We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Richmond Hotel Kagoshima Kinseicho
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in great location”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We spent three nights in this great hotel. As a family we had two rooms which were small and the mirror image of each other, but they were clean, comfortable and well appointed. There was free wifi in the room and a really good breakfast with a nice choice of freshly cooked options. The staff were superb, the reception staff in particular making our stay as good as they possibly could. One member of staff found information that we had requested and brought brochures and maps to the room. The downtown location with tram stops right outside was just what we wanted while we were in the city and the onsite parking was convenient, again with great service from the staff. we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellers-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    195
    30
    1
    3
See reviews for
79
82
107
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

The Richmond chain is a class above the usual chain hotels built around the JR stations. Rooms are larger, check in is earlier and service is better. Richmond in Kagoshima was not an exception. Convenient location just a couple of tram stop away from the Jr station. Overall a good hotel and reasonably prized.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank AngmohofArabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagasaki, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed here a few nights, and I think it is the staff that really make this place. Although most didn't speak much English (which is par for the course in Japan), they were very helpful and kind, and even dropped off an English map in our room.

Rooms are large by Japanese standards, and have everything you need (they are all doubles, whether you book two people or one).

Location is good for anything you need, across from lots of shopping, drinking and eating district. Also easy walk to Sakurajima (i.e. volcano) ferry. A few more tram stops from the train station, but that is no worries at all.

Very happy indeed!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2012

The western bereakfast selection was a bit poor. I would appreciate a buffet with bread and danish...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebintokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amagasaki, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

This is a fantastic business style hotel, the rooms are a generous size compared to other business hotels I've stayed in in Japan. Its very conveniently located next to Asahidori tram stop, with a Lawsons convenient store opposite and shopping streets 2 minutes walk away. The only criticism I would give is that none of the reception staff could advise us on where to catch a bus from to get to Shiroyama Observatory (one of the main attractions in Kagoshima) or really on any other attractions. This was not a language barrier problem as my partner speaks fluent Japanese, other than this the service was top notch, what you would expect of a slightly higher end business hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josephine88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

I have always like the Richmond hotel chain and chose to stay in its Kagoshima Kinseicho hotel as part of my Kyushu trip this time. Indeed, the stay did not disappoint.

Location: Fantastic location. Once you walk out of the hotel, you will find yourself right opposite a huge Lawson convenience store. Walk towards your left and you will find yourself at a nice shopping district.

Room: Small but clean. There is free internet access. I especially like it that there was a spray bottle of fragrance that you can use to freshen up your clothes.

Facilities: Vending machines were available on some floors. There were washing machines available too.

Parking: available at 1000 yen per night.

Service: Excellent. The front desk staff was fantastic. When we were looking at the brouchures and maps (all in Japanese) near the front desk, a staff saw us having a hard time and gave us an useful sight-seeing guide in English.

This is certainly a hotel that I would stay in if I revisit Kagoshima, which is a really lovely city.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

The airport bus stops, depending on direction of travel, are located next door and opposite, the tram stops for trams that run between the Shinkansen and Kagoshima Stations are right in front and it is a 15 minute walk to the ferry ports. The hotel is located in the middle of the main Kagoshima shopping district surrounded by large department stores, covered shopping malls and hundred yen shops.
The hotel has coin operated laundry facilities and drink vending machines.
My double room was very comfortable, clean, and extremely well supplied with tea and coffee making, clothes press, internet LAN cable, hair dryer, personal toothbrushes and comfort sets, controllable air conditioner, etc etc.
The staff at reception were very helpful and welcoming and went out of their way to telephone various tourist sites to check on opening times when they were unsure. Most of them had a reasonable grasp of English.
My rate included breakfast which was located in the restaurant on the ground floor. On offer was a choice of 4 set menus and buffet style side dishes to go with them. There were no cereals, but there was a choice of tea and coffee, fresh fruit, fruit juice, salads, cold tofu and pickles/condiments, as well as bread, butter and jams. The staff in the restaurant were efficient, but were reluctant about speaking English. They were relieved when they realised I understood some Japanese.
Would I stay at the Richmond Hotel Kagoshima again? Most definitely.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kagoshima hotels
Remm Kagoshima
#4 of 80 in Kagoshima
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Furusato Onsen
Dormy Inn Kagoshima
Dormy Inn Kagoshima
#3 of 80 in Kagoshima
311 reviews
Kagoshima Chuo Station
Hotel Hokke Club Kagoshima
Hotel Hokke Club Kagoshima
#9 of 80 in Kagoshima
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel Kagoshima Kinseicho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel Kagoshima Kinseicho

Property: Richmond Hotel Kagoshima Kinseicho
Address: 5-3 Kinseicho, Kagoshima 892-0828, Kagoshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kagoshima Prefecture > Kagoshima
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 80 Hotels / Ryokan in Kagoshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Richmond Hotel Kagoshima Kinseicho 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking: 32 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Rakuten and Cancelon so you can book your Richmond Hotel Kagoshima Kinseicho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing