We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveler rating
39
84
11
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
39
84
11
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews business hotel nice stay location is excellent would stay here again train station room was clean ferry japan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 138 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2019

The hotel is very close to the harbor area with good views and local ferry's if your wish to travel to the islands. The hotel was about 3 minutes from the streetcars and they travelled to all the central areas of the city. The room was clean, well maintained and serviced in good order.
My wife and I thought the breakfast was good. We had been given a breakfast ticket and a basic time to get to the breakfast area. A waiter gave us the meal we had pre - ordered. There was coffee, juice, tea and water. For us it worked out fine.

Room tip: Our room was on the front of the hotel and seemed quiet.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank barrowmrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
鹿児島 サ, 支配人 at Hotel Sunflex Kagoshima, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2019
Google Translation

この度は、「ホテル サンフレックス鹿児島」を御利用頂きありがとうございます。
離島にも便利で閑静なホテルですので、又のお越しをお待ち申し上げております。

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2018

The location was ideal, and room was clean. There's an exceptionally limited breakfast offering in simple surroundings. Staff a little impersonal. Fine for a business hotel, but 4 stars is generous for what it offers.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rossguinane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2018

Awful. Room was dark (one small frosted window, one even smaller window facing other units), and smelled like a cigarette. We asked for a different room on arrival but were told they were full. By midnight, when the family of five above us had still not stopped crying and screaming at eachother, we called the front desk for a room change. They reluctantly moved us to an upper floor room (same size) with a beautiful view and no awful smell. They lied about being full, and they certainly should not admit a family of five into their postage-stamp rooms. In a town with so many hotel options, there’s no need to stay in a place so poorly managed.

Room tip: high floor
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank TheGrinchesDogMaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2017

The reason I choose this hotel is because it nearby the port to Yakushima. But honestly, the WiFi inside the room is just a joke, and of course the staff are not capable to take care your WiFi connection during your stay.

Besides, when I check out, I tell the female staff in front desk we will back to the hotel from Yakushima for 2 night and ask for their favor to keep a luggage, to my surprise, she not even understand what i am talking and ask me to leave. How impressive. At least, I have no choice but took my luggage to Yakushima which caused me very inconvenience.

Conclusion: I will never recommend this hotel.

Room tip: WiFi connectivity at room is horrible
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gafinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the Sunflex hotel for one night together with my son. We took the ferry to Yakushima the next morning. The hotel is within walking distance (about 10 minutes) from the Kagoshima Main Port. The room is the typical size of a business hotel and it provides everything you need for an overnight stay. It is clean and the staff at the reception are very friendly. We even found two bottles of mineral water in the small refrigerator prepared for us.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank oliverst42195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews