We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Grande Ocean Resort
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels / Ryokan in Miyazaki
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not so great”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

I was actually quite disappointed by this hotel. I do not fault the rooms, which are large and very comfortable. The location, though, unless you are a golfer, is very inconvenient, quite a distance from the city and its attractions.

The restaurant was out of the way, and could only be accessed by an exterior door. And once you finally got there, the service was poor [which is rare in Japan], and the food ultra mediocre. In spite of high prices, my dinner and breakfast were barely acceptable.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank takki2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seagaia, Manager at Sheraton Grande Ocean Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Warm Greeting from Sheraton Grande Ocean Resort in Miyazaki, Japan.

We are sincerely sorry about the inconvenience you've experienced at our facilities.

We will promise that restaurants will make efforts to improve food and services for our valued guests.

We also deeply apologize the inconvenience with transportations to and from the centre Miyazaki.

We are hoping you to come stay with us again in future if you have a chance.

Thank you for your valuable advice and comments.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    267
    65
    18
    8
See reviews for
265
166
33
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Wife and I travelled with another couple, and stayed at the Sheraton Grande for 3 days in a standard room.

Room: As with most properties in Japan, this hotel was built some time ago. Clean rooms, but feels like the decor hasn't been updated since the 80's. If you do not smoke, then you MUST insist on having a non-smoking room.

Common Areas: Best way to describe it is a 4-star Japanese beach resort. It is what it is.

Food: In Japan, you never get anything that's truly terrible. The Sheraton restaurants, though not top-notch, are good. In any case, downtown only 20 minutes away, so not a problem.

Spa/Pool/Onsen: Pool was flooded by small children. Invidual outside onsen available for 5000yen per hour, and well worth the cost.

So the hotel itself is a quality establishment, but the best part of the hotel is its proximity to the Phoenix Country Club. Simply put, the courses are magnificent. Surrounded by majestic ocean pines, fairways like runways, course designed to make you use all your clubs (I carry 12 clubs, and I used them all numerous times).

Wife and I don't like repeat destinations, but we are definitely coming back to Miyazaki, and really the only acceptable hotel choice is this one.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2007

This hotel was one of several on our ten day tour of Japan, using our JR rail pass. Our (two other guys and myself) thinking was that we would balance our 'city' tours with a 'beach' tour to be able to relax and recharge for the next busy Japanese city. This hotel was particularly attractive from the photos on the Sheraton website and the price was abnormally low - less than 100$ per night for a triple room. We originally planned to stay for one night but extended it once we got there.

We arrived at Miyzazaki station in the rain and at about 2100. There was no signage or indications of any hotel shuttle and the tourism office was closed. We took a taxi which came to about 4000 Yen. It was about a 15 minute ride. The taxi drivers in Japan are top notch.

The hotel and resort are just enormous but it was more than apparent that we arrived in the down season for the hotel. At least it appeared this way as we would rarely see other guests in the hotel. Despite this impression, a non smoking room was not available and I believe we were finally upgraded to accomodate our non smoking requirement.

The lobby is very grand and spread over several floors. The architecture is very elaborate, yet tasteful. It is spotless (like most Japanese things) and very well light by natural light. The staff is also extremely helpful with a good level of English.

The room was great and had a great view over the golf course and the beach. It was very large, with a separate toilet and bathroom which were in a separated part of the room. We had two double beds and one very comfortable pullaway bed.

We had really gone to this resort for a beach. We thought it strange however that this seemed to be the biggest 'secret' at the hotel. Despite being a 'resort' the hotel website makes no mention of beach access. Also, asking the taxi driver, he said there was none and too dangerous - only for surfers. At the front desk, the staff informed us that we could go but the 'police' would stop us from going into the water.

With this in mind, we gave up on the beach for the first day and went to the artificial water park which is within 10 minute walking distance from the hotel. It was great to see it for its kitsch value and because it is the largest in the world, but was sort of a mistake - it was just empty. 20 guests in total?

On the last day, we rented bikes from the activity centre which is really cheap and the best decision we made at this hotel. The surrounding area of the hotel is great and so well manicured. We rode to the local shopping mall which was excellent and brought back tons of shopping in our bike baskets. On the way back, we took a detour and found the beach! it was beautiful (see photos) and a shame we had not discovered it the day before or even earlier in the day. The sand is volacanic, so grey and very fine. The sunset was beautiful and we got our feet wet before going back to the hotel - we regret not finding it earlier.

I would recommend this hotel if you are passing through and the rates are good. Also, if you are into golf or having a corporate event. Otherwise, there is nothing to do at this hotel and you are really in the middle of nowhere. Whilst there is a shuttle into the downtown or the shopping mall, there is no hugely compelling reason to come to this hotel unless you are really into golf. If you do go, you must rent bikes or do some local activities organized by the activity centre.

The indoor pool, sauna, lounge and excercise room looked excellent but they are a per usage charge. I don't think that should be the case, especially when there isn't anything else to do in the area. The outdoor pool was also closed and this was June! The restaurants were also quite pricey - not great for families. The bakery downstairs is great for breakfast and a sandwich or pastry for lunch.

A special note to one of the staff members who was wonderful. One of the guys lost his wallet and the staff memeber at the desk bent over backwards to call all the JR stations along our route and their lost and found service.

Andrew Wong

  • Liked — the entire facility
  • Disliked — location, lack of free activities on site
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank BusyFlyingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2006

We went to Miyazaki as a side trip from our time in Tokyo. The hotel is certainly grand and all of the rooms were corner rooms -- windows on two sides. Our room was very large with a sitting area, ample closet space, a large bath/shower area (with a fabulous showerhead) on the 22 floor. We overlooked the ocean and the golf course. Spa services were plentiful, relaxing and pleasurable. The Staff were efficient, friendly and had a very good sense of humor. Considering that our Japanese was very limited, we all did a lot of miming which caused laughter from both sides. We rented bicycles and toured the grounds of the resort area. There are many restaurants in the hotel with a coffee shop included for those of us that needed our decaf not to be instant. If you don't play golf, enjoy Spa services or use the Indoor beach next door, you will be a little bored in the area. Brush up on your Japanese and you'll have a great time.

  • Liked — The room itself
  • Disliked — Pool was closed -- we were out of season
  • Tips/Secrets — Brush up on your Japanese. This hotel is not on the beaten path for Westerners.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank No_Camping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2006

You can have a simply delightful time at the resort if you make the correct booking decisions. It can be confusing because while the staff speaks English and genuinely desires to provide great service, the language barrier is greater here than at some other Japanese hotels.

The Health Club includes nice exercise facilities and a large pool and steam room. It is free to "Grand Suite" guests but costs Y=2,100 per person otherwise.

The Onsen (Hot tub spas) are simply superb and are first class by Japanese standards. But the pricing structure is confusing. They are entirely free to "Grand Suite" guests. Other hotel guests pay Y=1,500 per person per visit or Y=2,500 per person for one day with in-and-out privileges. (This includes access to both the public onsen and the hotel-guests onsen.) Non-hotel onsen users must pay Y=6,000 per person and they may only use the public onsen.

Private villa onsens (two persons, private and secluded) are Y=4,000 per hour for Grand Suite Guests, Y=5,000 per hour for hotel guests, and Y=10,000 for all others. I recommend two hours so that you don't feel rushed. This is a wonderful way to spend time with your loved one with complete and total privacy with wonderful scenery.

Grand Suite Guests receive two complimentary breakfast buffet coupons (Value Y=2,000 each). The breakfast buffet is amazing. The selections are generous and the food is freshly prepared. (The chefs are out in the kitchen preparing in front of your eyes.)

If you are getting the impression that the seemingly pricey Grand Suite upgrade is possibly worthwhile you are correct. If you fully utilize the facilities then it is a reasonable option. Plus, when you flash your Grand Suite key-card the staff drops what they are doing and helps you in preference to other tasks and guests. They literally glow when they see the Grand Suite card.

("Grand Suite" is essentially the same room as their standard rate, but is a bundled package that includes full use of the hotel facilities. So, the rooms aren't all that different, but the bundling is superior.)

Non-buffet meals are costly, starting at about Y=8,000 and quickly going up to Y=20,000 per person and higher. We didn't partake in any of them because spending $500 on dinner was out of our budget.

The service was good, the staff was typical of a fine Japanese hotel: always willing to try to help. English among the staff was very limited, but that wasn't really a problem because there is lots of English signage.

If you ask in advance they may bundle the Y=1,500 daily internet access into the Grand Suite rate, but that is a discretion that they have when you book.

Happy Hour drinks on the 43rd floor from 5Pm to 7:30 are also free to Grand Suite guests.

The only complaint is that the outdoor swimming pool wasn't vacuumed and had leaves on the bottom. Apparently its maintenance isn't a priority except in July and August. (The Health Club pool is indoors on the 3rd floor.)

The resort is nice, the hotel is fresh and well maintained, the buffet is absolutely spectacular (Did I mention the 5 tier Chocolate fondue fountain?) But by far the main reason to stay here is the wonderful Onsen.

(An "Onsen" is essentially a Japanese hot-tub for those new to Japanese travels.)

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Kovanen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2006

This is an incredibly luxurious high-class hotel on the beautiful southeast coast of Kyushu. I stayed here for a week while attending a conference at the adjacent convention center. I paid only 16000 yen for a double room; with the current strength of the euro against the yen, this is astonishingly cheap for such a fancy hotel (about 110 euro). I suppose the value of this hotel would depend somewhat on what kind of deal you were able to get on the room.

I was staying in an "ordinary" room, which was 50 square meters with a fabulous sweeping view of the coast and of Miyazaki to the south (as all the rooms have). Since I was here on business I didn't try any of the hotel's extra facilities - as others have noted everything is pretty pricey. In-room high-speed internet cost the enormous fee of 1500 yen per day.

There are quite a variety of restaurants and bars in the hotel, and all those I tried were incredibly good- the bars on the 43rd floor are particularly nice, even for the view alone.

The whole resort area is somewhat isolated from the town, about 20 minutes (and 2000 yen) from the train station by taxi. There is a shuttle bus to the city center however, which I found fairly convenient. Also, it's definitely worth taking some time to see the Nichinan coast if you're in this area; the scenery is truly unmissable.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kymberand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
896 reviews
484 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 952 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2006

I believe the previous poster enjoyed his stay because he was a Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) Platinum member and the hotel "comped" him access to its nicer facilities (pool, onsen, lounge, etc.). As a lowly gold in the SPG program, the hotel was not willing to "cut me a deal" to upgrade to these benefits. It was "cash only," and they wanted too much cash! Like $20/person per day to use the indoor swimming pool? That's ridiculous -- what resort charges for access to its pool? Similarly, my family wanted to use the onsen (hot springs bath), but it would have cost us nearly $100 to do so. That's just silly.

I was given a large room for my family with a lovely ocean view (all rooms face the ocean), albeit without Sheraton's new "luxury" beds. But what good is staying in a resort if you can't use the faciltiies? We did try the next-door Ocean Dome, which had been lavishly praised in the Frommers tourbook (although panned elsewhere). While modestly interesting to kids (good water slides), it's overall pretty lame -- they don't turn on "real" waves except for the surfing show (when you're not allowed to swim!) and for 20 minutes at the end of the day for "bodyboarding" (extra fee as large as general admission). At least we had the place to ourselves (obviously, the locals share my view).

If you do wind up staying here, make sure you get yourself a car. You'll need an IDP to get one, but driving is remarkably easy due to modest traffic and plenty of English signage. Club Tocoo has great rates. If you pick it up at the airport, see if an English speaker is available to help with the rental paperwork. Otherwise, you'll be a prisoner of Seagaia and won't be easily able to see the local attractions. I highly recommend the drive south along the coast to Aoshima and beyond, to the "Peace Tower" and its fascinating gardens, to Aya and -- as a long day trip -- the volcano and Kagoshima.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miyazaki hotels
Aoshima Onsen
ANA Holiday Inn Resort MIYAZAKI
Tamayura Onsen
Miyazaki Kanko Hotel
Miyazaki Kanko Hotel
#6 of 58 in Miyazaki
227 reviews
Miyazaki Station
Richmond Hotel Miyazaki Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miyazaki Station
Hotel JAL City Miyazaki
Hotel JAL City Miyazaki
#2 of 58 in Miyazaki
413 reviews
Aoshima Onsen
Aoshima Grand Hotel
Aoshima Grand Hotel
#17 of 58 in Miyazaki
71 reviews
JR Kyushu Hotel Miyazaki
#5 of 58 in Miyazaki
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grande Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grande Ocean Resort

Property: Sheraton Grande Ocean Resort
Address: Hamayama, Yamasakicho, Miyazaki 880-8545, Miyazaki Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Miyazaki Prefecture > Miyazaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Miyazaki
#1 Family Hotel in Miyazaki
#2 Business Hotel in Miyazaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grande Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 745
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Expedia, Priceline, Starwood APAC, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grande Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Grande Ocean Hotel Miyazaki
Sheraton Miyazaki
Miyazaki Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing