We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect compromise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ai Hotel Kagoshima Temmonkan
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels / Ryokan in Kagoshima
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Central and very convenient location, just in front of a tramway station, near the commercial gallery and you are surrounded by restaurants.

The hotel is the exact standard that you can expect from Chisun: really good compromise for the price in Japan. The room is of course very small, which is common in Japan, but really convenient. Clean, comfortable, quiet. The beds are good, the bathroom is small but enough.

The only thing that maybe could be better is the lack of space to put your luggage. But not too difficult to manage, finally.

During our third japanese trip (with the yen higher and higher, so ryokan were not affordable anymore in 2012...), Chisun was our choice in many cities.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clélia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 131 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2012

Had a room on the 14th floor with a great view of the volcano belching out it's fumes, the room was a reasonable size and very comfortable. Noise insulation was good from the traffic and the location was excellent. Easy access to transport, great shopping and good restaurants. Handy supermarket a few doors away. Great place to stay whilst sightseeing. Take the ferry over to the volcano , the tourist bus was very busy, so busy that hardly dared got off in case couldn't get on again but using the 2 day pass for the city enabled us to go back and forth on the ferry, nice thing to do in the evening just for the ride at sunset. Good discount included with the ticket on the aquarium

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingmum52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We had a great stay here, the staff were very helpful more so then in most big hotels. The room was bigger than we are used to in Japan and very comfortable. 10 minute walk to the station or 4 minute tram. Lots of restaurants and bars just outside but no trouble with noise. Would defenetly use again when visiting the amazing Kagoshima.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank truckstopblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

The hotel location is in the middle of a major shopping area in Kagoshima. It is not far from the port (it was the minimum fare from the hydrofoil ferry terminal), and not far from the Kagoshima Shinkansen train station (4 stops down the tram line). There are lots of choices for food in the area. The room was small, efficient, and clean. It had wired internet only (but that worked well). I was on a high floor, so the street noise was not a problem and after 10 PM, it pretty much got quiet on the street. The Japanese style breakfast bar was good. Lots of choices with even some Western items. The staff was friendly, although they did not speak much English (I was able to get all the information I needed). The bed was comfortable but hard. It seems all beds in Japan are hard. The hotel is on the second floor, but there is an elevator if you don't want to take the stairs. Overall, it was a good deal and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you don't like street noise, try to get a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Great hotel in the Tenmonkan area. Close walking distance to tranportation (literally outside the door)! Rather expensive for what the room was compared to other cities but I guess Kagoshima is known for it's onsens. Rooms were standard. Coin washing machine was fine but the coin dryer was ridiculous! We put in so many coins...I think it ended up being an hour in the dryer.....and the clothes were still really damp! Not sure what was wrong and we didn't ask staff as we were in a rush to meet friends. There is only 1 lift used by customers and staff and it is REALLY REALLY slow.....and there were only emergency fire staircases. Nothing fantastic about the hotel itself except for it's location. We didn't have breakfast there as there was so much variety outside the hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nightwing066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

The Chisun Inn is a typically clean and efficient hotel. It's conveniently located in the middle of the pleasant city of Kagoshima very close to the Sakurajima volcano. Just down the street you can see arise majestically (and smokey) from the sea. The tramway is very useful an whisks you through town between the Chuo and the Kagoshima Railway stations; from there it's easy to get around the Prefecture (or you can use the bus system).
The rooms at the front - I had one on the 7th floor - are clean and efficient but as is the rule here, quite small. But Beware! the noise from the street and also the hallway is incredible. The window - which can not be opened (for 'security reasons') - is of thin glass which transmits all sound from the very busy street below (cars, buses, streetcars, the noisy Japanese cross-over signals, people talking, music,. etc.). Also, the walls and the door are very thin. Perhaps a room at the back would be better, but when I was there I understood the hotel to be full-up so I couldn't transfer.
Good, free broadband internet.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stoic1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2010

We booked online and requested and received a room on a high floor which was fortunate as the hotel is located in one of the main busy shopping centre streets. The windows are all double glazed but opening for air too, so this helps keep the noise down. During the day time the audible “walk now” pedestrian crossing in the street below goes off every few minutes too but as we were out most of the day this wasn't really a problem. Also the whole area does close down after dark and becomes quiet so no problems with sleeping. We did get a view over the other centre buildings and the hills in the distance too which was nice. The way the hotel rooms are orientated i dont think any give a view of Sakurajima though. The hotel is about 20min walk from the shinkansen station so with our luggage we chose a taxi – about 1kY
Don't let the above put you off. The hotel appears to be new, the room (twin) was a good size. Clever layout with a separate desk area. There is also a sofa/bed (3 for a room available) which for us provided some day seating and cleverly on the opposite wall they install a flat screen Tv for evening entertainment, though it appears to be only Japanese language stations. Everything in the room works well from lighting to hot water. Beds are ok but I was still glad I had brought my own pillow.
Desk staff ever so helpful with suggesting restaurant recommendations despite limited English.
For Kagoshima its centrally located so whether visiting the museums or taking the ferry to the island nowhere is too far to walk.
Overall would highly recommend it for a first time visitor. We booked online and the price seemed reasonable too. We did do some web research of other city hotels but from the pics thought this was best and it proved not to be a disappointment.

Do have a look at a free publication from the tourist office- An Insiders Guide to Touring Kagoshima- well laid out arranged in themes of differing day and half day suggested touring itineraries. With less than the sunniest weather we only spent an hour on Sakurajima- would think it is better suited to keen walkers who want to make a full hike. Did really enjoy a daytrip to Isubuski to experience a sand bath much more but not much else there to do, perhaps it is busier later in the season.
However the reward of Kagoshima was to slow us down in our tour of Japan and soak it in more, it was only on our last night of 3 that we stumbled into another quarter of the Tenmonkan area full of neon and activity and felt we were getting close to seeing the real Japan rather than as a tourist.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dezzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kagoshima hotels
0.2 mi away
Richmond Hotel Kagoshima Kinseicho
0.2 mi away
Kagoshima Plaza Hotel Tenmonkan
0.1 mi away
Richmond Hotel Kagoshima Tenmonkan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sunflex Kagoshima
Hotel Sunflex Kagoshima
#14 of 84 in Kagoshima
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Remm Kagoshima
Remm Kagoshima
#3 of 84 in Kagoshima
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green Rich Hotel Kagoshima Tenmonkan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ai Hotel Kagoshima Temmonkan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ai Hotel Kagoshima Temmonkan

Address: 1-3 Gofukumachi, Kagoshima 892-0826, Kagoshima Prefecture (Formerly Chisun Inn Kagoshima)
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kagoshima Prefecture > Kagoshima
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels / Ryokan in Kagoshima
Price Range: $52 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ai Hotel Kagoshima Temmonkan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Ai Hotel Kagoshima Temmonkan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing