme park is designed and decorated in European, I should say ‘Dutch’, style, however, none of the other buildings can exceed the Hotel Europe in its dignity, atmosphere and ‘reality’. It could make you believe that you are roaming in one of the European towns, if you do not notice that major part of the ‘town-folks’ you come across is Japanese.

We stayed in luxury twin room on the 6th floor. The room is comfortably spacious, more than 50 square meters, with a view-bath, twin washing stands and a separated study that is quite unique in Japanese hotels. You will be able to enjoy fireworks over the bay at night, if you book the ocean-view rooms.
L’occitane shampoo and rose-flavored bubble bath will surely please room guests, however, the most impressive service I found, though it very simple one, was that more than 3 bath towels ( per guests ) are prepared in the room. Bath lovers, including me, will surely appreciate this sort of hospitality.

In its variety of restaurants and coffee shops, we recommend that you should go to Kissui-tei, Japanese restaurant, located in the adjacent building. You will enjoy, due to its location, the calm and separated atmosphere in this rather crowded theme park hotel. Prices are reasonable especially for lunch.

If you are not with your kids, please take a walk alongside the bay and in-park canals, during early morning before the park opens, or in evening after the park closes. ( The hotel is ‘in’ the theme park ). This, being able to enjoy the park regardless of its opening hours, will be one of the largest benefits to stay in this hotel. ( But please kindly note that no attraction facilities and shops are open after the park closes. )

Although it is not a hide-away type hotel, you can still enjoy the 5-star services and relaxed atmosphere in this hotel. If you would like to experience Europe in Nagasaki, Japan, I do recommend this Hotel Europe.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank chocolate_Library
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

My family and I decided to make a stop at Huis Ten Bosch during our Christmas holiday to the Nagasaki area, and so booked a night at the Hotel Europe. Considering the time of year, and that we were in Japan, and this was supposed to be the nicest hotel in the complex, the price didn't seem particularly astronomical. It is a bit challenging to book as an independent traveler, but if you call the International sales number on their website, the service is very responsive and impeccable.

We arrived on the JR train from Nagasaki, which took about an hour and a half. Upon alighting from the train, we realized that there were no elevators to the station from the platform, which made our luggage a bit difficult, but out of nowhere a very kind, silver-haired conductor ran down the steps and insisted on bringing our toddler's stroller up the steps. That obstacle hurdled, we stepped out of the station to face a walk over a river to the park, and to the Park's own hotel check-in center (it's another 10-15 minute walk, but there are baggage trolleys). At that center, you basically leave your bags, they give you bag tickets, and then you are free to enjoy the park. It's a logical system given the late check-in time of 3pm.

We arrived at the hotel after a fairly full day (it's on the far side of the park), around 4pm, and hoped to check in. There, in the elegant, authentically old world continental lobby, were about 50-70 other people with the same idea. There were 8-10 check-in counters, which makes sense given the daily late afternoon spike in demand for room keys. The total check-in time took about 25 minutes. Despite the rush, a staff member took the time to escort us to the room, which was quite impressive. The room was very large by Japanese standards, and designed elegantly in the way you might find a 5-star heritage property in Europe. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was very attractively designed. The bathroom was also quite spacious, sparkling clean and user-friendly.

We didn't try a restaurant on the property for dinner (if you want to, be sure to book dinner reservations in advance) but there was a wonderful Japanese hotpot restaurant just outside the hotel front gate to the right. For breakfast we did have coupons for a large buffet breakfast in a large ballroom. It was quite good, not exceptional but solid and very filling. Upon checkout, there is a bus that takes one back to the check-in area near the train station, although I would recommend either waiting early for the bus, or to leave at an earlier hour, as we checked out at 10am or so and again lots of people had the same idea, which meant that some people didn't get a seat on the bus.

It was a nice experience, and a very elegant hotel, but because all the guests pretty much have the same idea to do things at the same time it does constrain the service bandwidth to some extent. But I enjoyed it, it was a property worthy of 5 stars, and Iwould recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Public_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sasebo hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nikko Huis Ten Bosch
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam
#3 of 42 in Sasebo
261 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Okura JR Huis Ten Bosch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel Nagasaki, Huis Ten Bosch
0.2 mi away
Forest Villa
Forest Villa
#11 of 42 in Sasebo
100 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lorelei
Hotel Lorelei
#6 of 42 in Sasebo
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europe Nagasaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europe Nagasaki

Property: Hotel Europe Nagasaki
Address: 7-7 Huis Ten Bosch, Sasebo 859-3293, Nagasaki Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Nagasaki Prefecture > Sasebo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sasebo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sasebo
#3 Family Hotel in Sasebo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europe Nagasaki 4*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Europe Nagasaki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europe Nagasaki Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing