We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Peaceful at tune with nature

The sacred island is still sacred to the Japanese . There was a traditional wedding at the temple... read more

Reviewed September 12, 2016
steverA8718SU
,
Naples, Florida
via mobile
Peaceful shrine in forested grounds. Visit the old houses behind the shrine as well.

When we arrived in Miyazaki it was early afternoon so we took a bus from our hotel to the shrine... read more

Reviewed September 15, 2015
hfot2
,
Vermont
Read all 278 reviews
  
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Miyazaki
from $46.49
More Info
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveler rating
105
128
45
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
105
128
45
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews festival stroll tourists shrine japanese
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 278 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2016 via mobile

The sacred island is still sacred to the Japanese . There was a traditional wedding at the temple which was marked by its simplicity and serenity To bad we had pouring rain throughout our visit but saw the beauty anyway in contra distinction of western places of worship This place is definitely sacred .

Date of experience: September 2016
2  Thank steverA8718SU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2015

First Emperor Jinmu Tenno had departed from Miyazaki and moved to Kashihara(Nara).
Ship replica of at the time of the departure from the harbor is exhibited.
October 31 is Jinmu Festival. In the downtown area, parades and projection mapping is planned.

Date of experience: September 2015
1  Thank 36ryuichik
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2015

When we arrived in Miyazaki it was early afternoon so we took a bus from our hotel to the shrine. It was an easy ride and the bus dropped us off in the parking area right in front of the main torii to the shrine.

From the torii it is a pleasant walk under tall cedars through the Miyazaki Shrine Forest to the main building. It was quiet and peaceful, not many visitors, neither locals nor tourists. The shrine is rather stark in brown unpainted cedar. It is described as the oldest shrine in the city.

After visiting the religious buildings, proceed down a path through the forest to see several old thatched roof houses which were were brought to the Shrine Forest from around Miyazaki prefecture and reconstructed here. This is perhaps even more interesting than the shrine itself.

The houses look to be surrounded by gardens which were rather dull in November with only a few plants were blooming. One of the structures had an attached building storing old farm equipment. The houses were open and could be entered.

The Prefectural Museum is also here, but it was closed when we visited.

Visitors tip - there are toilets tucked away in this area of the forest and also near the entrance to the shrine in the parking area.

Date of experience: November 2014
2  Thank hfot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This shrine has a pleasant park. The grounds are well maintained and serenely laid out. Be sure to visit the Prefectural Museum next door if you're in this area.

Date of experience: February 2014
1  Thank LaurelPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I visited the Shrine at a sunny day just after typhoon. The colour of sky was so blue and the water colours on that date were great. The shrine itself is so so but the water colours and stone lines on the water, hills create a natural harmony.

Date of experience: October 2013
1  Thank Marcus567
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews