We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Toyoko Inn but we can hear the trains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Toyoko Inn Kagoshima Chuo-eki Nishi-guchi
Ranked #22 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Kagoshima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stay very often at Toyoko Inn.
What I like is the cleanliness, the furniture (free tea, internet, TV, aircon) in the room.
There is also a free breakfast and this one was very good, with some different breads, soup and salad.
Our twin room was quite big as well.
The only point for me, is that we are above on train station and we can hear the trains. But there are not so many of them so that's ok.
The other advantage of this one is that it is very close from the train station (:-)).
So this Toyoko is again a good value!

Room Tip: With the member card you can book online, do the check inn at 3pm and you have member's discount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keprive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 83 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

The staff at this Toyoko Inn went out of their way to help me as an Australian Foreigner. The rooms are comfortable and Kagosima Chuo Station is very close as is AMU plaza. Breakfast can be a little daunting as you are a minority if your not Asian, however the kitchen staff treat you so well. I felt like I was well looked after. If you can get to Kagoshima you can get down to breakfast. Just smile a lot and tuck in. Loads of things were lost in translation, but that was half the learning journey. The showers were hot and had great pressure. I don't know why people go on about the room size. For the single traveller it is ample. For the price I paid at our exchange rate at the time I ain't complaining.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank btnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Our third Toyoko Inn stay of the trip, and we were very familiar with the set-up by this stage.

Brilliantly located only a minute or so from the West gate of Kagoshima station, this hotel was ridiculously good value (around AU$70 per night). All the usual Toyoko Inn trappings were present, plus the optional ‘eco’ discount for staying consecutive nights (if you didn’t mind them not fully tidying your room).

The internet PCs with printers were extremely useful for checking in and printing our boarding passes – again, why do so many expensive hotels insist on high charges for something as simple (and nigh-on essential) as this?

Breakfast was the usual crowded affair, with Japanese businessmen to the fore, but the two lifts meant getting to and from our room was much quicker than at other Toyoko Inns with just a single elevator.

We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KaleneAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

If like us you are just looking for a reasonably priced place to sleep then this certainly fits the bill. Part of a chain. All rooms seem small by western standards with little storage, but provided your luggage fits under the bed all should be well. There are at least two Toyoko Inns close to the station. For this one take West Exit from station. Directions left by previous reviewer Bicholisto are excellent.

Although reception staff spoke little English they were clearly used to Western Guests so no problems.

Two big bonuses were WiFi and Breakfast Buffet, both included in the cost of the room.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul6111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

There are no less than 4 Toyoko Hotels in Kagoshima and 2 of them are close to the shinkansen rail station (Chuo). Of these two we chose Nishi-Guchi because it is a newer building, it is an easy walk a few minutes N of the station, and because it lies in a road full of restaurants. To find it, turn left once out of the Shinkansen ticket barrier and walk through the station concourse to descend the escalator at the end and turn right to enter the street: pass the Family Mart (right) and the hotel (also on the right) is 2 minutes walk further on up the road. The double-bedded room was pretty much the same as in all Toyoko Inn hotels: small, comfortable, and warm (once we worked out how to use the wall-mounted heater: ask at the desk). The Chuo station area is a tram-ride away from the main city centre, but has plenty of life, including the excellent AMU department store where there is a bookshop, a floor dedicated to restaurants, and an enormous red ferris wheel on the roof. When in Kagoshima don't miss a visit on the ferry to Sakurajima Volcano (even if you don't want the official tour bus, you can walk south along the coast from the ferry terminal - take a picnic). Another must is the splendid Senganen house and gardens: worth half a day. If you are on a railpass try to fit Kagoshima into your schedule, especially now that the new Sakura Shinkansen operates direct from Osaka. Much of the city, like most Japanese cities, is just an urban jungle, but the setting overlooking the volcano is superb.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bicholisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricky3408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank yt0330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kagoshima hotels
Kagoshima Chuo Station
Toyoko Inn Kagoshima Chuo-eki Higashi-guchi
Hotel Urbic Kagoshima
#14 of 81 in Kagoshima
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kagoshima Chuo Station
Kagoshima Tokyu REI Hotel
Kagoshima Tokyu REI Hotel
#16 of 81 in Kagoshima
210 reviews
Kagoshima Chuo Station
JR Kyushu Hotel Kagoshima
JR Kyushu Hotel Kagoshima
#6 of 81 in Kagoshima
247 reviews
Kagoshima Chuo Station
Hotel Gasthof
Hotel Gasthof
#32 of 81 in Kagoshima
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toyoko Inn Kagoshima Chuo-eki Nishi-guchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toyoko Inn Kagoshima Chuo-eki Nishi-guchi

Address: 2-28-10 Nishida, Kagoshima 890-0046, Kagoshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kagoshima Prefecture > Kagoshima > Kagoshima Chuo Station
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Kagoshima
Price Range: $45 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Toyoko Inn Kagoshima Chuo-eki Nishi-guchi 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Toyoko Inn Kagoshima Chuo-eki Nishi-guchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing