We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveler rating
56
99
47
8
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
56
99
47
8
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 212 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2017 via mobile

Right next to the train station and tram stop which takes you directly to the castle or the shopping district. Nice comfortable rooms of a decent size. Friendky staff and good English. Wifi works fine. nice place to stay at a reasonable price.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank WHISKASyKANGOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ザ・ニューホテル熊本, お客様担当マネージャー at The New Hotel Kumamoto, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2018

Thank you for sharing your review with us.&Thank you for your favorable feedback. It really warms our hearts!
Our warm hospitality awaits your return sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile

We where on our way to karoshima as our jr train was cancelled because of the typhoon. So this was the last stop for the day. We searched on line to find the closest hotel n this was it. Walking distance. Down side of it, its so quiet. Have to take a tram ride to the main city. Lots of site seeing. Loved the 1 Night stay, our room was spacious and clean. Staff where lovely an helpful.
Would definitely come back to stay for a bit longer next time.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 96tarar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ザ・ニューホテル熊本, お客様担当マネージャー at The New Hotel Kumamoto, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2018

The Management and Staff would like to thank you for the wonderful comments.
We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017

The hotel lobby and its rooms look a outdated. But they are clean.

We stayed at the Kumamon themed room which is quite pricy. We are indeed not a big fans so we don't find it very worth it. Hotel location is close to Kumamoto train station which is not close to main shopping area. We need to take a 15-20 tram ride to get to 上通, 下通商店.

Next time I would rather book something closer to 上通, 下通 (if you are driving like us and not taking train)

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank joicee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ザ・ニューホテル熊本, お客様担当マネージャー at The New Hotel Kumamoto, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2018


Thank you very much for having the night at The New Hotel Kumamoto.
I will do my best in the future, so please do come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017

Very nice business style hotel close to the station and the bus stops. Very nice bar in the basement, although the food was pricey. Standard corporate hotel but very clean, comfortable and with helpful and friendly staff.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lizi7696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ザ・ニューホテル熊本, お客様担当マネージャー at The New Hotel Kumamoto, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2018



Thank you very much for using The New Hotel Kumamoto.
I will do my best in the future, so please do come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2017

It is adjacent to the Kumamoto train station so it is an easy walk. The room I had was pretty big so it was very comfortable. LAN connection is available in the room and WI-FI is also available. The staff was very helpful in connecting me with an English speaking person at the bus company for a reservation to Kurokawa Onsen. The neighborhood around this area is quiet. It is not the shopping and entertainment area which is closer to the Kumamoto Castle area. To get to the shopping area it’ll cost approx 1000-yen or a flat 170-yen on the tram.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DYA717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews