We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveler rating
29
101
39
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
29
101
39
2
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 174 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2017

multiple choices of pillow that you can choose to fit your own habit
hot coffee and cold soft drink are always welcomed by visitors
breakfast is simple but delicious
stay in Japanese room with 2 friends and it was big enough
and the bath room is typical Japanese style,good experience to feel like live in Japan

Date of stay: February 2017
Thank funinkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2017

This hotel was very well located, it was spotless and well run, very reasonable price with a good breakfast. The bed was simply too small for the two of us so not a good sleep.
Staff were great, probably the best English speakers we came across.
Got us extra pillows

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hinau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in Comfort Hotel Kumamoto during our Kyushu trip. We've visited Japan 3 times and stayed in numerous hotels but got to say this is the smallest hotel room we've stayed in by far - there is no room to fully open 2 luggages even though it's a double room. Sound insulation is also quite poor, it's the first time I got awaken by my partner taking a shower in the morning.

Despite all the short-comings of the room, Comfort hotel does provide a nice and comfortable bed for a good night's rest. Pillows are quite flat though but you can always request for extras at the reception. The staff can't understand English so what we did is took a picture from the rental list stated in the room and just show it to them.

Breakfast took us by surprise as we were only expecting basic coffee and toast for the price paid. Instead, there was a spread of Japanese food, bread, cereal etc.

It is also situated at the back street in the middle of Sakae-dori.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank j_lifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2015

When I travel to other areas of Japan, I almost always stay at a Comfort. They are a great three-star chain, and give you a lot for the price. The Comfort in Kumamoto is in the heart of a community plaza, and an easy walk to the Kumamoto Castle, a main attraction of the city. It's really pleasant, and different, to stay in a location that is virtually a pedestrian plaza, with only modest taxi traffic. Very contemporary Japanese. A lot of restaurants and amenities are just a short walk.

Comfort always offers the complementary breakfast, usually sausage, egg, fruit and Japanese delights. The rooms are always clean, there's wifi, and things you forget to pack. Staff is extremely helpful.

Room view may be window-to-opposing-building or glazed glass on lower floors, so it's mostly a comfortable place to stay. You need to take in Kumamoto outside the hotel.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2015 via mobile

Kumamoto's Comfort Hotel had everything you would expect from a nice hotel. The room was clean, the breakfast was alright, and the location was good. Nothing really to complain about. The robes they provided were nice too.

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank JP7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews