We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice business hotel with tasty buffet breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Central Hotel Fukuoka
Ranked #110 of 193 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukuoka
Reviewed November 10, 2011

The prices here are about average for the area but unlike most, this one has a great Japanese and Western breakfast buffet included in the price. There are also a Japanese sauna free for guest use on the top floor, with hot and cold plunge pools and a soaking tub, showers. Nice. Massage also available in your room through hotel reservation.

The rooms were the usual small but functional Japanese hotel rooms. I stayed here a couple of times a while back and enjoyed the stay. The bus from Hakata Port drops you off just a couple of blocks away at a major transfer point that is right near a large shopping center. The streets outside also used to fill up with food carts at night but on my last trip they were not there. It's a lot of fun to explore the side streets and see the pachinko parlors, restaurants, shops, and people.

The only thing I didn't like was the check-out time of 10:00 a.m. And Man, they really mean clear out by 10:00. Once that time hits, the front desk starts calling and calling until they have your full attention and drive you out of the hotel. As a result, I prefer to book places for one extra day so I can leave whenever I want, or I book at hotels that have a later check-out time. I do like the Central Hotel and it is one I would recommend to other travelers. The ice cold mugs of beer they sell on a steamy August afternoon are a draw just by themselves.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busanio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 115 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2010

First of all, I've been to this hotel about 4 times in past 3 years already because there is a deal with cruise roundtrip from Pusan (Korea) to Fukuoka. This hotel is not bad - it's pretty good in fact considering the price.
The location is very good (and convenient), room is ok (but all Japanese hotel rooms r small), breakfast is edible (same menu all 4 times i've been here)... The staff don't speak much English so it's better to learn what they have before you go so u can use it. First of all, there is free internet at the lobby. If you have your laptop, ask them for internet cable. they will bring it from behind the desk, and let you use it in the businessroom. you can also buy wireless internet card for 500 yen - it gives you a 24 hour access at the hotel and at few different locations in fukuoka, but this wireles internet it will only work in the lobby and few rooms.
Secondly, there is sauna thing on the top floor. It is really small and it's a bit awkward to see othe naked people in there. but thre i massage machine in the lockers area which is good to use. the sauna closes at midnite.
Thirdly, you can borrow a bicycle from the guy in the hotel parking.


the most difficult part about this hotel is that all staff only speak Japanese. but other than tat, rooms are deent, location is very good. if you walk towards the station, there is a large underground shopping mall, and if you walk away from it, there is a traditional market where foods and misc. stuff are really cheap.
i would recommend this hotel to people who only need hotel rooms for safe sleep, and bad enough that you rather want to be out and explore Fukuoka rather than staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dooshimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2007

Central Hotel is well located, a short walk from the city centre and its not difficult to find, the massive hotel is painted bright pink.
The rooms are very small, even by Japanese standards and the air con didn't exactly cool the room much.
Unlike the other, cheaper hotels there are no free gifts or free internet access. Breakfast isn't included either in the price of the stay.
Breakfasts can be bought on the day for 1000 Yen (£5) and there is a very good choice (salad, fish, misso, coffee, juice, bread, jam, rice etc)

The hotel (like all I stayed in) is very clean and the staff very polite and helpful but you do feel you are just paying for the location (and all that pink paint!)

The late check in is handy if (like me) you are traveling around the country and unsure what time exactly you will be at the hotel.
Booking remains valid till 22:00

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WalSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2006

I found that the hotel room was quite expensive for the size of the room and the amenities they provided. The carpet in my room was rather dirty. The blanket had holes in it. I borrowed an iron from the front desk which didn't work well at all. It spilled water on my shirt and left dirt on it as well. I was very happy with the free spa facilities they had there though. It had a great location. There was a bus stop out front and the subway was a 5-10 minute walk.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WMcCully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Jeongyun J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
1  Thank Kさく
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled on business
Thank Gonta20002000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fukuoka hotels
Toyoko Inn Fukuoka Tenjin
#90 of 193 in Fukuoka
92 reviews
Tenjin Station
Takakura Hotel Fukuoka
Takakura Hotel Fukuoka
#35 of 193 in Fukuoka
183 reviews
Tenjin Station
Plaza Hotel Premier
Plaza Hotel Premier
#45 of 193 in Fukuoka
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vessel Inn Hakata Nakasu
#56 of 193 in Fukuoka
266 reviews
Hotel Monte Hermana Fukuoka
#41 of 193 in Fukuoka
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Fukuoka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Fukuoka

Address: 4-1-2 Watanabe-dori, Chuo-ku, Fukuoka 810-0004, Fukuoka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Fukuoka Prefecture > Fukuoka > Tenjin Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 193 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukuoka
Price Range: $99 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Hotel Fukuoka 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Central Hotel Fukuoka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fukuoka Central Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing