We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value in Kagoshima” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ai Hotel Kagoshima Tenmonkan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ai Hotel Kagoshima Tenmonkan
Ranked #20 of 80 Hotels / Ryokan in Kagoshima
Certificate of Excellence
Hartselle, Alabama
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Value in Kagoshima”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

The hotel location is in the middle of a major shopping area in Kagoshima. It is not far from the port (it was the minimum fare from the hydrofoil ferry terminal), and not far from the Kagoshima Shinkansen train station (4 stops down the tram line). There are lots of choices for food in the area. The room was small, efficient, and clean. It had wired internet only (but that worked well). I was on a high floor, so the street noise was not a problem and after 10 PM, it pretty much got quiet on the street. The Japanese style breakfast bar was good. Lots of choices with even some Western items. The staff was friendly, although they did not speak much English (I was able to get all the information I needed). The bed was comfortable but hard. It seems all beds in Japan are hard. The hotel is on the second floor, but there is an elevator if you don't want to take the stairs. Overall, it was a good deal and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you don't like street noise, try to get a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DougM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    59
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
40
20
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

Great hotel in the Tenmonkan area. Close walking distance to tranportation (literally outside the door)! Rather expensive for what the room was compared to other cities but I guess Kagoshima is known for it's onsens. Rooms were standard. Coin washing machine was fine but the coin dryer was ridiculous! We put in so many coins...I think it ended up being an hour in the dryer.....and the clothes were still really damp! Not sure what was wrong and we didn't ask staff as we were in a rush to meet friends. There is only 1 lift used by customers and staff and it is REALLY REALLY slow.....and there were only emergency fire staircases. Nothing fantastic about the hotel itself except for it's location. We didn't have breakfast there as there was so much variety outside the hotel!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nightwing066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
203 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

The Chisun Inn is a typically clean and efficient hotel. It's conveniently located in the middle of the pleasant city of Kagoshima very close to the Sakurajima volcano. Just down the street you can see arise majestically (and smokey) from the sea. The tramway is very useful an whisks you through town between the Chuo and the Kagoshima Railway stations; from there it's easy to get around the Prefecture (or you can use the bus system).
The rooms at the front - I had one on the 7th floor - are clean and efficient but as is the rule here, quite small. But Beware! the noise from the street and also the hallway is incredible. The window - which can not be opened (for 'security reasons') - is of thin glass which transmits all sound from the very busy street below (cars, buses, streetcars, the noisy Japanese cross-over signals, people talking, music,. etc.). Also, the walls and the door are very thin. Perhaps a room at the back would be better, but when I was there I understood the hotel to be full-up so I couldn't transfer.
Good, free broadband internet.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stoic1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2010

We booked online and requested and received a room on a high floor which was fortunate as the hotel is located in one of the main busy shopping centre streets. The windows are all double glazed but opening for air too, so this helps keep the noise down. During the day time the audible “walk now” pedestrian crossing in the street below goes off every few minutes too but as we were out most of the day this wasn't really a problem. Also the whole area does close down after dark and becomes quiet so no problems with sleeping. We did get a view over the other centre buildings and the hills in the distance too which was nice. The way the hotel rooms are orientated i dont think any give a view of Sakurajima though. The hotel is about 20min walk from the shinkansen station so with our luggage we chose a taxi – about 1kY
Don't let the above put you off. The hotel appears to be new, the room (twin) was a good size. Clever layout with a separate desk area. There is also a sofa/bed (3 for a room available) which for us provided some day seating and cleverly on the opposite wall they install a flat screen Tv for evening entertainment, though it appears to be only Japanese language stations. Everything in the room works well from lighting to hot water. Beds are ok but I was still glad I had brought my own pillow.
Desk staff ever so helpful with suggesting restaurant recommendations despite limited English.
For Kagoshima its centrally located so whether visiting the museums or taking the ferry to the island nowhere is too far to walk.
Overall would highly recommend it for a first time visitor. We booked online and the price seemed reasonable too. We did do some web research of other city hotels but from the pics thought this was best and it proved not to be a disappointment.

Do have a look at a free publication from the tourist office- An Insiders Guide to Touring Kagoshima- well laid out arranged in themes of differing day and half day suggested touring itineraries. With less than the sunniest weather we only spent an hour on Sakurajima- would think it is better suited to keen walkers who want to make a full hike. Did really enjoy a daytrip to Isubuski to experience a sand bath much more but not much else there to do, perhaps it is busier later in the season.
However the reward of Kagoshima was to slow us down in our tour of Japan and soak it in more, it was only on our last night of 3 that we stumbled into another quarter of the Tenmonkan area full of neon and activity and felt we were getting close to seeing the real Japan rather than as a tourist.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dezzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
245 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2010

The hotel is relatively new and the rooms were large compared with the other hotels we had stayed in, in Japan. There is high speed internet in the rooms. The hotel is immaculate and the laundry facilities great. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Kagoshima Chou station and a 3 minute tram ride. The staff went out of their way to help us as we could not speak Japanese and they have little English. The hotel is near all the shopping and also a 10 minute walk to the ferry terminal. Breakfast is provided - we did not use the service.

There is a great tourist information centre at the station.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kagoshima hotels
Remm Kagoshima
#3 of 80 in Kagoshima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Furusato Onsen
Dormy Inn Kagoshima
Dormy Inn Kagoshima
#4 of 80 in Kagoshima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ai Hotel Kagoshima Tenmonkan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ai Hotel Kagoshima Tenmonkan

Property: Ai Hotel Kagoshima Tenmonkan
Address: 1-3 Gofukumachi, Kagoshima 892-0826, Kagoshima Prefecture (Formerly Chisun Inn Kagoshima)
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kagoshima Prefecture > Kagoshima
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 80 Hotels / Ryokan in Kagoshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ai Hotel Kagoshima Tenmonkan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Ai Hotel Kagoshima Tenmonkan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing