We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi and Sashimi, Reasonably Priced”

Mekkemon, Dolphin Port
Ranked #1 of 4,035 Restaurants in Kagoshima
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi
Restaurant details
Reviewed May 2, 2018 via mobile

The bright atmosphere of this restaurant at Dolphin Port is a great contrast to the darker inner city shops within Kagoshima’s Tenmonkan. Bright sunlight and a spectacular ocean (and Mt. Sakurajima) view make this location a must- if you can, ask to sit near the windows! It improves the overall atmosphere.

Mekkemon does great sushi, and I absolutely love their seared (using a gas burner) engawa and salmon offerings which are served with a lemon and a side of salt (no soy sauce on these babies). It’s a great contrast to the heavier fish that you might expect. Ask for them yourself- they’re my favorite.

えんがわのあぶり・レモン塩
Engawa no Aburi・Lemon Shio

さけのあぶり・レモン塩
Sake (Salmon) no Aburi・Lemon Shio

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank Peter_in_Kagoshima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 186 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2018

we got 2 dinners, we enjoyed all the sushi. staff was friendly and helpful. cheap prizes, high quality sushi!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank venerabile2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2018

This is a very popular kaiden sushi restaurant in Dolphin Port. Even if all seats are taken during lunch time, waiting time wasn't that long. I liked it.
Tasted good. 1000~2000 yen is enough to have good dishes. Hard to say it's cheap.
English works even if I haven's seen anyone fluent in English.
People recommend ordering instead of picking from carousel. It's fresher.
It's fun to see calculate the cost sensing dishes with a reader.
This is a huge kaiden sushi restaurant with many tables. You can feel the energy once you step in.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 590jhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2018 via mobile

There have both counter & table sitting and comes with English menu. Choose from the menu or pick up the plates from the conveyor belt. Very fresh serving and I noticed that they have some unique combination of food. Like this Tuna, Heavy Cream and Mint leaves combination has a refreshing taste. Price wise, it’s definitely worth your spending.

Don’t need to sort the plates according to different types as they record by scanning your plates with RFID scanner. Fast and efficient.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Sunnytan30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2018

A must-try restaurant in cute Kagoshima.
This sushi belt restaurant has a reputation across Japan, and deservedly so. The sushi is fresh, very diverse and the atmosphere is fantastic. The chefs do a whole show of communication and interaction. We went twice during our stay as it is such a pleasant moment. Casual, high quality and unique feeling!

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarcusScipion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mekkemon, Dolphin Port also viewed

Kagoshima, Kagoshima Prefecture
Kagoshima, Kagoshima Prefecture
 
Kagoshima, Kagoshima Prefecture
Kagoshima, Kagoshima Prefecture
 
Kagoshima, Kagoshima Prefecture
Kagoshima, Kagoshima Prefecture
 

Been to Mekkemon, Dolphin Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing