We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent views, good breakfast, great prices!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Rembrandt Hotel Kagoshima Resort
Ranked #15 of 80 Hotels / Ryokan in Kagoshima
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent views, good breakfast, great prices!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I booked my room here through Agoda. The price, including a nice buffet breakfast, was VERY reasonable. I wonder how the hotel can make money at such low prices, especially if one eats a lot at the breakfast buffet.

The rooms are typical of this type of hotel in Japan -- clean and sufficient for most needs. The views of the harbor are superb. Note that this neighborhood is rather out of the way if one wishes to venture to the main shopping or entertainment districts of the city.

Room Tip: Make sure to choose a harbor-side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurelPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
レンブラントホテル鹿児島フロント, 宿泊課 at Best Western Rembrandt Hotel Kagoshima Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your staying with us.
We are so grad you have been happy about our breakfast.
We are trying to improve the hospitality to have all of gests please.

We hope to seeing you at our hotel again.

Thank you.

Shoko Tsurudome
frontdesk
Rembrandt Hotel Kagoshima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    96
    27
    8
    3
See reviews for
53
39
29
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Losantville, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2013

What a great place to stay! If you are going to Kagoshima you won't find a more perfect location. Right on the waterfront with perfect view of the volcano from the hotel, which was super clean and comfortable.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyan-ham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
レンブラントホテル鹿児島フロント, 宿泊課 at Best Western Rembrandt Hotel Kagoshima Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your staying with us.
We are so grad to hear happy comments from you.
We interact with all people with the spirit of hospitality.

We hope you would come to Kagoshima and are looking forward to seeing you again.

Thank you.

Shoko Tsurudome
frontdesk
Rembrandt Hotel Kagoshima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

My wife & I stayed at the Rembrandt in October 2013. The hotel is somewhat dated but is spotlessly clean and the staff are very helpful. Our room was huge by Japanese standards, and had its own balcony for soaking up the views. Typically for Japan, the beds are very hard, although the Rembrandt's beds were a little more comfortable than in other Japanese hotels we experienced. Full-on, stunning views of the volcano Sakurajima (less than 3 kms away in Kagoshima Bay and belching gas and volcanic ash while we were there) is a definite plus for this hotel. Although the hotel is some distance from downtown Kagoshima and does not provide a shuttle bus service, visitors have the option of a relatively cheap taxi ride, a bus trip, or a combination of walking/tram journey to the city to shop or to the ferry terminal to visit the aquarium or to travel by ferry to Sakurajima. Hotel staff are happy to provide advice on local transport. On the other hand, the hotel is directly adjacent (3 minutes walk) to another inter-island pier where "limousine" buses pick up passengers bound for the airport. The hotel provides free WIFI (which actually worked properly). The breakfast has a good range of choices, all of good quality.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor with views to Sakurajima.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viet-tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
レンブラントホテル鹿児島フロント, 宿泊課 at Best Western Rembrandt Hotel Kagoshima Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your staying at Rembrandt Hotel Kagoshima.
We are happy to hear the comments from you.
We provide "france bed" to all of rooms.
We hope it had become the stay with lasting memories at Kagoshima.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Thank you.

Shoko Tsurudome
frontdesk
Rembrandt Hotel Kagoshima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Very good hotel! The large rooms and balconies were a pleasant surprise. We had booked two rooms and when the Front Desk saw that we were a family they upgraded us for free to two adjoining rooms; very good service! The breakfast was superb!! Downside - yes, you're far from the centre of Kagoshima and limited with dining options - we regularly took a taxi into town which can add up after a few trips. However, the payback for the inconvenient location is a world-class view of one of the world's most active and attractive volcanoes - a great deal if you ask me!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaipeiLongfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
レンブラントホテル鹿児島フロント, 宿泊課 at Best Western Rembrandt Hotel Kagoshima Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your staying with us.
We are grad to hear the happy comment from you.
Our hotel is inconvenient from center of Kagoshima, but we are proud of the veiw from rooms.
Then, the rooms you had stayd are "connecting rooms".
there are doors on walls of the both rooms and you can open doors.
So you can pass in rooms.

We hope you would come to Kagoshima again.
We are looking forward to seeing you.
Thank you.

Shoko Tsruduome
frontdesk
Rembrandt Hotel Kagoshima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My family and I made the decision to stay over during our trip in Nov 2012 to be able to experience the dawn views of Mt. Sakurajima. Mixed feelings of having made a wrong decision as it was out of the way...vs those more convenient options nearer Kagoshima Chuo Station.. went away once we got into the rooms...hugh by Japan standard comes with nice size balconies to boot. We had booked 2 adjoining rooms as the hotel couldn't accommodate our party of 3 in the booking.
Getting there was a 40 minute ride from Kagoshima Chuo Station onboard Bus 11 by the CIty Bus group. Others are 16-2. You can take this from Bus Stand #15 outside Kagoshima Chuo. This was about 130Yen and can be covered by the CutePass ( purchasing at Kagoshima Chuo Stn Information for 1000 Y for a 1-day pass if you have got it. Destination is Kamoike Port ( the last stop ) . From there it is a short 5 minutes walk to the hotel ( brown colored building which can be seen from the bus terminal. There are some food options outside the hotel although we didn't get to explore much given our late arrival at the hotel.( See pictures )
Room prices seem to range quite a bit ...although I managed to get a good price from travel.rakuten.com with no b/f options.
Would I stay there again....probably not even .....only because of the additional inconvenience traveling there. Otherwise, a great hotel with a unique proposition - view of Sakurajima.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xkampungboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
レンブラントホテル鹿児島フロント, 宿泊課 at Best Western Rembrandt Hotel Kagoshima Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your staying with us.
We have opened as Rembrandt Hotel Kagoshima last April.
It is far from Kagoshima chuo station and downtown as you says.
But it is nice view of Mt Sakurajima from twn rooms and double rooms and this is a quiet neighbourhood.
So I think you can relax in the room.
If you come to Kagoshima, we are looking forward to seeing you.
Thank you.

Shoko Tsurudome
Frontdesk
Rembrandt Hotel Kagoshima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kagoshima hotels
Remm Kagoshima
#3 of 80 in Kagoshima
325 reviews
Furusato Onsen
Dormy Inn Kagoshima
Dormy Inn Kagoshima
#4 of 80 in Kagoshima
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Furusato Onsen
Kagoshima Sun Royal Hotel
Kagoshima Sun Royal Hotel
#11 of 80 in Kagoshima
213 reviews
Kagoshima Chuo Station
Kagoshima Tokyu REI Hotel
Kagoshima Tokyu REI Hotel
#16 of 80 in Kagoshima
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Rembrandt Hotel Kagoshima Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Rembrandt Hotel Kagoshima Resort

Property: Best Western Rembrandt Hotel Kagoshima Resort
Address: 22-1 Kamoikeshinmachi, Kagoshima 890-0064, Kagoshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kagoshima Prefecture > Kagoshima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 80 Hotels / Ryokan in Kagoshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Rembrandt Hotel Kagoshima Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Rembrandt Hotel Kagoshima Resort; one of the most desirable full-service hotels in the picturesque city of Kagoshima. Located close to the scenic Kinkoh Bay, all of our guest rooms offer stunning views of Sakurajima - the impressive volcano that overlooks Kagoshima. At BEST WESTERN Rembrandt Hotel Kagoshima Resort, guests can choose from a range of amenities and leisure facilities, including a swimming pool and a spa sourced from the pure waters from the area’s natural volcanic hot springs. For business travelers, the hotel is perfectly positioned close to local government offices and provides complimentary Wi-Fi access to all guests. Whatever the reason for your trip to this scenic city, BEST WESTERN Rembrandt Hotel Kagoshima Resort provides the perfect accommodation choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Rembrandt Hotel Kagoshima Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing