We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveler rating
6
31
45
0
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
6
31
45
0
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 86 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We had been to Kumamoto to attend the conference. This hotel was booked by the organisers MISSION 2013. We had a nice stay here, it is very close to DOWNTOWN, one can move around and enjoy shopping. Very close to the bus station Kumamoto Kotsu-Center Terminal, it takes less than 5 min by walk. I and my colleagues were given individual single rooms. The rooms are neat and compact, it has coffee maker, internet tv etc. The bed very good and comfortable. The hotel provides buffet break fast which is excellent, we enjoyed it. Would like to visit Kumamoto again, will stay definitely in this hotel.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoorneshP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

I think it's slightly presumptuous to downgrade simply because the reception staff don't speak English! I don't speak Japanese but managed to make myself understood. However the room was basic. We were able to instal complementary wi.fi which can be a problem in Japan. Not the best but cheap and clean.

Date of stay: March 2014
Trip type: Traveled on business
2  Thank JonnyW_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Thats the worst hotel I stayed in Japan.
Nobody at the reception spoke English. They only knew a few words like "hi" and "sorry" but when it came to a simple question about requiring more than 2 words knowledge they didnt understand at all and didnt really care about that. Even the manager was completely ignorant, the most ignorant actually.
The room was quite old and shabby. There was a lack of information in English in the room and it took me some time to figure out how to call the reception.
The elevator and the hall stinked like smoke though the floor was announced to be "non-smoking".
The bed in the "small double room" was extremely small. It should be okay for 1 person though.
The bathub was leaking so dont be surprised if you step into a huge pool on the floor after you take a bath. I couldnt be bothered to call some of the stuff to fix the problem because any problem tackling seemed too hard with them. The reason is the langauge barrier and their devil-may-care attitude.
The room we took was too dark as the window faced the wall, and there was almost no daylight. When changed the room for another one, but it appeared to be far too small.
There were other big and small problems which made a mess out of my holiday. You couldnt just relax and have fun there like you didn in other hotels but you always had to solve some problems. I dont recommend at all.

Room tip: Just choose something else
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maya005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I never met before so bad hotel amongst same class hotels in Japan.

*) Chief manager... doesn't speak English at all !! Not the single word. And his stuff, of course, very servile with him and if by chance somebody from them understood me, just DOESN'T translate to him my claims. But almost nobody understand. No use to call them from the room - nobody speak English.

*) They know the word "sorry", but there is all they they can say in English and... all that they can do for you! Almost nothing they could or want to make for me (see below).

*) It's VERY difficult to sleep 2 people on the bed in "small-bed double room". Almost impossible. Maybe only for children it's suitable. And room is extremely small.

*) Only 1 key to a door. It's very inconvenient. If I'm in the bathtub and my friend want to come in the room, what to do? And if I'm sleeping??

*) No wi-fi in the room. They have wi-fi in the lobby, but... THERE IS NO PLACE for sitting there. When we went to restaurant and used the table, they tried to push us from there.

*) Only 2 power socket in the room

*) They DON'T give for free or even sell the adapter for special japanese socket. If you are foreign? Just sit without power, it's your problem.

*) They declare some floors and lift as no-smoking zone, but actually they don't have camera there and nobody control it, so in the corridor and even in lift is very often very smoky, and smoke goes inside room.

*) Bathtub is smallest I ever seen in my life.

*) Bathroom equipment is old. In my bathroom it was massive leaking from somewhere, and the floor was every time wet - it's very comfortable, especially you forgot about this and enter in bathroom in socks before leaving the room... or... it's nice...

*) They have TV. Really?... Yes, BUT if you switch on the only channel with movies in English, in the middle of monitor - huge text-block with some japanese text! Of course, stuff said "sorry"..

*) Fridge. You must find the switcher and switch it on! It's nice if you understand it only after some hours after you put there your sensitive food...

*) Pillows are VERY hard. What they put inside?? I'm human being, not cyborg.
But - thanks - there is a sign that soft pillows are in our wardrobe. Good.. and next 10 minutes I'm looking the wardrobe in my room! Maybe it's somehow mounted here... or there... no use. Finally I call to reception. Nobody understand... OK, they sent somebody, he came and... show to me a small open shelf near the door. They name it "wardrobe"! And they just forgot to put there soft pillows...

*) Some of the rooms (facing next building) has very small opaque window, so you are like in cellar.

*) Almost no instructions in English inside the room. You don't read Japanese hieroglyphs? Your problem.

*) The music in the hall. It could be a minor problem, but we have only 1 key-room! So often we keep the door open, when me or my friend visit another our friends on the floor. And in this case music become very wearisome.

*) When they clean the rooms, in corridor, before lift there is huge mess with heaps of everything.

Because of excellent location they have and will have many tourists forever, so it’s obvious that they are not interested of improvements.

Room tip: Just be strong and patient.
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews