We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to good shopping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kumamoto
Ranked #5 of 93 Hotels / Ryokan in Kumamoto
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Close to good shopping”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

This is a well located hotel less than 1000 yen cab ride from the train station Its close to the tram to the castle, which is also in easy walking distance if you like to walk. It is also close to a major shopping area which is covered which is nice if it's raining.

The breakfast is buffet style with lots of options including bacon and eggs ad well as more traditional Japanese fare. Our room was a small double which was adequate for our one night stay, but was pretty tight for the two of us. The staff was very accommodating and very professional Would definitely recommend this hotel again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    164
    52
    10
    2
See reviews for
36
48
63
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
france
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights. Room was ok, if not memorable. Comfy bed, quiet. Breakfast was adequate, but if you are looking for western food then choice is limited. Very little English spoken by front staff, hotel caters for mainly Japanese clients. This is not a criticism, I am just pointing it out.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank catllar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Kumamoto is strange in Japan in a sense that its central (JR) train station isn't located at a crowded area (or vice versa). While there are few hotels next to the station, there are more choices in the central shopping area such as this one. Mitsui looks a bit aged in the lobby, but quite modern in rooms. We chose it simply because they had a themed room for Kumamon (see my pics), a famous mascot from Kumamoto which you couldn't have not seen it while staying in Kyushu. (BTW it's only available for Internet booking if you choose the Japanese language).

The semi-double room only served a small 4" bed, yet it's very comfortable with the a gel-packed pillow (I saw in the room booklet that you could even buy them if you wanted to bring it home). The room wasn't big but it sufficed. I saw that you might borrow a wireless router for free in the lobby.

Lobby staff while helpful speaks little English, though we still manage to ask them to help us make a few phone calls to local companies for reservation changes. The hotel is about 3 blocks from the nearest tram stop and the local walking streets with plentiful restaurants, drug stores, shops etc. A department store is 4 blocks away. Kumamoto castle would need further walk (or 2 tram stations). It's not the closest one could imagine, but I found this short walk everyday comfortable esp. after a heavy meal.

In case you rent a car to drive around, there is actually parking (unlike what earlier commenter said) but only holds 30 spaces. Alternatively there are time-based car parks behind the hotel that might be even cheaper.

Overall I found the hotel enjoyable to stay, though if I were to stay again, I might find one closer to the Kumamoto Castle so I could make a good walk to there in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikkol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
522 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Good location with lots of restaurants nearby.

Very nice room with comfortable beds, adequate sized room compared to other hotels we have stayed at in Japan. Window opens for ventilation.

Good buffet breakfast.

Would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
218 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Very centrally located within 15 or 20 minutes on foot from famous Kumamoto Castle and only about 5 minutes from the lush green banks of the Shirakawa River. Modern, clean, well-designed; efficient, friendly and gracious staff. Pleasant breakfast restaurant.
My room was small (as generally in Japan) but everything I needed was efficiently placed. Excellent and quick broadband internet. The room was kept very clean and the bathroom spic and span; even a needle I'd inadvertently dropped when replacing a button, the cleaner had put neatly on a piece of paper on the desk.
As for the price: quite right and reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stoic1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
77 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2010

Pros:
- Very clean
- Comfortable rooms, not very spacious but with all comforts
- Decent position
- Excellent western+japanese breakfast buffet

Contra:
- No car parking
- Breakfast fee is separate

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psychoactive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumamoto hotels
0.2 mi away
Dormy Inn Kumamoto
Dormy Inn Kumamoto
#2 of 93 in Kumamoto
527 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nikko Kumamoto
Hotel Nikko Kumamoto
#1 of 93 in Kumamoto
634 reviews
0.5 mi away
ANA Crowne Plaza Kumamoto New Sky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Richmond Hotel Kumamoto Shinshigai
0.3 mi away
Nest Hotel Kumamoto
Nest Hotel Kumamoto
#18 of 93 in Kumamoto
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kumamoto Tokyu REI Hotel
Kumamoto Tokyu REI Hotel
#12 of 93 in Kumamoto
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsui Garden Hotel Kumamoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsui Garden Hotel Kumamoto

Property: Mitsui Garden Hotel Kumamoto
Address: 1-20 Koyaimamachi, Kumamoto 860-0012, Kumamoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kumamoto Prefecture > Kumamoto
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 93 Hotels / Ryokan in Kumamoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mitsui Garden Hotel Kumamoto 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Rakuten, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mitsui Garden Hotel Kumamoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing