We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice try but - FAIL”
Review of Gasthof Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gasthof Hotel
Ranked #32 of 80 Hotels / Ryokan in Kagoshima
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Nice try but - FAIL”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

The Bavarian theme for this hotel could have worked out well but like so many things about this hotel doesn't quite make it. The solid wood furniture is nice but a bit gloomy, When you get to the rooms it is ridiculous because it takes up the whole room and Japanese hotel rooms are small enough anyway. My room had s four- poster double bed. You had to negotiate around the furniture rather than use it. Together with the muted lighting, the effect was depressing. And don't drop anything, it's sure to roll under the massive furniture. The massive double bed was OK for me but for 2 people, one would have to climb over the other or come up from the bottom. Everything seemed inconvenient as a result of the imposition of the theme on the Japanese building. There was some nice art but because it matched, it added to the gloom. There is no elevator so getting your luggage to your room is a backbreaker, Breakfast is ¥500 extra and is not worth it. There was a wide range of Japanese dishes but it lacked the basics. No egg at all. I got one by asking but no nori to eat it with and the rice wasn't hot enough to cook the egg. There were other examples of trying to be cleverer in service or gadgets and failing. The coffee machine worked. The staff were friendly and helpful but kept bumping up against house rules that spoiled the impression of hospitality. It is reasonably close to Kagoshimachuo eki. I didn't really feel good about my stay despite the hotel being satisfactory. I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bariloche48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    41
    25
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
14
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Strange name for a Japanese hotel but the name covers the decor, outdated mitch match of everything the owner thinks has a slightly european feel to it. We stayed two nights, and had to change to two single rooms for the 2nd night. If you're travelling alone it's worth paying for a double room, the rates are excellent. Rooms are small and have windows which don't allow to see through, not that there is a lot to see. The hotel sits over restaurants with their machinery and a parking lot. A bit noisy. Breakfast is very Japanese orientated, of course the public is mainly Japanese and they do serve nice scrambled eggs. Staff is friendly but speak hardly any english. Funny enough this was the first hotel in japan with excellent and free wifi connection.

Room Tip: Take a double room as far away from the staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kepamad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Just finish staying 3 nights here. Location is very close to Kagoshima Chuo station. There are nice restaurants in the area including one in the hotel - Kikuya which is quite nice. The staff generally do not speak English but try very hard to help.

There is free internet. Breakfast is 500yen. I didnt partake. I got my friend to book the rooms thru Jalan.net so i paid only 4400 yen. Value is good. Hotel is very clean. I believe free wifi as i see the wifi in the corridor. But i didnt bring my laptop so not sure.

Room has flat screen TV. AC. Fridge. Free water in the hallways, ice machine in the hallways as well. Ironing board. Only negative is no coin op in the facility and room is a little small (single room) Bed was really comfy though. Hotel is only 2 storey.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ichinensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

my family and i stayed at gasthof hotel for 4 nights. the staff were really friendly and helpful. we took the gormet plan which is rooms plus breakfast and dinner. we had to make reservations at either takezo or kikuya for dinner (they are restaurants within the hotel). on the first night, as all reservations were full till 9pm, we could only have dinner at 915pm, however the staff were really apologetic about it, and they even wrote us a note and gave us 3 bottles of complimentary shochu. the food at the restaurants were also very good. however the menus are written all in jap, so ordering was a bit of a barrier. (takezo has a simplified eng menu featuring some dishes but you have to ask for it). the rooms though small, were very cosy (the interior deco of this hotel is really good) and the beds were very comfortable to sleep in. its a great place to stay, and also within walking dist from kagoshima chou station.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayymine197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2008

My family and i stayed at this great hotel for 3 nights. It is ver easy to walk to from Shin Osaka station and is very warm and homely. Thebuffet breakfast has mostly asian selection as well as eggs. I really miss this hotel, and definately will stay again on next trip to Kagoshima!

  • Liked — location and free wifi
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kikithebst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 6 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2008

I stayed here 3 nights and wasn't sorry to leave.
Most of the rooms there appeared to have a standard sensible layout - but not mine. It was located where the corridor bent through an odd angle and as a result had a strange layout. I guess I should have asked for a different room and then I wouldn't have had to put up with the narrow gap between the TV unit and the corner of the bed and the complete lack of any desk or chair!
More annoying was the draught coming from the small frosted-glass window and the music playing in the corridor....
I didn't notice it the first night - I guess I fell asleep quickly after a long journey to Kagoshima - but the next night I could hear the awful Christmas themed muzak (this was in mid-November) which the room door didn't quite completely block out and went on all night.
The only plus points I can think of were the friendly staff, cheap price and decent variety of food available at the breakfast buffet.

  • Liked — It was close to the station
  • Disliked — Awful muzak audible in the room all night.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Ahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kagoshima hotels
Hotel Urbic Kagoshima
#14 of 80 in Kagoshima
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kagoshima Chuo Station
Kagoshima Tokyu REI Hotel
Kagoshima Tokyu REI Hotel
#16 of 80 in Kagoshima
203 reviews
Kagoshima Chuo Station
Hotel Hokke Club Kagoshima
Hotel Hokke Club Kagoshima
#9 of 80 in Kagoshima
208 reviews
Hotel Area One Kagoshima
#25 of 80 in Kagoshima
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Hotel

Property: Gasthof Hotel
Address: 7-3 Chuo-cho, Kagoshima 890-0053, Kagoshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kagoshima Prefecture > Kagoshima > Kagoshima Chuo Station
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 80 Hotels / Ryokan in Kagoshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Rakuten, Orbitz, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gasthof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Hotel Kagoshima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing