We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth to treck out to the garden”
Review of Sengan-en Garden

Sengan-en Garden
Ranked #2 of 146 things to do in Kagoshima
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Sengan-en is a traditional Japanese garden and stately home that has been passed down in the Shimadzu family for over 350 years. The garden boasts spectacular views of active volcano Sakurajima, and the house provides a glimpse into the lifestyle of a powerful feudal lord. Sengan-en and the surrounding area was fundamentally important in the modernization of Japan. It was here that Western industrial technology was introduced to Japan, studied and used in the creation of modern factories. Shoko Shuseikan is a museum set in a 150 year old stone building originally used as a machine factory. Learn about the 700 year history and culture of the Shimadzu family, and the first steps towards the industrialization of Japan. In July, 2015 Sengan-en and Shoko Shuseikan were recognized as World Cultural Heritage Sites related to Japan's Meiji Industrial Revolution.
Muenster
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“worth to treck out to the garden”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

very nice place to relax for a few hours, with nice views on the mountain. It was surprisingly popular, with lots of people there on a weekday morning. There are also lots of shops and restaurants, so a place to nibble a bit and try a few things. Overall, a nice activity in Kagoshima

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nkerle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    336
    87
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“History and beauty”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We took the city view bus from Kagoshima-Chou station - we caught the bus which goes the long way round, which gave us a look at various points of the city. If you buy a one day pass you can hop on and off the bus and see the other sights, but we chose to just ride out to Senganen. There was a group of very happy friendly women working at the gate who made sure that we managed the ticket machines and that we got an English language brochure. Being the late Fall it is chrysanthemum season and there was a fantastic display of the flowers all through the garden - big ones, small ones, bonsai versions, mums covering buildings - flowers everywhere!

The grounds of the estate are lovely, and at all times there is the presence of the volcano across the bay - Mt Sakurajima was visible, perfecting the experience of the grounds. The story of the estate, it's inhabitants and their position in Japanese history are all very interesting. There are many restaurants and gift shops on the grounds. The gift shops carry particularly high quality merchandise.

When we left we took a different bus that returned via the waterfront and dropped us in the downtown shopping district. All in all, and interesting and entertaining excursion.

Helpful?
1 Thank fishnguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the time and effort~”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

To say that it's a beautiful park is perhaps an understatement... I agree with the rest of the reviewers that it's a park filled with its own history.. Although I wasn't able to see the full view of Mt Sakurajima due to the (very stubborn clouds as it was raining quite heavily shortly before i'd reached senganen, it was nevertheless, still a magnificient sight... If u have the time to spare, do go for the hiking trail... I'm sure that the view up there would leave u, kinda, breathless...

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank cartoonlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
“It is all about the view of Sakarajima”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

On a tour of Japan it is easy to become blasé about the gardens. This one is larger than many but perhaps as a result seemed to lack that attention to detail that is such a feature of the most famous.

But the location by the sea with the views across the straights to Mt Sakarajima is what for me it was all about and this did not disappoint. After exploring the garden we took the waterfall walk which involves 30 minutes or so of uphill walking along a path through semitropical forest before arriving at the viewpoint where a vista of the gardens, the sea and the volcano is spread out at your feet. The view of the waterfall framed by trees comes almost as an afterthought. This for us was the highlight of the garden.

On a practical note the gardens are easily reached using the circular tour bus which departs from Kagoshima station. There are two rival companies which do not accept each others tickets, busses run every half hour throughout the day.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank paul6111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“This Garden tells story”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Not just beautiful garden, but also carries big story about Japan turning to new ideas, opening to other countries.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ettelbruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sengan-en Garden also viewed

Kagoshima, Kagoshima Prefecture
Kagoshima, Kagoshima Prefecture
 
Kagoshima, Kagoshima Prefecture
Kagoshima, Kagoshima Prefecture
 

Been to Sengan-en Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing