We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic onsen!”
Review of Dormy Inn Kumamoto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dormy Inn Kumamoto
Ranked #2 of 93 Hotels / Ryokan in Kumamoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2011

The Dormy Inn was excellent value for money and the rooftop onsen was sensational! We have stayed at another Dormy Inn so really looked forward to our stay in Kumamoto. The onsen was even better than the last Dormy Inn and I really loved it! The room was clean, well laid out and had everything you needed. If you can get the breakfast cheap with your room booking, that is worth it too.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpd5353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
There are newer reviews for Dormy Inn Kumamoto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 538 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2011

The price was the best thing but that was about it.

First impressions did not help. We asked for a non-smoking room on check-in. When we got to our room, there was a strong stench of cigarette smoke involving a return to the reception and a discussion with a receptionist who did not speak any English – although to her credit she was very eager to help and we got there in the end.

We had small rooms in other hotels, but this really was teensy (even by Japanese standards). With two (tall) people and our luggage, it seemed that every time we moved we bumped into something. We were there for two nights. One night would probably have been OK, but after two nights we were really glad to move on.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tagesthemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Nice , clean and almost brand new hotel.
Rooms are pretty small, but clean.
The best of course : the Japanese bath at the last floor : with a real Onsen ambiance, rocks, waterfall and even an outside pool.
Breakfast, doens't worth it if you are looking for western style breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mac_elina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2009

I loved this hotel, here are some of the huge pros:
- very clean
- room is small (in US standards but average in Japan standards) but well laid out
- empty refrigerator in the room
- free use of onsen (Japanese bath) on the top floor
- laundry (washer is free but dryer is 100 yen/15 min) on the top floor
- 1000 yen per day for parking (but hey, they have a parking lot)
- well situated (across the street from the central bus terminal) and a 20min walk to the Kumamoto Castle
- there's a Lawson Station (convenience store) on the same block (about 2 min walk from the hotel)
- very reasonable rates (we paid about 6000 yen per night because of a special on their website, but the average is 10000 yen per night)
- staff was very friendly

There really wasn't any cons that I could think of. We had really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdub94040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2008

Stayed for 3 nights at the Dormy Inn June 2008. It's a brand new very modern hotel as it had only opened in April 2008. Extremely comfortable rooms with all up to date facilities. Situated in very close proximity to bus terminal but the hotel itself is very quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful in recommending great local restaurants for dinner. Buffet Japanese breakfast included in price which had more than enough to choose from. Fantastic onsen on the roof top, with both indoor and outdoor onsen. Try the outdoor at night, just wonderful. The only downfall is no CNN or BBC, but no big deal, you're on holidays.
Had such a good stay I'll be staying at the Dormy Inn again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lily073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank iwaida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled solo
Thank 93kin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumamoto hotels
0.2 mi away
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kumamoto
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nikko Kumamoto
Hotel Nikko Kumamoto
#1 of 93 in Kumamoto
655 reviews
0.5 mi away
ANA Crowne Plaza Kumamoto New Sky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Richmond Hotel Kumamoto Shinshigai
0.3 mi away
Super Hotel Lohas Kumamoto Natural Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
Nest Hotel Kumamoto
Nest Hotel Kumamoto
#16 of 93 in Kumamoto
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy Inn Kumamoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy Inn Kumamoto

Address: 3-1 Karashimacho, Chuo-ku, Kumamoto 860-0804, Kumamoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kumamoto Prefecture > Kumamoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kumamoto
#3 Family Hotel in Kumamoto
#3 Business Hotel in Kumamoto
Price Range: $68 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy Inn Kumamoto 3*
Number of rooms: 291
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dormy Inn Kumamoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Hotel Kumamoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing