We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“38 plates for 4 of us - super value for money ”

Mekkemon, Dolphin Port
Ranked #1 of 4,035 Restaurants in Kagoshima
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi
Restaurant details
Reviewed July 19, 2018 via mobile

So we all went out of control. Ordered 38 plates of sushi plus a sashimi assortment. Must try - kurumaebi!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank lilleoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 186 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2018 via mobile

If u go here in the evening, you'll have to sit in line until you get your seats, it's worth the wait. They have english menu cards, so you can compare the belt dishes with the pictures.
At start, you prepare yourself green tee with the hot water taps in front of you.
The food prices depend on what plate you take from the belt or you can also order specific dishes from the menu. The prices seem very fair.
The food is great, and the quality is good. We ate some sea urchin too, it's good, perhaps there are places, where it tastes more intense. The tuna is fantastic, but we had no previous comparison to other sushi places in Japan before, as it was our first visit of a real sushi restaurant.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank zheddsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2018 via mobile

The bright atmosphere of this restaurant at Dolphin Port is a great contrast to the darker inner city shops within Kagoshima’s Tenmonkan. Bright sunlight and a spectacular ocean (and Mt. Sakurajima) view make this location a must- if you can, ask to sit near the windows! It improves the overall atmosphere.

Mekkemon does great sushi, and I absolutely love their seared (using a gas burner) engawa and salmon offerings which are served with a lemon and a side of salt (no soy sauce on these babies). It’s a great contrast to the heavier fish that you might expect. Ask for them yourself- they’re my favorite.

えんがわのあぶり・レモン塩
Engawa no Aburi・Lemon Shio

さけのあぶり・レモン塩
Sake (Salmon) no Aburi・Lemon Shio

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank Peter_in_Kagoshima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2018

we got 2 dinners, we enjoyed all the sushi. staff was friendly and helpful. cheap prizes, high quality sushi!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank venerabile2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2018

This is a very popular kaiden sushi restaurant in Dolphin Port. Even if all seats are taken during lunch time, waiting time wasn't that long. I liked it.
Tasted good. 1000~2000 yen is enough to have good dishes. Hard to say it's cheap.
English works even if I haven's seen anyone fluent in English.
People recommend ordering instead of picking from carousel. It's fresher.
It's fun to see calculate the cost sensing dishes with a reader.
This is a huge kaiden sushi restaurant with many tables. You can feel the energy once you step in.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 590jhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mekkemon, Dolphin Port also viewed

Kagoshima, Kagoshima Prefecture
Kagoshima, Kagoshima Prefecture
 
Kagoshima, Kagoshima Prefecture
Kagoshima, Kagoshima Prefecture
 
Kagoshima, Kagoshima Prefecture
Kagoshima, Kagoshima Prefecture
 

Been to Mekkemon, Dolphin Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing